Mac OS Sierra

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

James Parker

  • Posts: 184
  • Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 3:38 pm

Mac OS Sierra

PostTue Sep 13, 2016 6:29 pm

Is Resolve compatible?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
J.Parker
Offline

Phillip Lakis

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2016 12:50 am

Re: Mac OS Sierra

PostMon Sep 19, 2016 1:53 am

James Parker wrote:Is Resolve compatible?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk



Just tested, So far so good with 12.5.2 much better.
12.5.0 was unstable.

I still wouldn't recommend using it yet , Maybe install on another partition and test for a while.
Hi I'm Phillip Lakis host of Phillip's Garage - YouTube Channel dedicated to Real World testing of DaVinci Resolve / FCPX / Adobe

Youtube: goo.gl/Itxzsm
Twitter: https://twitter.com/phillips_garage
Insta: https://www.instagram.com/phillips_garage
Offline

Yos Serrano

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 11:15 pm

Re: Mac OS Sierra

PostMon Sep 19, 2016 11:18 pm

Working fine since the first public beta.
Offline
User avatar

timbutt2

  • Posts: 2388
  • Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 10:32 am
  • Location: St. Petersburg, Florida, United States of Amercia

Re: Mac OS Sierra

PostTue Sep 20, 2016 9:14 pm

Updated my laptop first to test apps and compatibility. All good! Both DaVinci Resolve Studio and Lite run fine. Also, Fusion runs fine as well. Updating my desktop computer now since I found all other apps run fine.
"I'm well trained in the art of turning **** to gold." - Tim Buttner (timbutt2)

Cameras: URSA Mini Pro G2, Pocket 6K Pro, Pocket 6K, & Cinema Camera 2.5K EF
Computers: iMac 5K (Mid 2020) & MacBook Pro Retina 15.4in (Mid 2018)
Offline
User avatar

Dylan Neild

  • Posts: 89
  • Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 7:19 pm

Re: Mac OS Sierra

PostTue Sep 20, 2016 9:34 pm

Tried it on my laptop during the beta - no issues. Release, also working fine with 12.5.2.
Offline

Seth Goldin

  • Posts: 664
  • Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 7:43 pm

Re: Mac OS Sierra

PostThu Sep 22, 2016 9:12 pm

I'm on 10.12 Sierra, and Resolve 12.5.2 crashes when I open up a project.

It doesn't seem to recognize my CUDA driver. A dialogue box pops up that says I have no CUDA hardware when I launch Resolve.

My specs:
MacPro5,1
2 x 2.93 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN X 12288 MB [900-series from 2014]
CUDA Driver Version: 7.5.30
GPU Driver Version: 10.13.65 (367.15.10.05f01)
NVIDIA Web Driver: 367.15.10.05f01
DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.1 Build 24
CentOS Linux 7.9.2009 (Core)
HP Z8 G4
1x Intel® Xeon® Gold 6136
48 GB (6x8 GB) DDR4-2666 ECC Registered RAM
1x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
NVIDIA driver 460.56
https://www.sethgoldin.com
Offline

Rohit Singhal

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 670
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:07 am

Re: Mac OS Sierra

PostFri Sep 23, 2016 4:12 am

Seth Goldin wrote:I'm on 10.12 Sierra, and Resolve 12.5.2 crashes when I open up a project.

It doesn't seem to recognize my CUDA driver. A dialogue box pops up that says I have no CUDA hardware when I launch Resolve.

My specs:
MacPro5,1
2 x 2.93 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN X 12288 MB [900-series from 2014]
CUDA Driver Version: 7.5.30
GPU Driver Version: 10.13.65 (367.15.10.05f01)
NVIDIA Web Driver: 367.15.10.05f01


Could you see if there is a CUDA update available under "Mac System Preferences > CUDA" ?
If yes, please update.

Rohit Singhal
Offline

Seth Goldin

  • Posts: 664
  • Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 7:43 pm

Re: Mac OS Sierra

PostFri Sep 23, 2016 1:50 pm

Rohit Singhal wrote:Could you see if there is a CUDA update available under "Mac System Preferences > CUDA" ?
If yes, please update.

