Page 1 of 1

Position curves

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 3:35 pm
by Ignacio de La Cierva
I've animated position of a clip. Now I want to tweak the curve for easing out that movement and have a "soft landing". I have curves for zoom, rotarion, yaw, pitch... but not for position!


Sorry for posting these 0-level questions here, but I'm on deadline (and "in the verge of a nervous breakdown") :?

I don't know... maybe I'm getting old... but believe me the migration to Resolve/Fusion is becoming a nightmare, as I'm always getting stucked with the most trivial and stupid issues, like this.

Re: Position curves

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 5:56 pm
by Mathieu Marano
under the viewer, if you activate the TRANSFORM option (left of the speaker) you'll see spline, path and busier onscreen.

Re: Position curves

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 11:23 pm
by Ignacio de La Cierva
Thank you, Mathew

Activating the Transform mode I can see the object's path on screen, and I can tweak start and end positions with it, but no curve. I can only select the final keyframe and, with right mouse button, set it to " smooth", but the effect is almost unnoticeable. No curve.

I left this issue to the last moment, but now I cant wait for a solution within Resolve. It's probably over there, but I have to finish this composition today.

"Good old" Combustion will save me again. :oops:

Re: Position curves

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 8:45 am
by Uli Plank
Fusion would save you too…

Re: Position curves

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 3:42 pm
by Ignacio de La Cierva
;) yeah, I finally went to Fusion. The only way to get used to it is using it all time. It's just I worked so many thousand hours with Combustion, that even today six years later It's still the tool I work faster with.

There's no position curves in DR, then?

Mathew, dis you mean the object's path in the viewer or do you really have position curves in the timeline? What I'm doing wrong or missing?

Re: Position curves

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:39 pm
by Paul Willis
I missed this feature too initially as I was also expecting it to be found with the other easing options for zoom etc.

As Mathieu says, you have to activate the Transform option, which is a box to the left of the speaker icon under the right hand viewer. Once you add keyframes using the inspector on the right, you can then just right click a keyframe and choose 'smooth'.

See attachment.

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 15.35.44.png
Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 15.35.44.png (366.21 KiB) Viewed 6812 times

Re: Position curves

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:47 pm
by Paul Willis
Actually, scratch that as it only works for movement rather than easing into a keyframe. I actually don't know the answer as I use AE for motion. Must be in the manual somewhere!

Re: Position curves

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2016 3:30 pm
by Ignacio de La Cierva
Paul Willis wrote:I missed this feature too initially as I was also expecting it to be found with the other easing options for zoom etc.

As Mathieu says, you have to activate the Transform option, which is a box to the left of the speaker icon under the right hand viewer. Once you add keyframes using the inspector on the right, you can then just right click a keyframe and choose 'smooth'.

See attachment.

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 15.35.44.png


Thanks, Paul.

I needed a curve, to have control on how smooth. Just the same curve we have for all other transforms except position. This CGI world is often weird, but I'm used to it. No problem.

Re: Position curves

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2016 4:51 am
by Blake LaFarm
Is this really not possible? This is a very fundamental feature.

Re: Position curves

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2016 12:17 am
by Peter Cave
The way Resolve does position KF smoothing looks like it has been copied exactly from Final Cut Pro 7. I hate it with a passion because if you want to do smooth movement with both size and position, the relative smoothing between the two functions creates ugly and difficult to control movement.
Back in the days of dedicated DVE devices common smoothing math on all XYZ axis was STANDARD!
If someone had told me back then, that in 2016 I would not be able to do this I would have laughed. But here we are!

All non-linear editing software (except Smoke) suffers the same issue, which is that the record 'canvas' or viewer is only 2D. As there is no z axis, common math for smooth moves is not possible. It is for this reason that I use FCPX with Motion 5 to create a true 3D effect to do these kind of moves.

Re: Position curves

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:57 pm
by Ignacio de La Cierva
Peter Cave wrote:All non-linear editing software (except Smoke) suffers the same issue, which is that the record 'canvas' or viewer is only 2D. As there is no z axis, common math for smooth moves is not possible.


??

Really can't see why you can not make nice interpolation curves for two axes only.

Re: Position curves

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2016 9:58 pm
by Jay Turberville
Ignacio de La Cierva wrote:
Paul Willis wrote:I missed this feature too initially as I was also expecting it to be found with the other easing options for zoom etc.

As Mathieu says, you have to activate the Transform option, which is a box to the left of the speaker icon under the right hand viewer. Once you add keyframes using the inspector on the right, you can then just right click a keyframe and choose 'smooth'.

See attachment.

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 15.35.44.png


Thanks, Paul.

I needed a curve, to have control on how smooth. Just the same curve we have for all other transforms except position. This CGI world is often weird, but I'm used to it. No problem.


On the handle, there is a small dot in the middle. You can drag that dot toward either end of the handle to vary the smoothing bias. You can observe the frame indicator dots shifting as you drag the dot. So there is a feature to vary not just the X,Y, but also the Z (time) curve. But there is no visible curve to help in visualizing the speed change.

Re: Position curves

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 3:58 pm
by Adelson Munhoz
Thanks Jay!
This was driving me nuts.

Re: Position curves

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:59 pm
by Martin Schitter
Jay Turberville wrote:On the handle, there is a small dot in the middle. You can drag that dot toward either end of the handle to vary the smoothing bias. You can observe the frame indicator dots shifting as you drag the dot. So there is a feature to vary not just the X,Y, but also the Z (time) curve. But there is no visible curve to help in visualizing the speed change.


yes -- after a while i also found out this quite esoteric subtleties of motion control in resolve. but i'm still not convinced, that it can't be done better.

especially, if you have to synchronize more then one position animation, curves in the timeline will show noticeable benefits.

sure -- it's just another [redundant] representation, but both ways of interaction and control have different consequences and advantages. it's very useful, if you can choose between both of them, and simple utilize the one, which fits better for a given task.

Re: Position curves

PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 8:45 pm
by Simon Rabeder
I really want curves for this too. Used to doing this in AE but sometimes I don't wanna do the roundtrip for a few shots shot.