Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

GregoryBennett

  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 6:33 pm
  • Location: Toronto, Canada

Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostWed Jun 07, 2017 5:52 pm

I'm still having issues trying to get Resolve 14 to run. Splash screen gets to a certain point and then nothing happens.

Uploaded log file here:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B3lLt ... jVsdEcteXc

System specs:

Windows 10 Pro
32 GB ram
Intel i7-5930K
GeForce GTX 1080 8GB with latest drivers
--
Gregory Bennett
Director of Photography
Toronto, Canada
http://www.gregorybennett.com/
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5394
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostWed Jun 07, 2017 7:06 pm

Try right clicking on the Resolve launch icon and selecting More - Run as Administrator

If that still hangs, please send another log.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Ed Rudolph

  • Posts: 139
  • Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 12:43 am

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostThu Jun 08, 2017 3:18 pm

Hi... I'm also unable to launch 14b3. In 12.5.5 I created a new user and new empty database and then uninstalled 12.5.5 and installed b3. The database is stored in /library/applicationsupport.BMD/DR/ResolveDiskDatabases which I have permission to write to.

b3 gets to the Ready portion of the splash screen and then beach ball.

OS 10.12.5
Offline

Grant MacDonald

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:48 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostThu Jun 08, 2017 3:52 pm

Hi Same for me

Its a beta version so trouble free is never guaranteed.

Brand new to Resolve (any version) though, installed 14.0b3.
About 98% of the time it crashes on launch, not getting beyond the splash screen. Windows 10 Event viewer shows a msvcr120.dll error.
Then I leave it alone and occasionaly it will start even without a reboot. Reboot also rarely results in a fix.
Have performed a sfc /scannow and everything is in place .dll wise.
Only other video editing software I have is Vegas pro 12 installed.

A bit lost, if anyone has a solution let me know.
6700k 36gb ram 1080ti.

Also no sound on imported clips, but think that may be a setting or tickbox on my side, still new to this software, asus stx soundcard.
Just need to get it running.

Davicni Resolve looks really good, keen to learn.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5394
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostFri Jun 09, 2017 6:07 pm

Logs, logs, logs...

@Grant: run CaptureLogs at:

C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve\CaptureLogs.bat

@Ed: run CaptureLogs at:

/Library/Application Support/Blackmagic Design/DaVinci Resolve
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Suchuāto Ritoru

  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 10:42 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostFri Jun 09, 2017 8:06 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Logs, logs, logs...

@Grant: run CaptureLogs at:

C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve\CaptureLogs.bat

@Ed: run CaptureLogs at:

/Library/Application Support/Blackmagic Design/DaVinci Resolve


Looks like a decent number of people are having this problem and have sent logs already. With no response but to send more logs.
Offline

GregoryBennett

  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 6:33 pm
  • Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostFri Jun 09, 2017 10:50 pm

I ran it as administrator. Here is that log:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3lLtG ... sp=sharing
--
Gregory Bennett
Director of Photography
Toronto, Canada
http://www.gregorybennett.com/
Offline

GregoryBennett

  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 6:33 pm
  • Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostFri Jun 09, 2017 10:52 pm

Looks like a decent number of people are having this problem and have sent logs already. With no response but to send more logs.[/quote]

"It's log, it's log, it's fun, it's made out of wood.
it's log, it's log, it's better than bad, it's good!"
- Ren and Stimpy
--
Gregory Bennett
Director of Photography
Toronto, Canada
http://www.gregorybennett.com/
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5394
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostSat Jun 10, 2017 12:36 am

@Gregory,

Go to Windows Control Panel - Programs and Features. Uninstall Resolve.

Assuming that works, rename the C:\ProgramData\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve folder to C:\ProgramData\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve.orig

Reinstall Resolve. What happens now? If still no go, please send another log.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Ed Rudolph

  • Posts: 139
  • Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 12:43 am

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostSat Jun 10, 2017 6:07 am

My problem launching is somehow related to databases. At the suggestion of Patrick Inhofer, I went back to 12.5.5 and created a new database on the desktop (Mac, OS 10.12.5) and with this database selected uninstalled 12.5.5 and installed 14b3. The application then launched. However, if I open the database manager in 14's project window and select one of the old databases, the application hangs. Logs have been sent to support.

That said, if I [i]don't[i] mess with the old databases, I can run the beta and it is impressive indeed. Great improvement in performance plus the many new features.
Offline

GregoryBennett

  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 6:33 pm
  • Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostSat Jun 10, 2017 10:00 pm

I was able to start up the program after changing the directory as you suggested above. I got an error message saying that the GPU memory was full.

link to log here:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3lLtG ... sp=sharing
--
Gregory Bennett
Director of Photography
Toronto, Canada
http://www.gregorybennett.com/
Offline

Suchuāto Ritoru

  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 10:42 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostSun Jun 11, 2017 9:22 pm

and after doing all those things 14 B3 still won't even launch. The only change was that I don't even get the splash screen anymore.

