Resolve 14 beta 1 - still doesn't play 4K 10-bit from GH5

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Mike Halper

  • Posts: 299
  • Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 10:50 pm

Resolve 14 beta 1 - still doesn't play 4K 10-bit from GH5

PostMon Apr 24, 2017 5:29 pm

I was hoping this would have been fixed. 4K 10bit clips from GH5 still don't play properly. They import and audio is smooth, but the picture still says "Media Offline".
IMac Pro Hackintosh, 10 core i9, 64GB RAM, Radeon VII, Decklink 4K Mini Monitor, macOS 10.14.5, DaVinci Resolve Studio license
Offline

JustinJohnson

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 12:08 am

Re: Resolve 14 beta 1 - still doesn't play 4K 10-bit from GH

PostMon Apr 24, 2017 5:33 pm

Same here. :cry:

Was hoping this version would be enough for me to move from Adobe.
Resolve Studio 16 Beta 1
Windows 10 Pro 1903 (OS Build 18362.53)
32 Gigs of ram
AMD 2700X 3.60 GHz
ATI RX 570 8GB
Offline

Mike Halper

  • Posts: 299
  • Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 10:50 pm

Re: Resolve 14 beta 1 - still doesn't play 4K 10-bit from GH

PostMon Apr 24, 2017 5:56 pm

I read that someone has the Studio beta playing GH5 files just fine. Might be just non-Studio doesn't play them. I don't want to run beta software on my main workstation, at least not yet. Can anyone confirm?
IMac Pro Hackintosh, 10 core i9, 64GB RAM, Radeon VII, Decklink 4K Mini Monitor, macOS 10.14.5, DaVinci Resolve Studio license
Offline
User avatar

Ovi Dan

  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 7:47 am
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Resolve 14 beta 1 - still doesn't play 4K 10-bit from GH

PostMon Apr 24, 2017 5:57 pm

It appears the Studio version on Windows can read the files, but the free version does not?
Offline

Mike Halper

  • Posts: 299
  • Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 10:50 pm

Re: Resolve 14 beta 1 - still doesn't play 4K 10-bit from GH

PostMon Apr 24, 2017 5:58 pm

What about Studio on Mac?
IMac Pro Hackintosh, 10 core i9, 64GB RAM, Radeon VII, Decklink 4K Mini Monitor, macOS 10.14.5, DaVinci Resolve Studio license
Offline
User avatar

Cary Knoop

  • Posts: 1217
  • Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 6:35 pm
  • Location: Newark, CA USA

Re: Resolve 14 beta 1 - still doesn't play 4K 10-bit from GH

PostMon Apr 24, 2017 6:55 pm

Mike Halper wrote:I was hoping this would have been fixed. 4K 10bit clips from GH5 still don't play properly. They import and audio is smooth, but the picture still says "Media Offline".

The Resolve 14 new features list contains the following statement:

"Support for decoding H.264 Intra 422 10bit - DaVinci Resolve Studio only"

The good news is that Resolve Studio is $299, which is for what you get a steal!
Offline

Mike Halper

  • Posts: 299
  • Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 10:50 pm

Re: Resolve 14 beta 1 - still doesn't play 4K 10-bit from GH

PostMon Apr 24, 2017 6:58 pm

These files from the GH5 aren't Intra (though they will be in a later firmware update). They're IPB. But maybe this applies also:

"Support for decoding High 10 Profile H.264 files on DaVinci Resolve Studio"

Or they meant to include Intra and IPB in that listed feature.
IMac Pro Hackintosh, 10 core i9, 64GB RAM, Radeon VII, Decklink 4K Mini Monitor, macOS 10.14.5, DaVinci Resolve Studio license
Offline

Bryan Worsley

  • Posts: 513
  • Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 11:26 am
  • Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Resolve 14 beta 1 - still doesn't play 4K 10-bit from GH

PostMon Apr 24, 2017 8:33 pm

Ovi Dan wrote:It appears the Studio version on Windows can read the files, but the free version does not?


Cary Knoop wrote:
Mike Halper wrote:I was hoping this would have been fixed. 4K 10bit clips from GH5 still don't play properly. They import and audio is smooth, but the picture still says "Media Offline".

The Resolve 14 new features list contains the following statement:

"Support for decoding H.264 Intra 422 10bit - DaVinci Resolve Studio only"

The good news is that Resolve Studio is $299, which is for what you get a steal!


