Blackmagic cloud and Google Drive

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

vinniemac

Blackmagic cloud and Google Drive

PostTue Mar 19, 2024 2:50 pm

Newbie here with DVR Blackmagic Cloud and trying to get my head around managing disk space while keeping a project available for editing on different devices. I've been playing around with settings and don't know if I messed things up. I managed to fill up the 2GB free space just with DVR syncing proxies, so deleted everything and started again, this time with Don't Sync Media selected in the Project settings. However, it looks as though DVR has reuploaded the proxies.
So my question is whether I can use Google Drive to store proxies so that they are available on multiple devices. And if so, how do I move them and get my different installations of DVR to point to the right location?
Thanks in advance for any help

Ryan Bloomer

Re: Blackmagic cloud and Google Drive

PostWed Mar 20, 2024 12:12 pm

In your project settings, make sure you have your proxy generation set to your google drive in the Master Settings, as well as your Blackmagic Cloud settings are set to "Don't sync media" And you also have "Multi User Collaboration" turned on. Make sure your "project media location" is on a local disk, not on shared storage.

Allowing Blackmagic to automatically create proxies and manually creating proxies has in the past created different results, but I think that's been addressed in new updates as I haven't had to deal with it in a while.

To test this is working now, only create one proxy to ensure your settings are correct.