12.5 still works once reinstalled.
LOGS again.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2SOJ ... Hl1RkxxWDQ
Offline

Grant MacDonald

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:48 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostMon Jun 12, 2017 3:11 pm

Hi Dwaine

Logs below
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bz-fZm ... sp=sharing
Win 10 Pro 64bit
Nvidia 1080ti (driver 382.05)
36gb ram

I have uninstalled and reinstalled a few times, rarely the program starts but by far the most times not.
Splash screen comes up and gets to 'looking for control surfaces' then crashes.
Windows event viewer reports the .dll error as per my previous post.
I have not tried the previous version of the software.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5394
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostMon Jun 12, 2017 11:51 pm

@Gregory: What NVIDIA driver are you using?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5394
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostTue Jun 13, 2017 12:00 am

@Grant: What changed between 6-9-2017 and 6-12-2017?

Did you perhaps change the NVIDIA driver? On 6-12, the system never gets past initializing the 1080 card, but prior, it was doing that with no issue.

And in the 6-8 to 6-9 timeframe, it appears the app is getting fully launched. Did it get to the Project Manager screen then?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Grant MacDonald

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:48 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostTue Jun 13, 2017 6:46 am

Hello Dwaine

Thanks for having a look.
Nothing really has changed on the system from memory, other than me installing and uninstalling the Resolve software.
the 6/12 was yesterday and I did another complete unistall and reinstal of the software just prior to running the bat file.

I have managed to get into the project screen on occasion, and have actually pulled a short clip or 2 into the project and processed them just to see get a feel for the interface. Only 2 or 3 times though.

Drivers are the same, but I see there is a newer Nvidia driver out now, I will instal that this evening when I get home and see.
Offline

Grant MacDonald

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:48 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostTue Jun 13, 2017 9:37 am

I'm just thinking out load here but maybe this has something to do with the G-Force Experience software and not so much the driver itself?
Offline

Grant MacDonald

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:48 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostTue Jun 13, 2017 4:20 pm

Installed the new drivers 382.53 with an without the additional g-force experience stuff and much the same result with the 14b3 beta

I got into the software once, and this was after I disabled my internet connection? I think it was a fluke.
Tried to replicate that again a few times but nojoy. Multiple crashes at the same point at launch.

I just downloaded 12.5 and it starts up every-time no issue.

edit: for good measure, I uninstalled 12.5 and reinstalled 14 beta 3.
Still not working.
Removed/uninstalled 14b3 and reinstalled 12.5, and 12.5 starts no problem.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5394
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostTue Jun 13, 2017 11:25 pm

@Grant: Assuming you used the default Express Install mode for installing the 382.53 driver, please reinstall it again, and select Custom, Perform a clean installation. You can also uncheck the GeForce Experience if you don't want that.

We've had a few reports of having to do a clean install to fix weird issues.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Grant MacDonald

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:48 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostWed Jun 14, 2017 7:41 am

Hi Dwaine

When I installed the driver I specifically went into custom instal in order to select only the graphics driver itself. Old drivers were uninstalled and removed completely first.
When that did not work i uninstalled the driver then selected custom instal again to get to the clean installation option.

I will keep on tinkering
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2615
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostWed Jun 14, 2017 8:06 am

hi,

for driver NVIDIA/AMD on PC : try DDU
http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/dis ... nload.html

And reinstall the drivers afterwards.
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Offline

Grant MacDonald

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:48 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostWed Jun 14, 2017 12:01 pm

Hello Jean Claude

Thank you. I am familiar with and have used DDU for some time as and when needed, and used it to remove the previous version of the drivers and instal the latest derivative of Nvidia.
I normally update through the nvidia gforce experience software but if issues arise I revert to DDU to clear things out then the custom instal of Nvidia.

Something else at play/conflicting here with my system and 14b3. Don't think its the Nvidia drivers.
I will check all my mobo, bios and chipset drivers later this evening. Also shutdown any other non essential programs that may be running in the background.

The fact that I can (albeit very rarely) get into the 14 beta means there is a conflict somewhere and I just need to pin it down. Trial and error.

12.5 starts without a hitch, although I have not had much time to explore it yet.
I'll keep at it.
Offline

Louis Pattinson

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 11:28 am
  • Location: Manchester

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostWed Jun 14, 2017 12:44 pm

Yep same BS for me. No loading screen at all. I did select to install postgresq as an option on 2nd install and it had trouble completing that. Tryed the stand alone and wounldn't install that either.