Sigh...and I wished and wished and wished. Ah well, decision time I guess.
Offline

Jeff Brass

  • Posts: 351
  • Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:46 am

Re: Resolve 14 beta 1 - still doesn't play 4K 10-bit from GH

PostMon Apr 24, 2017 8:52 pm

[quote=
The good news is that Resolve Studio is $299, which is for what you get a steal![/quote]


yeah says $299 on the website, but go to a reseller and it's $1700 here...on special :(
Win10 Pro x64 | i7 5930k|64GB RAM |GTX 1080 8gb | Mini Monitor | DR Studio 16.1.1
Offline

Glen Batson

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Resolve 14 beta 1 - still doesn't play 4K 10-bit from GH

PostMon Apr 24, 2017 9:25 pm

I'll install it this evening and verify if it will work with my GH5 4K files. Do we know when the studio version is going to be available for $299?

(Update: I just ordered the studio version.)
-Glen
Last edited by Glen Batson on Tue Apr 25, 2017 12:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Offline
User avatar

Eugenia Loli

  • Posts: 155
  • Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 6:47 am
  • Location: Spokane, WA, USA

Re: Resolve 14 beta 1 - still doesn't play 4K 10-bit from GH

PostMon Apr 24, 2017 11:56 pm

In my opinion, the GH5 10bit support should have been free, not bundled only with the Studio version. The GH5 is still a consumer camera at heart, and people were banking on being able to edit its files.

Also, I can only find the price as $1000, not $299. Where does it say $299 (without upgrade btw)?
Collage artist, illustrator, filmmaker: https://vimeo.com/eugenia
Offline

Mike Halper

  • Posts: 299
  • Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 10:50 pm

Re: Resolve 14 beta 1 - still doesn't play 4K 10-bit from GH

PostTue Apr 25, 2017 12:03 am

$299 is the price for v14, which isn't out yet. These are only betas that have been released so far. They didn't say that 12.5 is $299 right away. That, or it will take some time for retailers to adjust their pricing, which probably requires an adjustment to they cost from Blackmagic for stocked inventory already on hand.

Also, Studio is now only $299. Why is anyone complaining about that? You'll get a lot more than just the ability to play GH5 4K 10bit files. It's a steal. Buy it and stop complaining.
IMac Pro Hackintosh, 10 core i9, 64GB RAM, Radeon VII, Decklink 4K Mini Monitor, macOS 10.14.5, DaVinci Resolve Studio license
Offline

Jeff Brass

  • Posts: 351
  • Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:46 am

Re: Resolve 14 beta 1 - still doesn't play 4K 10-bit from GH

PostTue Apr 25, 2017 12:10 am

BMD website does list 12.5 as $299 but agreed, will take a bit for retailers and BMD to get that sorted.

$299 is an absolute steal - was about to buy a dongle from ebay....think I can wait a little longer now :)
Win10 Pro x64 | i7 5930k|64GB RAM |GTX 1080 8gb | Mini Monitor | DR Studio 16.1.1
Offline

Mike Halper

  • Posts: 299
  • Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 10:50 pm

Re: Resolve 14 beta 1 - still doesn't play 4K 10-bit from GH

PostTue Apr 25, 2017 12:14 am

I stand corrected.
IMac Pro Hackintosh, 10 core i9, 64GB RAM, Radeon VII, Decklink 4K Mini Monitor, macOS 10.14.5, DaVinci Resolve Studio license
Offline

Bryan Worsley

  • Posts: 513
  • Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 11:26 am
  • Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Resolve 14 beta 1 - still doesn't play 4K 10-bit from GH

PostTue Apr 25, 2017 12:29 am

Eugenia Loli wrote:In my opinion, the GH5 10bit support should have been free, not bundled only with the Studio version. The GH5 is still a consumer camera at heart, and people were banking on being able to edit its files.


I still think Eugenia makes a valid point though. What's more BMD give no reason as why this is a 'Studio Only' feature. The free versions of Resolve 12.5 and now 14 beta support XAVC import, so what's the big deal with these GH5 10-bit files ? I have a theory on that, but was ticked-off for thinking such a thing when I shared my thoughts before. Hint - it's purely a business decision.

Plus, how are you supposed to evaluate whether it's worth purchasing the Studio version (for this particular feature in my case) if there is no trial download version to check out ?

Eugenia Loli wrote:Also, I can only find the price as $1000, not $299. Where does it say $299 (without upgrade btw)?


B&H have Resolve Studio listed at $299 but it doesn't specify the version:

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1196612-REG/blackmagic_design_dv_resstud_davinci_resolve.html

Edit: I see there is a footnote "Note: Your purchase will provide you with the most recent version of Resolve Studio".

Mike Halper wrote:.... it will take some time for retailers to adjust their pricing, which probably requires an adjustment to they cost from Blackmagic for stocked inventory already on hand.


