viewing output of another timeline when editing in Fusion

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

memoakten

viewing output of another timeline when editing in Fusion

PostSat Apr 27, 2024 8:22 am

Hi everyone, I'm completely new to the DaVinci ecosystem, but have a lot of experience with loads of NLEs and other node based compositors. I'm trying out DaVinci because I like the idea of having an NLE and node based compositor in one. My question is:

I have a very simple edit, say clips A B C D E F etc. in a timeline called EDIT.

These are all linear EXR sequences, and I'd like to add the same effects to the entire edit. E.g. a glow, some comping, and finally color space transform from linear to rec.2020 **at the very end of the pipeline**. This I have done by creating a new timeline called POST, putting the EDIT timeline in it, and adding my effects to that timeline.

Then I goto my EDIT timeline, set the viewer on the left to display the POST timeline, Gang the viewers, and then I can scrub and play on the EDIT timeline, while previewing the finished version with the color transform and final post effects. All is good.

HOWEVER, I'd like to add Fusion comp and effects to each clip A B C D etc. in the EDIT timeline. When I go into Fusion on a clip in the EDIT timeline, I cannot see the results of the POST timeline anymore. This makes it very difficult for me to make the changes that I need to make, because I'm previewing the clips in linear space.

What is the best workflow for this?

P.S. If I add a LUT to the clips in the media bin, the effects chain doesn't work anymore, because this clamps the values to 0...1 and changes the curves. I think I need the color space transform at the very end.

Jim Simon

Re: viewing output of another timeline when editing in Fusio

PostSat Apr 27, 2024 1:25 pm