I feel like I've had a similar problem on other machines with Resolve. I get no launch splash screen or proccess. I don't get it.

Win 10
Zeon 12 core
GtX 970
32GB
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2615
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostWed Jun 14, 2017 4:53 pm

Hi Grant,

Just to confirm: preference => video I / O: It is CUDA VS auto or OPENCL in parameter.
I say this because it seems to read from your log that there is a trace (InitFromOpenGLContext) OPENGL that I do not have while I also have NVIDIA.
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Offline

Grant MacDonald

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:48 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostThu Jun 15, 2017 6:57 pm

Jean Claude wrote:Hi Grant,

Just to confirm: preference => video I / O: It is CUDA VS auto or OPENCL in parameter.
I say this because it seems to read from your log that there is a trace (InitFromOpenGLContext) OPENGL that I do not have while I also have NVIDIA.

Hi Jean Claude

Thx for chimming in, but please pardon my ignorance if this is a silly question, are you referring to the nvidia control panel settings?
If so they are defaults. Havent spent any time in 14 to be able to fiddle there.
I have dual monitor setup, Asus PG279 as primary on display port and a LG IPS277 on hdmi.

The 1080ti card is a gigabyte auros card, which I put in a few months ago, I still have a 980ti Asus strix lying around, my old card.
Im happy to try and troubleshoot anything if it helps, and doesn't cloud the issue.
12.5 still runs fine.
Last edited by Grant MacDonald on Thu Jun 15, 2017 11:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

Grant MacDonald

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:48 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostThu Jun 15, 2017 7:37 pm

PROGRESS, Im in :D

Ok, i have gone through the unistall and reinstall process a number of times with no joy, with only 12.5 working but not 14b3.

2 things today.
I have Kaspersky AV and Malwarebytes on my machine. Both of these I had turned off in the past to try and get the machine 'run' 14b3 with no luck. (maybe 'not during instal', cant remember tried so many times :oops: )
Today,
1. malwarebytes updated the software (not normal updates, the software itself)
I got this warning during instal for the first time. (so shut it down, MWB)
http://imgur.com/I34JJgJ
2. I also installed 14b3 over 12.5 without uninstalling 12.5 (sorry i never used Resolve before, 14b3 was my first go so all other install attempts were clean without 12.5)

Needless to say my .dll error has disappeared and 14b3 starts everytime. :D (<<< thats me happy face)
Offline

Robert James

  • Posts: 220
  • Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:07 am

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostThu Jun 15, 2017 9:10 pm

Grant MacDonald wrote:PROGRESS, Im in :D

Ok, i have gone through the unistall and reinstall process a number of times with no joy, with only 12.5 working but not 14b3.

2 things today.
I have Kaspersky AV and Malwarebytes on my machine. Both of these I had turned off in the past to try and get the machine 'run' 14b3 with no luck. (maybe 'not during instal', cant remember tried so many times :oops: )
Today,
1. malwarebytes updated the software (not normal updates, the software itself)
I got this warning during instal for the first time. (so shut it down, MWB)
http://imgur.com/I34JJgJ
2. I also installed 14b3 over 12.5 without uninstalling 12.5 (sorry i never used Resolve before, 14b3 was my first go so all other install attempts were clean without 12.5)

Needless to say my .dll error has disappeared and 14b3 starts everytime. :D (<<< thats me happy face)


Just be very careful about doing anything of any importance in the beta. I've been testing the beta since release without any startup issues, and out of the blue I now have the same .dll error preventing launch.

Nothing changed on my system (specs below) and I have no way to get to the beta database now. (I didn't have anything important in version 14 anyway)

Just a friendly warning, be careful.
Resolve Studio 14.1
Windows 10 Fall Creator Update
ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO MB
AMD 1800x 4Ghz 32GB RAM
M.2 System Drive, M.2 Media Drive (All other drives SSDs)
ASUS ROG-STRIX-RX580-O8G VC
Offline

Grant MacDonald

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:48 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostThu Jun 15, 2017 10:29 pm

Hi Robert
Thank you for the courtesy warning.

I am brand new to Resolve, am a real amateur, no deadlines here just my own time.
Have been using Vegas Pro for a number of years in my personal capacity and was looking for more, or additional for my own little personal projects.

Then I stumbled upon Daria's tut work here
https://www.youtube.com/user/goatseyeviewUK/videos
Sorta got me hooked to give it all a whirl.