Rohit Singhal


Unfortunately, I'm only seeing:
Code: Select all
No newer CUDA Driver available


Do you know if there is a macOS CUDA driver more recent than 7.5.30? Perhaps from NVIDIA's beta program?
DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.1 Build 24
CentOS Linux 7.9.2009 (Core)
HP Z8 G4
1x Intel® Xeon® Gold 6136
48 GB (6x8 GB) DDR4-2666 ECC Registered RAM
1x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
NVIDIA driver 460.56
https://www.sethgoldin.com
Offline

Tyler Nowosielski

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 2:04 pm

Re: Mac OS Sierra

PostFri Sep 23, 2016 2:08 pm

MacOS Sierra will break any PostgreSQL servers and make it impossible to open them again to back them up.

Our Mac Pro Trashcan was running a PostgreSQL server and it will not start after the update to Sierra. I have spoken with Blackmagic support and they have advised me to downgrade back to El Capitan. I did so and everything is working normal again (thank you Time Machine).

They said to wait until MacOS Sierra is officially supported before upgrading.
Offline
User avatar

GregGreenhaw

  • Posts: 151
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:46 pm

Re: Mac OS Sierra

PostSat Sep 24, 2016 6:02 am

Seth Goldin wrote:I'm on 10.12 Sierra, and Resolve 12.5.2 crashes when I open up a project.

It doesn't seem to recognize my CUDA driver. A dialogue box pops up that says I have no CUDA hardware when I launch Resolve.

My specs:
MacPro5,1
2 x 2.93 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN X 12288 MB [900-series from 2014]
CUDA Driver Version: 7.5.30
GPU Driver Version: 10.13.65 (367.15.10.05f01)
NVIDIA Web Driver: 367.15.10.05f01



I'm having the same issue

CUDA Driver Version: 7.5.30
GPU Driver Version: 10.13.65 (367.15.10.05f01)
NVIDIA Web Driver: 367.15.10.05f01
Last edited by GregGreenhaw on Sun Sep 25, 2016 4:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline
User avatar

GregGreenhaw

  • Posts: 151
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:46 pm

Re: Mac OS Sierra

PostSat Sep 24, 2016 2:06 pm

I updated to the cuda 8RC and still get the same "No Cuda Acceleration Hardware Detected" error. I have an nvidia 980 card with the latest webdriver and cuda.


I also rolled back to 12.5.1 and got the same error.
Offline
User avatar

GregGreenhaw

  • Posts: 151
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:46 pm

Re: Mac OS Sierra

PostSun Sep 25, 2016 2:54 pm

I wonder if the issue is with the deviceQuery app. It returns "no CUDA-capable device is detected" however
the system profiler clearly shows the nvidia card is recognized.

I'm assuming deviceQuery is used by resolve to locate the cards on boot.
Is there a way to fake the output of deviceQuery?


#########################################################
sudo /Library/Application\ Support/Blackmagic\ Design/DaVinci\ Resolve/deviceQuery
Password:
/Library/Application Support/Blackmagic Design/DaVinci Resolve/deviceQuery Starting...

CUDA Device Query (Runtime API) version (CUDART static linking)

cudaGetDeviceCount returned 38
-> no CUDA-capable device is detected
Result = FAIL

############################################

/usr/sbin/system_profiler SPDisplaysDataType


NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980:

Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
Slot: Slot-2
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 4095 MB
Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
Device ID: 0x13c0
Revision ID: 0x00a1
ROM Revision: VBIOS 84.04.2f.00.80
Metal: Supported
Offline

Seth Goldin

  • Posts: 664
  • Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 7:43 pm

Re: Mac OS Sierra

PostMon Sep 26, 2016 2:11 pm

Dwaine Maggart and I have confirmed that something about the 7.5.30 CUDA driver and the and 10.13.65 (367.15.10.05f01) Web driver aren't playing well with macOS Sierra 10.12 (16A323). Premiere Pro isn't recognizing the CUDA driver, either. The best thing to do would be to open up a new, blank project, switch to OpenCL, and restart Resolve.

