Masking, Rendering and Production Flows

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

sciphi

Masking, Rendering and Production Flows

PostSun Dec 04, 2022 6:06 am

I'm new to Davinci Resolve and still stumbling around, but I think i'm using it alright to produce a podcast. I have a production question though because my current production process ends up being quite time consuming and it doesn't seem like it should be.

I have a show that has two hosts talking, and occasionally it cuts to a clip of a movie or something to provide some context. Currently I have a gutter around the two hosts of a moving star field, with a strip seperating them down the middle, and when I go to a different clip the central gutter is removed. Finally at the end, the hosts fase out and there are credits the roll over the whole star field. See attached images.

TwoHosts.png
TwoHosts.png (214.94 KiB) Viewed 448 times

Clip.png
Clip.png (191.33 KiB) Viewed 448 times

Outro.png
Outro.png (132.93 KiB) Viewed 448 times

At the moment, i only have the star field as the lowest layer, then crop everything to suit sitting on top of it. This works alright but is a pain to adjust everything to fit constantly. Is there a better way to do this? I'm open to any suggestions.