Position curves

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Ignacio de La Cierva

  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 12:20 pm

Position curves

PostFri Jul 22, 2016 3:35 pm

I've animated position of a clip. Now I want to tweak the curve for easing out that movement and have a "soft landing". I have curves for zoom, rotarion, yaw, pitch... but not for position!


Sorry for posting these 0-level questions here, but I'm on deadline (and "in the verge of a nervous breakdown") :?

I don't know... maybe I'm getting old... but believe me the migration to Resolve/Fusion is becoming a nightmare, as I'm always getting stucked with the most trivial and stupid issues, like this.
Offline

Mathieu Marano

  • Posts: 201
  • Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 12:05 pm
  • Location: Montreal

Re: Position curves

PostFri Jul 22, 2016 5:56 pm

under the viewer, if you activate the TRANSFORM option (left of the speaker) you'll see spline, path and busier onscreen.
Mathieu Marano
www.cineground.com

#1: MacPro 3,5GHz 8-core, 32GB RAM, 2x D700 6GB, Ultrastudio 4K
#2: P900, 2x 3.1GHz 10-core, 128GB RAM, 2 x GTX 1080Ti, Decklink 4K 12G
#3: P500, 2x 2.6GHz 6-core, 64GB RAM, 2x Quadro 5200, W10, Decklink HD Extreme 3
Offline

Ignacio de La Cierva

  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 12:20 pm

Re: Position curves

PostFri Jul 22, 2016 11:23 pm

Thank you, Mathew

Activating the Transform mode I can see the object's path on screen, and I can tweak start and end positions with it, but no curve. I can only select the final keyframe and, with right mouse button, set it to " smooth", but the effect is almost unnoticeable. No curve.

I left this issue to the last moment, but now I cant wait for a solution within Resolve. It's probably over there, but I have to finish this composition today.

"Good old" Combustion will save me again. :oops:
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 4966
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Position curves

PostSat Jul 23, 2016 8:45 am

Fusion would save you too…
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

Ignacio de La Cierva

  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 12:20 pm

Re: Position curves

PostSat Jul 23, 2016 3:42 pm

;) yeah, I finally went to Fusion. The only way to get used to it is using it all time. It's just I worked so many thousand hours with Combustion, that even today six years later It's still the tool I work faster with.

There's no position curves in DR, then?

Mathew, dis you mean the object's path in the viewer or do you really have position curves in the timeline? What I'm doing wrong or missing?
Offline

Paul Willis

  • Posts: 196
  • Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 4:47 pm

Re: Position curves

PostWed Jul 27, 2016 2:39 pm

I missed this feature too initially as I was also expecting it to be found with the other easing options for zoom etc.

As Mathieu says, you have to activate the Transform option, which is a box to the left of the speaker icon under the right hand viewer. Once you add keyframes using the inspector on the right, you can then just right click a keyframe and choose 'smooth'.

See attachment.

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 15.35.44.png
Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 15.35.44.png (366.21 KiB) Viewed 5084 times
www.chief.tv
www.paulwilliscolour.com
Offline

Paul Willis

  • Posts: 196
  • Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 4:47 pm

Re: Position curves

PostWed Jul 27, 2016 2:47 pm

Actually, scratch that as it only works for movement rather than easing into a keyframe. I actually don't know the answer as I use AE for motion. Must be in the manual somewhere!
www.chief.tv
www.paulwilliscolour.com
Offline

Ignacio de La Cierva

  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 12:20 pm

Re: Position curves

PostThu Jul 28, 2016 3:30 pm

Paul Willis wrote:I missed this feature too initially as I was also expecting it to be found with the other easing options for zoom etc.

As Mathieu says, you have to activate the Transform option, which is a box to the left of the speaker icon under the right hand viewer. Once you add keyframes using the inspector on the right, you can then just right click a keyframe and choose 'smooth'.

See attachment.

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 15.35.44.png


Thanks, Paul.

