Resolve 12.5.1 Windows, ProRes optimized media (was a bug)

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 931
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Resolve 12.5.1 Windows, ProRes optimized media (was a bug)

PostThu Aug 11, 2016 9:34 am

12.5.1 is looking great so far!

One thing I noticed that wasn't in the release notes, you can encode ProRes on Windows. Not terribly useful however, since it's for optimized media only, not for delivery.

A sign of things to come? Or did a developer forget to remove the option? :)

Edit: Updated the subject since it was just a bug.
Last edited by roger.magnusson on Thu Aug 11, 2016 10:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

Rohit Gupta

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1185
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:00 am

Re: Resolve 12.5.1 on Windows creates ProRes optimized media

PostThu Aug 11, 2016 10:22 am

roger.magnusson wrote:12.5.1 is looking great so far!

One thing I noticed that wasn't in the release notes, you can encode ProRes on Windows. Not terribly useful however, since it's for optimized media only, not for delivery.

A sign of things to come? Or did a developer forget to remove the option? :)


That's a UI bug - there is no encode capability on Windows for ProRes.
Rohit Gupta

DaVinci Resolve Software Development
Blackmagic Design
Offline

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 931
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Re: Resolve 12.5.1 on Windows creates ProRes optimized media

PostThu Aug 11, 2016 10:24 am

Yeah, I just noticed that the actual frames it generates on disk are too big to be ProRes. Thanks for the info!
Offline
User avatar

Ulysses Paiva

  • Posts: 813
  • Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 8:32 pm
  • Location: Pernambuco, Brasil

Re: Resolve 12.5.1 Windows, ProRes optimized media (was a bu

PostThu Aug 11, 2016 11:44 am

Was it a typo?

Capturar.JPG
Capturar.JPG (58.3 KiB) Viewed 2100 times
Ulysses Paiva
UPMD Filmes
http://www.upmdfilmes.com.br
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 5510
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Resolve 12.5.1 Windows, ProRes optimized media (was a bu

PostThu Aug 11, 2016 11:47 am

Why would it be a typo? That is saying it no longer needs Quicktime to decode ProRes, the OP is talking about encoding ProRes
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, G-Sync UHD screen, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB Video drives.
Building Bespoke Video Editing systems for over 16 years
Offline

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 931
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Re: Resolve 12.5.1 Windows, ProRes optimized media (was a bu

PostThu Aug 11, 2016 11:51 am

Ulysses Paiva wrote:Was it a typo?

Capturar.JPG


The Optimized Media and Cache Frames settings are set to ProRes by default even though it won't be ProRes on Windows. That's the bug. ProRes decoding however works as advertised.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 5817
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Resolve 12.5.1 Windows, ProRes optimized media (was a bu

PostThu Aug 11, 2016 12:32 pm

Does decoding include XQ files?
Offline

Rohit Gupta

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1185
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:00 am

Re: Resolve 12.5.1 Windows, ProRes optimized media (was a bu

PostThu Aug 11, 2016 12:33 pm

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:Does decoding include XQ files?


Yes, even 12.5 supported that. It's much faster now, especially with high-res clips.
Rohit Gupta

DaVinci Resolve Software Development
Blackmagic Design
Offline
User avatar

Ulysses Paiva

  • Posts: 813
  • Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 8:32 pm
  • Location: Pernambuco, Brasil

Re: Resolve 12.5.1 Windows, ProRes optimized media (was a bu

PostThu Aug 11, 2016 2:54 pm

Adam Simmons wrote:Why would it be a typo? That is saying it no longer needs Quicktime to decode ProRes, the OP is talking about encoding ProRes




Sorry. I did read "encoding". My bad.
Ulysses Paiva
UPMD Filmes
http://www.upmdfilmes.com.br

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DamienWise, Google [Bot], Mike Warren and 135 guests