New to the forum and Davinci Resolve, with a question

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Skyfire1201

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed May 22, 2024 1:31 am
  • Real Name: Francis Zhou

New to the forum and Davinci Resolve, with a question

PostWed May 22, 2024 1:57 am

Hello all!

I'm new to this wonderful community, and Davinci Resolve in general (just found out about this tool a few weeks ago). I've been a photographer for the last two decades and just recently got into videography, lots of new things to learn!

So I shot a footage using my R6 mkII, in Clog3 Cinema Gammut, 4k 59fps, and tried importing it in Resolve 19 free version. The footage shows up in the media tab, but somehow only audio shows up and no video is available. I tried setting the Canon LUT and same result. What am I doing wrong?
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 6635
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: New to the forum and Davinci Resolve, with a question

PostWed May 22, 2024 7:50 am

If you are on a Windows PC and your footage is 10bit h264 or h265 HEVC you would need the Studio version of Resolve as the free version only supports 8bit. You could also transcode the footage to an 8bit codec using either Handbrake or Shutter Encoder.
Resolve Studio 19.0b5 build 50
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790, 24GB RAM, 2 x Evo 860 SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (551.86 Studio Driver), Win10 Home (22H2), Speed Editor, Faderport mk1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 + Samsung SA200, Canon C100mk2, Zoom H2n.
Offline

Skyfire1201

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed May 22, 2024 1:31 am
  • Real Name: Francis Zhou

Re: New to the forum and Davinci Resolve, with a question

PostWed May 22, 2024 1:28 pm

Got it, thank you!

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BruceBanner, ErrkaPetti, Google [Bot], Joe Shapiro, pixelated and 157 guests