I need to change my timeline framerate, but it's greyed out.

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

iRedMC

I need to change my timeline framerate, but it's greyed out.

PostFri Feb 03, 2023 8:15 pm

Hi, I'm somewhat new to resolve, and am new-ish to video editing, but I forget to do certain things. God forbid things just work without needing to configure them in 3 different places the same way.

I edited pretty much this entire video, and I want to export at 60fps, and I have 60fps set everywhere else except for the timeline settings, which is greyed out at 24fps. I NEED to force this to 60, and I don't foresee a good reason for not doing this, plus I can't just go back and re-edit the entire damn thing by creating a new timeline with new settings.

There must be a way I can force it to 60. What is it?
12-Core 2010 Mac Pro for old stuff, PC for gaming stuff, Maxed-out i9 MacBook Pro for things better ran on x86, and a 13" 2013 MacBook Pro for when I don't have my 16", an M2 Pro Mac mini for editing, and an i7 2018 Mac mini for transcoding.

panos_mts

Re: I need to change my timeline framerate, but it's greyed

PostFri Feb 03, 2023 8:26 pm

Select and copy all the clips from the 24fps timeline, create a new 60fps timeline and paste them there.

iRedMC

PostFri Feb 03, 2023 8:43 pm

I can't believe I never though to do this. Thank you!
12-Core 2010 Mac Pro for old stuff, PC for gaming stuff, Maxed-out i9 MacBook Pro for things better ran on x86, and a 13" 2013 MacBook Pro for when I don't have my 16", an M2 Pro Mac mini for editing, and an i7 2018 Mac mini for transcoding.

Uli Plank

PostSat Feb 04, 2023 3:36 am

But then, normally 24 fps will need to be adapted to 60 fps or it'll look stuttery.