Dust Remover not working

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Chris Chiasson

  • Posts: 558
  • Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:32 pm

Dust Remover not working

PostTue Jul 12, 2016 2:57 am

I converted a clip to a DPX file, and tried using the too by dragging around the mark, but nothing happens. Also, I read in the manual there's a brush version. Where do I find that?
Offline

Simon Rabeder

  • Posts: 126
  • Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 12:42 am
  • Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Dust Remover not working

PostTue Jul 12, 2016 9:06 am

Same thing here.
Offline
User avatar

Tyson J. Grubb

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 9:04 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles, USA

Re: Dust Remover not working

PostTue Jul 12, 2016 3:49 pm

Same here. No ROI cursor appears.
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2973
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Dust Remover not working

PostTue Jul 12, 2016 5:27 pm

hi,

0) Make sure the clip is a DPX,
1) COLOR TAB, at the bottom left of the window: select DUST REMOVAL
2) Right click on the icon and the window will DUST opened.
3) select eg "draw and clean" + save

ROI.png


4) after the mouse draw a rectangle or other to say what you want "cleanner", etc ...

ROI_2.png


Hope this helps ..
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Win10-1809 | Resolve Studio V16.1 | Fusion Studio V16.1 | Decklink 4K Extreme 6G | RTX 2080Ti 431.86 NSD driver! |
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 9481
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Dust Remover not working

PostTue Jul 12, 2016 6:46 pm

ALSO: be sure that your file are read/write and you have the permission/user coherent...
W10-19043.1645- Supermicro MB C9X299-PGF - RAM 128GB CPU i9-10980XE 16c 4.3GHz (Oc) Water cooled
Decklink Studio 4K (12.3)
Resolve 17.4.6-b4 / resolve 18.0B-b10 / fusion studio 18
GPU 3090ti drivers 512.59 studio
Offline

Chris Chiasson

  • Posts: 558
  • Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:32 pm

Re: Dust Remover not working

PostTue Jul 12, 2016 10:20 pm

waltervolpatto wrote:ALSO: be sure that your file are read/write and you have the permission/user coherent...


I'm on a Mac editing clips off an external drive. How do I do that if that's the problem?
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 9481
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Dust Remover not working

PostWed Jul 13, 2016 2:52 am

Chris Chiasson wrote:
waltervolpatto wrote:ALSO: be sure that your file are read/write and you have the permission/user coherent...


I'm on a Mac editing clips off an external drive. How do I do that if that's the problem?


notte sure, I'm in a linux most of the time but i found out that if i don't have permission i cannot dust it...
W10-19043.1645- Supermicro MB C9X299-PGF - RAM 128GB CPU i9-10980XE 16c 4.3GHz (Oc) Water cooled
Decklink Studio 4K (12.3)
Resolve 17.4.6-b4 / resolve 18.0B-b10 / fusion studio 18
GPU 3090ti drivers 512.59 studio
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9260
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Dust Remover not working

PostWed Jul 13, 2016 5:50 am

There is an issue on Macs with Retina displays. The correction will be significantly offset from the selected area, so may appear not to be doing anything.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Chris Chiasson

  • Posts: 558
  • Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:32 pm

Re: Dust Remover not working

PostThu Jul 14, 2016 1:32 am

Even if that was the case, I'm editing off an external monitor. Now I do get a message about the read/write permission. The question is, how do I fix that? Is that something I need to do in Da Vinci? And if so, how?

Here's a picture from someone how got the same message

Image
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 12169
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Dust Remover not working

PostThu Jul 14, 2016 4:43 am

Can u put the clip in the root directory of your main media drive?
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9260
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Dust Remover not working

PostThu Jul 14, 2016 4:50 am

Resolve modifies the original source frame with the dust/dirt fix.

Before it does that, it makes a copy of the original source frame.

If you need to use the dirt/dust UNDO function, this backed up frame is copied back to the original source file location.

In your case, Resolve is not able to write the copy of the source frame in that path that is displayed, due to permission issues. Since it can't make a backup copy of the source frame, it won't modify the source frame with the dirt/dust fix.

You'll need to fix the permissions of that displayed path, so that the Resolve app can write to that path. This will need to be done outside of Resolve, either using Finder or from a shell.

The following is a description of where the backup frames get written. You don't want them to be on the Mac System drive anywhere. Peter's suggestion of putting them on a separate media drive would be the correct thing to do. But even then, that volume could have permissions that don't allow Resolve to write to it.

The backup location that the original frames are saved to is in a hidden folder called .resolve_backups and this folder will be placed in the root path of the volume that the DPX source files reside on.

This means that if the source DPX files are on a Mac system drive, in a Users folder, then the .resolve_backups folder will ATTEMPT to be created in the root path of the system drive. And the Resolve app does NOT have permission to write to that location, and you will get an error message when you do a dirt/dust fix on that clip, and the fix will not be done.

If the DPX source files are located in multiple volumes, then the .backup_resolve folder will get created on as many of those volumes as you attempt to do dirt/dust fixes on. And if the Resolve app does not have permission to create the .backup_resolve folder in the root path of those volumes, you'll get an error message when you attempt a dirt/dust fix.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Chris Chiasson

  • Posts: 558
  • Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:32 pm

Re: Dust Remover not working

PostSat Jul 16, 2016 6:33 pm

If using an external harddrive that has the original footage, how do I activate the permission to allow it to create a backup location? Can't find anything that tells me how to change the permissions.
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 9481
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Dust Remover not working

PostSat Jul 16, 2016 9:30 pm

Chris Chiasson wrote:If using an external harddrive that has the original footage, how do I activate the permission to allow it to create a backup location? Can't find anything that tells me how to change the permissions.


you might have to do in terminal with the chown command iirc

https://www.google.com/search?q=changing+permissions+with+chown&oq=changing+permission+with+chow&aqs=chrome.1.69i57j0.12309j0j4&client=ms-android-hms-tmobile-us&sourceid=chrome-mobile&ie=UTF-8
W10-19043.1645- Supermicro MB C9X299-PGF - RAM 128GB CPU i9-10980XE 16c 4.3GHz (Oc) Water cooled
Decklink Studio 4K (12.3)
Resolve 17.4.6-b4 / resolve 18.0B-b10 / fusion studio 18
GPU 3090ti drivers 512.59 studio
Offline

Simon Rabeder

  • Posts: 126
  • Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 12:42 am
  • Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Dust Remover not working

PostSat Feb 04, 2017 2:41 pm

So this is kinda destructive editing right? Sure, there seems to be a backup of the original frame somewhere, but what if i want to hand off some original footage from the nas, it will contain the modified frames?

Also, why won't resolve handle it like a cached node and work with all codecs? Just cache it somewhere in DPX/EXR/single frame ProRes or some other format?

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Marc Wielage, MrRipfrog, panos_mts, rdtxszcf821, Roen Davis and 67 guests