We seem to be at the mercy of NVIDIA. All we can do is wait for an update from them.
DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.1 Build 24
CentOS Linux 7.9.2009 (Core)
HP Z8 G4
1x Intel® Xeon® Gold 6136
48 GB (6x8 GB) DDR4-2666 ECC Registered RAM
1x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
NVIDIA driver 460.56
https://www.sethgoldin.com
Offline
User avatar

GregGreenhaw

  • Posts: 151
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:46 pm

Re: Mac OS Sierra

PostMon Sep 26, 2016 5:14 pm

Seth Goldin wrote:Dwaine Maggart and I have confirmed that something about the 7.5.30 CUDA driver and the and 10.13.65 (367.15.10.05f01) Web driver aren't playing well with macOS Sierra 10.12 (16A323). Premiere Pro isn't recognizing the CUDA driver, either. The best thing to do would be to open up a new, blank project, switch to OpenCL, and restart Resolve.

We seem to be at the mercy of NVIDIA. All we can do is wait for an update from them.



Unfortunately my resolve is crashing after switching to openCL
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9141
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Mac OS Sierra

PostMon Sep 26, 2016 10:14 pm

Greg, 980 card works here in OpenCL mode.

I notice it says your card is in PCIe slot 2. You wouldn't normally put a double wide card in slot 2. What's in slot 1? Or is this not a MacPro tower?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

GregGreenhaw

  • Posts: 151
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:46 pm

Re: Mac OS Sierra

PostTue Sep 27, 2016 3:53 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Greg, 980 card works here in OpenCL mode.

I notice it says your card is in PCIe slot 2. You wouldn't normally put a double wide card in slot 2. What's in slot 1? Or is this not a MacPro tower?



I have a pcie extension cable and hang the card out of the side of the box with an external power source.
This worked fine until sierra and that web driver update. However resolve wont even boot to the user screen in openCL mode strangely.

Here is the link to the capture logs
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_mri5 ... sp=sharing

I edtied the config.dat and changed the Local.GPU.Mode from OpenCL to CUDA and it boots again.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9141
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Mac OS Sierra

PostTue Sep 27, 2016 5:14 pm

I see you have an HD5870 card installed.

Remove that, and I think things will work better. Put the 980 card in slot 1 of the Mac.

I've noticed if I have the AMD card installed in the Mac and an NVIDIA card installed in an expansion chassis, it causes issues. I've not had time to research that further.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

GregGreenhaw

  • Posts: 151
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:46 pm

Re: Mac OS Sierra

PostWed Sep 28, 2016 12:36 am

Dwaine Maggart wrote:I see you have an HD5870 card installed.

Remove that, and I think things will work better. Put the 980 card in slot 1 of the Mac.

I've noticed if I have the AMD card installed in the Mac and an NVIDIA card installed in an expansion chassis, it causes issues. I've not had time to research that further.


I tried just one card in the past but resolve seems to preform better when it does not use gui card for compute. I started with just the nvidia card but resolve tended to crash more often. This has not been an issue until I updated to sierra and the latest nvidia web driver. The resolve team needs to push NVIDIA to fix this issue.
Offline
User avatar

GregGreenhaw

  • Posts: 151
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:46 pm

Re: Mac OS Sierra

PostSun Oct 02, 2016 8:05 pm

CUDA 8 update today fixes this issue thank god
Offline

Seth Goldin

  • Posts: 664
  • Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 7:43 pm

Re: Mac OS Sierra

PostMon Oct 03, 2016 2:11 pm

Excellent! Greg, is everything else working well with this new CUDA update? I'll definitely update to get CUDA back and working again, but I'd love to know if I'm about to create any other weird problems in this Wild West of software before Blackmagic and Adobe announce official support for Sierra.
DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.1 Build 24
CentOS Linux 7.9.2009 (Core)
HP Z8 G4
1x Intel® Xeon® Gold 6136
48 GB (6x8 GB) DDR4-2666 ECC Registered RAM
1x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
NVIDIA driver 460.56
https://www.sethgoldin.com
Offline
User avatar

GregGreenhaw

  • Posts: 151
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:46 pm

Re: Mac OS Sierra

PostMon Oct 03, 2016 4:11 pm

I think this update add support for the pascal cards as well

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 108 guests