I needed a curve, to have control on how smooth. Just the same curve we have for all other transforms except position. This CGI world is often weird, but I'm used to it. No problem.
Offline

Blake LaFarm

  • Posts: 224
  • Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 8:48 am

Re: Position curves

PostFri Jul 29, 2016 4:51 am

Is this really not possible? This is a very fundamental feature.
HP Z840 | Dual 10-Core Xeon 2.3 GHz | Dual TITAN Xp | 64 GB RAM | Media: PCIe SSD 2.5 GB/s
DeckLink 4K Ext 12G | Pocket UltraScope | Avid Artist Color | CalMAN Studio/C6-HDR
Resolve Studio 15.0.0B.043 | Fusion Studio 9.0.2 | DTV 10.9.12 | Win10 Pro 1803
Online

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1474
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Position curves

PostSat Jul 30, 2016 12:17 am

The way Resolve does position KF smoothing looks like it has been copied exactly from Final Cut Pro 7. I hate it with a passion because if you want to do smooth movement with both size and position, the relative smoothing between the two functions creates ugly and difficult to control movement.
Back in the days of dedicated DVE devices common smoothing math on all XYZ axis was STANDARD!
If someone had told me back then, that in 2016 I would not be able to do this I would have laughed. But here we are!

All non-linear editing software (except Smoke) suffers the same issue, which is that the record 'canvas' or viewer is only 2D. As there is no z axis, common math for smooth moves is not possible. It is for this reason that I use FCPX with Motion 5 to create a true 3D effect to do these kind of moves.
Resolve 16.0
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM
GTX 1060 6GB
Offline

Ignacio de La Cierva

  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 12:20 pm

Re: Position curves

PostWed Oct 19, 2016 6:57 pm

Peter Cave wrote:All non-linear editing software (except Smoke) suffers the same issue, which is that the record 'canvas' or viewer is only 2D. As there is no z axis, common math for smooth moves is not possible.


??

Really can't see why you can not make nice interpolation curves for two axes only.
Offline
User avatar

Jay Turberville

  • Posts: 154
  • Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:40 pm
  • Location: Scottsdale, AZ

Re: Position curves

PostWed Oct 19, 2016 9:58 pm

Ignacio de La Cierva wrote:
Paul Willis wrote:I missed this feature too initially as I was also expecting it to be found with the other easing options for zoom etc.

As Mathieu says, you have to activate the Transform option, which is a box to the left of the speaker icon under the right hand viewer. Once you add keyframes using the inspector on the right, you can then just right click a keyframe and choose 'smooth'.

See attachment.

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 15.35.44.png


Thanks, Paul.

I needed a curve, to have control on how smooth. Just the same curve we have for all other transforms except position. This CGI world is often weird, but I'm used to it. No problem.


On the handle, there is a small dot in the middle. You can drag that dot toward either end of the handle to vary the smoothing bias. You can observe the frame indicator dots shifting as you drag the dot. So there is a feature to vary not just the X,Y, but also the Z (time) curve. But there is no visible curve to help in visualizing the speed change.
www.studio522.com
Resolve 12.5.4
SuperMicro X8DT3 w/ 2x 5670 Xeon 20GB
GeForce GTX560 Ti 1GB
Windows 7
or
Resolve 12.5.4
HP Z600 w/ 2x 5670 Xeon 24GB
Dual SSD 240GB in RAID1 (480GB)
Geforce GTX 970 4GB
Windows 10
Offline
User avatar

Adelson Munhoz

  • Posts: 262
  • Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 5:44 pm

Re: Position curves

PostSun Feb 26, 2017 3:58 pm

Thanks Jay!
This was driving me nuts.
Offline

Martin Schitter

  • Posts: 896
  • Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 10:41 pm

Re: Position curves

PostSun Feb 26, 2017 4:59 pm

Jay Turberville wrote:On the handle, there is a small dot in the middle. You can drag that dot toward either end of the handle to vary the smoothing bias. You can observe the frame indicator dots shifting as you drag the dot. So there is a feature to vary not just the X,Y, but also the Z (time) curve. But there is no visible curve to help in visualizing the speed change.


yes -- after a while i also found out this quite esoteric subtleties of motion control in resolve. but i'm still not convinced, that it can't be done better.

especially, if you have to synchronize more then one position animation, curves in the timeline will show noticeable benefits.

sure -- it's just another [redundant] representation, but both ways of interaction and control have different consequences and advantages. it's very useful, if you can choose between both of them, and simple utilize the one, which fits better for a given task.
Offline

Simon Rabeder

  • Posts: 100
  • Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 12:42 am
  • Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Position curves

PostWed Mar 22, 2017 8:45 pm

I really want curves for this too. Used to doing this in AE but sometimes I don't wanna do the roundtrip for a few shots shot.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Michael_Andreas and 50 guests