Thumbnails, Timeline and Preview too dark

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

christian_schwaderer

Thumbnails, Timeline and Preview too dark

PostFri May 24, 2024 4:44 pm

Hi all!

I'm new to DaVinci Resolve. I have some experience with other video editing solutions, but never encountered a situation like this:

We did recently some shootings with a Blackmagic Production Camera 4K, including some rather dark scenes.

When viewing the footage on a computer with VLC media player (version 3.020 Vetinari), we were quite shocked because the scenes were not dark but almost pitch black. Like you saw almost nothing.

After our initial panic subsided, we found out that the videos look as intended in QuickTime Player (Version 7.7.9). By "as intended" I mean: The very same level of brightness and exposure as we saw on the camera's screen and on a rather big external control monitor during the shooting.

We shrugged this off as a VLC player quirk and moved on.

But now when I wanted to start editing in DaVinci Resolve 18.6, I was pretty surprised: The footage is in DaVinci's thumbnails, timeline, and preview as black as in VLC media player and not as we saw it in QuickTime Player.

I'm very confused by this situation. The scenes are so dark in DaVinci that I cannot edit them, let alone publish them. How come? What can I do that the footage looks in DaVinci as it does in QuickTime?

Jim Simon

Re: Thumbnails, Timeline and Preview too dark

PostFri May 24, 2024 8:44 pm

Step one is to make sure you're seeing the footage unaltered...

My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.

Charles Bennett

PostFri May 24, 2024 9:22 pm

Do you have a short clip that you can put on Dropbox or Google Drive and post a link to it? If so I am happy to look at it on my system, and I'm sure others will as well.