DaVinci Resolve Freezing when Mousing Over / Adding Transiti

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

George Bayliss

DaVinci Resolve Freezing when Mousing Over / Adding Transiti

PostFri Dec 02, 2022 12:59 am

Hi,

I've been using DaVinci Resolve (free) for a few months now and all has been working well. However, the 18.1.1 update has brought a problem - I cannot add ANY transitions to my edit without the whole programme crashing.

Either when mousing over the transitions, or when dragging a transition to the timeline, the entire screen freezes within a few seconds - I cannot interact with ANY of the buttons in Resolve and I have to force quit the app, open it and enter my project again before I can continue editing.

I've tried downgrading to 18.0.4, checking drivers, Windows Updates, restarting and all but it's the same problem.

I'm using:

- ASUS Laptop
- Windows 11
- Intel i7
- 8GB RAM
- 500GB SSD
- Intel Iris Graphics (≈3.9GB)

I'm aware my RAM is half what is required / recommended, but what I don't understand is why I'm only having problems now after updating to 18.1.1 - surely RAM isn't the problem as Resolve would've failed to start with?

I've been faffing with this for a few days now and it's a touch frustrating because I have some time critical videos that need to go out ASAP.

Thanks, awaiting your suggestions on what I can do.

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

Re: DaVinci Resolve Freezing when Mousing Over / Adding Tran

PostFri Dec 02, 2022 1:40 am

Which specific model Iris Graphics?

you might need a graphics driver update.

if no luck, see faqs for next level of assistance with logs
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager

Uli Plank

PostFri Dec 02, 2022 1:48 am

In my experience, every new version of DR got a bit more demanding on the hardware, and 18.1.1 may have kicked your computer over the edge. You are definitely below specs, both in CPU RAM and on the GPU side.