Two questions: 1) Inspector, and 2) Mac Fonts

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Dan Anon

Two questions: 1) Inspector, and 2) Mac Fonts

PostTue Apr 23, 2024 6:49 pm

I previously worked for almost 20 years at a commercial TV station where I produced commercials. I've been using Resolve for only 5 months or so at this new job, and some of the functionality I used often isn't leaping off the screen at me.

Question 1) The "Inspector" doesn't tell me the duration of a clip (seems to me an oversight on someone's part) - specifically, a title. How can I know how long it is, other than by marking in and out points?

Question 2) Mac Sonoma font management. Yeah, not a 100% Resolve query. I'm sorry about that. But still, there are over 350 "installed" fonts that Sonoma will *not* allow me to delete/remove/hide, and Resolve dutifully makes me scroll thru all of 'em to find one or two useful fonts. How do you all deal with putting together and using *your* fonts?

I appreciate you. Thanks for taking the time.
Dan
Resolve 18.6.6
Sonoma 14.4.1
Mac Studio M2 Max 64GB

BetterLifeTV.tv

Charles Bennett

Re: Two questions: 1) Inspector, and 2) Mac Fonts

PostTue Apr 23, 2024 7:42 pm

You can see the clip length in the Edit Index under Record Duration. Apart from titles you can also see the Source duration before it's added to the timeline. My examples show a title both in single screen and dual screen modes. The title length is shown as 4secs 36frames as this is a 50fps timeline.
Clip Duration in the Timeline1.jpg
Clip Duration in the Timeline1.jpg (132.65 KiB) Viewed 491 times
Clip Duration in the Timeline2.jpg
Clip Duration in the Timeline2.jpg (318.7 KiB) Viewed 491 times
Resolve Studio 19.0b2 build 25