Apple Log Color Space Transform not working?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

bluepr0

Apple Log Color Space Transform not working?

PostWed Nov 22, 2023 8:45 am

Hi!

I'm a total noob in Davinci (and actually in video editing) but I'm decided to learn Davinci for all its features, it's just amazing.

I'm recording with the Black Magic iOS app on my iPhone 15 Pro, codec h265, and color space Apple Log - HDR.

I'm trying to make it look "normal" in Davinci Resolve Studio 18.6 but I'm not able to. I'm using a node to transform from Rec2020 to Timeline (set to rec709).

Note: attaching a screenshot below that shows the huge difference between Final Cut Pro (left) and Davinci Resolve (right). What am I doing wrong?

Thanks for any help, really appreciate it!

Last edited by bluepr0 on Sat Dec 09, 2023 2:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bluepr0

Re: Color Space Transform not working?

PostWed Nov 22, 2023 6:20 pm

I have also tried to set output gamma and colorspace manually but still the same, sadly. I'm not entirely sure what I'm doing wrong

Charles Bennett

PostWed Nov 22, 2023 8:38 pm

I would suggest that as a new Resolve user you take advantage of the comprehensive set of free training materials provided by Blackmagic. Also don't forget the Resolve Reference Manual which you will find in the Help dropdown menu.
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/uk/products/davinciresolve/training
Regarding color management you might find these useful.

Resolve Studio 19.0b3 build 33
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790, 24GB RAM, 2 x Evo 860 SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (551.86 Studio Driver), Win10 Home (22H2), Speed Editor, Faderport mk1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 + Samsung SA200, Canon C100mk2, Zoom H2n.

pjmbarlick

PostWed Nov 22, 2023 11:11 pm

Have you tried using a LUT rather than CST?
There are a few LUT’s for Apple Log available. Try a LUT and if that doesn’t make any difference it may be an issue with your footage