This registered 're-seller' In Canada is still listing Resolve Studio 9 (for Mac) at $ 1318.99 (Canadian) = that's $US 974

https://fusioncine.com/blackmagic-davinci-resolve

Now there's a steal.
Offline

Patrick Abde

  • Posts: 72
  • Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 12:56 am

Re: Resolve 14 beta 1 - still doesn't play 4K 10-bit from GH

PostTue Apr 25, 2017 4:36 pm

Havent got to try any 10bit footage of my gh5 yet, but i dont feel like changing nle now so i'll settle for 8 bit untill i can afford studio, atleast 299 is better than 999 :)
Offline

Lucas Pfaff

  • Posts: 291
  • Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:35 pm

Re: Resolve 14 beta 1 - still doesn't play 4K 10-bit from GH

PostTue Apr 25, 2017 6:27 pm

Bryan Worsley wrote:Edit: I see there is a footnote "Note: Your purchase will provide you with the most recent version of Resolve Studio".

Since V9 (maybe even V8) the dongle always worked on every new version. My V9 dongle works for 14 as it did for all others, so it should be fine :)

In my opinion, the GH5 10bit support should have been free, not bundled only with the Studio version. The GH5 is still a consumer camera at heart, and people were banking on being able to edit its files.

I do understand the "grudge" here, but after all no one is entitled to be able to edit their footage with a free software version :( you can still transcode your media if you don't want the Studio, though.
It could also well be because of licensing fees, no idea. My studio plays the GH5 data fine though! :)
Offline

Bryan Worsley

  • Posts: 513
  • Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 11:26 am
  • Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Resolve 14 beta 1 - still doesn't play 4K 10-bit from GH

PostWed Apr 26, 2017 1:38 am

Lucas Pfaff wrote:I do understand the "grudge" here, but after all no one is entitled to be able to edit their footage with a free software version ..


I think "grudge" is putting it a bit strongly. It does disappoint me though that BMD don't seem to care to explain why this is a "Studio Only" feature. And also that no trial download version of Studio is made available to decide whether it is worth upgrading. I'm still considering the Pana GH5 and primarily for the 10-bit 422 capability so naturally I'd like to test for myself how these files could be best managed in Resolve. Anyhow, no sense in bleating about it.


Lucas Pfaff wrote:..you can still transcode your media if you don't want the Studio, though.

Yes, there was an earlier (pre-14 beta) thread on the subject of support for these GH5 442 10-bit files which evolved into a discussion of the transcode options:

https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=55098

Lucas Pfaff wrote:It could also well be because of licensing fees, no idea

What licensing fees could possibly be involved ?
Offline

Lucas Pfaff

  • Posts: 291
  • Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:35 pm

Re: Resolve 14 beta 1 - still doesn't play 4K 10-bit from GH

PostFri Apr 28, 2017 9:58 pm

...that's why I put "grudge" into "" :)
I do get your drift, but still, no one is entitled to either a free version which does it all, nor a trial if it's sufficiant :( I'd see the free version as some sort of trial, even if it's not the same. I bet BMD kinda sees it this way.
I'd maybe just ask a local retailer if they are willing to let you test Resolve through a dongle, after all there's not much to lose :)

What licensing fees could possibly be involved ?

If the encoding is properly licensed, usually it is, there are fees.
It's not a big secret that the MPEG LA is not the nicest company regarding licensing and fees, so maybe the higher-end taste of the codec brings a different fee that they cover this way. Could be, maybe not.
Offline

Bryan Worsley

  • Posts: 513
  • Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 11:26 am
  • Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Resolve 14 beta 1 - still doesn't play 4K 10-bit from GH

PostSat Apr 29, 2017 12:59 am

Lucas Pfaff wrote: I'd see the free version as some sort of trial, even if it's not the same.

See, to me, that is a contradiction in terms. How can it be a trial version if it is not fully featured? That's precisely my point.

Lucas Pfaff wrote:
I'd maybe just ask a local retailer if they are willing to let you test Resolve through a dongle, after all there's not much to lose :)


None of the three BMD Authorized Resellers in my locale (Montreal) have it.

And if BMD are anyway intending to move from dongle registration to registration code with the official release of Resolve Studio 14...

https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=58542

..surely provision could be made for a trial download version with a time-expiry registration code, as many software providers do.

Lucas Pfaff wrote:
What licensing fees could possibly be involved ?

If the encoding is properly licensed, usually it is, there are fees.
It's not a big secret that the MPEG LA is not the nicest company regarding licensing and fees, so maybe the higher-end taste of the codec brings a different fee that they cover this way. Could be, maybe not.

Like you say "Could be, maybe not".

Anyhow, seems no point in laboring the issue - that's how it is - "You pays your money and you takes your chance". Also having tested the free version of 14 beta I wouldn't be interested in upgrading from 12.5.5 anyway at this point, so there's nothing to be gained.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aknittel, Brad Hurley, matis22, Mike Warren and 62 guests