"Go to First Frame of Selected" shortcut ?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Thurn42

"Go to First Frame of Selected" shortcut ?

PostThu Dec 29, 2022 10:34 am

Hello everyone !

I am a used to Premiere Pro and I'm in the process of switching to Resolve for video editing and color grading. Two shortcuts that i use very often to move around my timeline are the "Go to first frame of selected clips" and "Go to last frame of selected clip".

I do not find any way to replicate this in Resolve. I did find the "Playback -> Go to -> First Frame (and last Frame) shortcut, but it only concerns the clip that the playhead is hovering.

Did i miss something ? Is there another solution ?

Cheers and thank you

Edit: I'm sorry to make a post about something as basic as Keybinds, but i looked into the forum and didn't find any anwser. I also find that i can't remap some commands, like "Mark selection" is stuck with "Shift + A" even if i add another keybind..

some keywords for the search algorithms:
go to start of selected clip resolve , go to end of selected clip resolve, move playhead to first frame of selected resolve, move playhead to last frame of selected resolve

Jim Simon

Re: "Go to First Frame of Selected" shortcut ?

PostThu Dec 29, 2022 4:10 pm

I switched from Premiere Pro myself. There are differences I had to get used to. I often had to change the way I did things.

This might be true here for you as well.

Clip selection seems irrelevant here. Use the playhead to 'select' the clip before using the shortcuts.
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.

Thurn42

PostFri Dec 30, 2022 11:03 am

Thank you for your answer.

Peter McLennan

PostFri Dec 30, 2022 9:02 pm

<up arrow> and <down arrow> moves the playhead between edit points.