Page 1 of 1

Canon RAW no image / black image :/

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2022 3:17 am
by musicelect
I have an issue on my M1 MacBook Pro. In a certain project, when I decode Canon RAW from the R5 C using "Full res - Canon" I get a black image. If I use "Full res - Resolve" it shows the image. This happens in one project while another project it works fine in either decode mode. Has anyone experienced this? I haven't been able to get the one project to produce the image when decoding with "canon" instead of "resolve".

I should add that some clips do show correctly, and some don't. It's a strange phenomenon.

Resolve 18.0.1 BUILD 3
SPX file: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1m9m91U ... sp=sharing

Screen Shot 2022-08-12 at 8.08.58 PM.png
Canon decode settings
Screen Shot 2022-08-12 at 8.08.58 PM.png (374.39 KiB) Viewed 459 times


Screen Shot 2022-08-12 at 8.09.14 PM.png
black image when using "canon" decode
Screen Shot 2022-08-12 at 8.09.14 PM.png (739.77 KiB) Viewed 459 times

Re: Canon RAW black image

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2022 2:48 pm
by Jim Simon
On a side note, what the difference in decode options?

Re: Canon RAW black image

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2022 12:42 am
by ZRGARDNE
Jim Simon wrote:On a side note, what the difference in decode options?


Full-Res Resolve, vs Full-Res Canon. I am assuming the Resolve one is one they built Canon was provided by them.

At least for my R5 footage, Canon does not have a reduced resolution option. So I am again assuming BM built their own to allow 1/2 1/4 res decode.

Re: Canon RAW black image

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2022 8:25 pm
by musicelect
Jim Simon wrote:On a side note, what the difference in decode options?

I prefer the image with the Canon decoder. The Resolve decoder does playback better though.