Amazon RDS remote postgres db

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

GregGreenhaw

  • Posts: 151
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:46 pm

Amazon RDS remote postgres db

PostFri Jul 31, 2015 6:07 pm

I'm trying to test out using amazon rds's postgres as a resolve db but I'm getting this error in resolve 12 beta when trying to create a db.

Failed to create database: Assertion failed at DbDatabaseList.cpp(1312) -- SubscribeToNotifications! p_pDriver->subscribeToNotification(n)

Resolve can connect ok to the rds.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9558
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Amazon RDS remote postgres db

PostSat Aug 01, 2015 5:50 am

We only support the specific PostGres as shipped with Resolve.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline
User avatar

GregGreenhaw

  • Posts: 151
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:46 pm

Re: Amazon RDS remote postgres db

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 10:32 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:We only support the specific PostGres as shipped with Resolve.


what version is it? I can choose from multiple versions in aws
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7697
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Amazon RDS remote postgres db

PostTue Aug 04, 2015 10:43 pm

Mac uses version 8.4

Linux uses 8.4.20-1

Windows uses version 9.2.4.1
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

GregGreenhaw

  • Posts: 151
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:46 pm

Re: Amazon RDS remote postgres db

PostWed Aug 05, 2015 1:14 am

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Mac uses version 8.4

Linux uses 8.4.20-1

Windows uses version 9.2.4.1



DAAAM why such an old version postgres is currently at 9.4.4. RDS doesn't even support 8 anymore.
NO reason to not make the software forward compatible specially since amazons RDS makes it so easy to have multi region real time synced RDS at a click of a button.
Offline
User avatar

GregGreenhaw

  • Posts: 151
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:46 pm

Re: Amazon RDS remote postgres db

PostThu Dec 31, 2015 4:50 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Mac uses version 8.4

Linux uses 8.4.20-1

Windows uses version 9.2.4.1



Any word on support for more up2date versions of RDS?
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7697
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Amazon RDS remote postgres db

PostThu Dec 31, 2015 5:36 pm

Nothing has changed in this area.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Seth Goldin

  • Posts: 648
  • Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 7:43 pm

Re: Amazon RDS remote postgres db

PostSat Nov 11, 2017 4:16 am

Sorry to revive an old thread, but I'm curious, since Resolve 14 now runs PostgreSQL 9.5, might it be possible to host the database on Amazon RDS? 9.5 is supported: https://aws.amazon.com/rds/postgresql/faqs/
DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.0B Build 9
CentOS Linux 7.9.2009 (Core)
HP Z8 G4
1x Intel® Xeon® Gold 6136
48 GB (6x8 GB) DDR4-2666 ECC Registered RAM
1x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
NVIDIA driver 450.80.02
https://www.sethgoldin.com
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9558
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Amazon RDS remote postgres db

PostSat Nov 11, 2017 2:28 pm

I expect you won’t like the latency to a cloud based DB.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Jan Klier

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 8:11 pm
  • Location: New York City

Re: Amazon RDS remote postgres db

PostMon Jan 15, 2018 2:00 pm

As an experiment I setup a Amazon RDS Postgres instance and connected it to DR14.

It's a relatively straightforward process, with one exception. The DR database screen expect to either find an existing DR schema or the ability to create a new instance, which does not work with Amazon RDS. I worked around that by creating an empty DR database on a local server, and the backup/restore that via pgAdmin to the Amazon RDS instance. Once the schema was seeded, DR was happen to connect to it.

I have restored a few projects from DRP files into that Amazon RDS instance, including one with a larger drp file. I've found no significant performance differences between Amazon RDS and a local server, meaning it's not much slower and not annoying at all. Now, admittedly I'm on a fiber optic 300/300 broadband link out of NYC connecting to the Amazon East region. Those are somewhat ideal conditions.

But I've found this setup completely workable if I needed to go that route at some point. For now it was simply a proof of concept.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7105
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Amazon RDS remote postgres db

PostMon Jan 15, 2018 2:09 pm

Yep, if you have decent connection and use a provider which uses localisation and syncs between them then this is may work quite well, even world wide. This should have lower impact than for example remote grading. Does Resolve actually talk a lot to DB during work?
Offline

Jan Klier

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 8:11 pm
  • Location: New York City

Re: Amazon RDS remote postgres db

PostMon Jan 15, 2018 2:22 pm

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:Does Resolve actually talk a lot to DB during work?


From observation it appears that Resolve loads most of the data into memory. So DB interactions are generally during load/save of projects, but not necessarily continuously. But would have to setup a network monitor to confirm that.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7105
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Amazon RDS remote postgres db

PostMon Jan 15, 2018 2:40 pm

You could always re-wrtite to reduce talk to DB as much as possible and then this could be a great feature.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: abereut, Igor Riđanović, Leonardo Levy, MavicAir2Marc, Shrinivas Ramani and 87 guests