Anyway, been messing about this evening and all seems to be stable so far with the really little things I am doing.
Just pretty stoked I got 14 up and going is all, I will take that for now.
If it goes south on me I will holler.

ps, THX to all for trying to help especially the devs. I'm no big production company and I really do appreciate that.
Offline

GregoryBennett

  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 6:33 pm
  • Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostFri Jun 23, 2017 10:41 pm

I'm using Nvidia driver 382.33
--
Gregory Bennett
Director of Photography
Toronto, Canada
http://www.gregorybennett.com/
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5394
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostFri Jun 23, 2017 11:38 pm

@Gregory: Have you tried beta 4?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Martin Gjellestad

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 7:50 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostSat Apr 07, 2018 9:09 pm

Im having this issue on a fresh install of Windows 10.

No solution after almost a year since this thread, and Beta? Holy moly. Glad im not paying for this program :P
Offline

hanzcholo

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 9:35 pm
  • Real Name: Berto Garcia

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostMon Apr 16, 2018 2:00 am

Im having this exact same issue on Win 10 Resolve 15 beta.
Fell in love with it at work on my mac.
But have PC win 10 for workstation at the House.
Came close to purchasing glad i tried to test the beta demo 1st.
Nojoy
Really want to use this on my PC.
Why is there No Resolve for Davinci on PC?
Offline

hanzcholo

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 9:35 pm
  • Real Name: Berto Garcia

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostThu Apr 19, 2018 3:52 pm

*UPDATE*
I have Resolved my Issue.
The Issue was Having Multiple Monitors(x3 for me) hooked up to SEPARATE Graphics Cards.
I put all 3 Monitors on one Single Graphics Card & am Using this awesome App No Problems!!
Worth a shot if your having trouble launching the app no matter your OS.

If you are having trouble launching the app or it closing with "DaVinci Resolve has stopped working" error
with Multiple Monitors & More then one Graphics card try hooking up your monitors to one single GFX card.
& Launching again.Worked for me. :mrgreen: :D :geek:

This Fixed all Issues I was having With Launching Resolve 14.3, Beta 15 & Studio versions.
Attachments
20180417_082236.jpg
"DaVinci Resolve has stopped working"
20180417_082236.jpg (622.36 KiB) Viewed 14547 times
Offline

RandomIdiotNumber3

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:09 am
  • Real Name: Anita Lösch

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostFri Apr 27, 2018 9:30 am

Hi, another clueless one here.
My problem seems to be a little bit different though.
After installING both, the 14.X versions and the new 15.0b2 open the welcome.exe once. After that I will either get the attached error or nothing at all and whenever I start resolve, nothing happens. I tried everything recommended in this topic already, but nothing worked. I also tried countless versions of graphics drivers, even though judging by the logs the problem seems to be elsewhere. Multiple clean installs later I have no idea, how to proceed from here. Any ideas are welcome.

PC Specs:
- Win 10 Educational (same features as Pro)
- i7 7700K
- 1080Ti
- 16GB RAM

Logs: https://ufile.io/frgj8

Error:
Image
PC Specs: Win 10 Edu, i7-7700K, 1080Ti, 16GB RAM, Resolve 15.0b2 / Laptop Specs: Win 7 Professional/ Ubuntu, i7-3520M, NVIDIA NVS 5400M + HD Graphics 4000, 8GB RAM, Resolve 12.5
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5394
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostSat Apr 28, 2018 2:40 am

Assuming this is a first time install of Resolve on the system, and that you don't have any previous Resolve project data on the system, do the following:

In Windows Control Panel - Programs and Features - uninstall Resolve.

In Windows Explorer, delete the C:\ProgramData\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve folder.

The uninstall SHOULD have removed the C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve, but if it didn't, delete that as well.

Now reinstall Resolve 15 beta 2, and see what happens. If it still doesn't work, please provide another log file.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

RandomIdiotNumber3

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:09 am
  • Real Name: Anita Lösch

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostSat Apr 28, 2018 4:12 am

Hi Dwaine,
First of all: Thank you for taking the time to reply.
Sadly I already tried the solution you are proposing multiple times to no avail.
Nonetheless I tried it again in hopes of another outcome,
but the same thing keeps happening. The log file is also identical,
so I would just be sending you the same file again.
PC Specs: Win 10 Edu, i7-7700K, 1080Ti, 16GB RAM, Resolve 15.0b2 / Laptop Specs: Win 7 Professional/ Ubuntu, i7-3520M, NVIDIA NVS 5400M + HD Graphics 4000, 8GB RAM, Resolve 12.5
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5394
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostMon Apr 30, 2018 5:19 pm

Well then, go into Windows System Information, do a File - Save, which will generate a .NFO file, and provide a link to that. Maybe it will have some useful info.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Franck Bernard

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 12:47 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostSat May 12, 2018 10:00 am

Hello everyone,
I'm joining the group with Resolve not sarting up. The splash page goes to a certain point, different at each attempt, and then disappears, as well as the process in the task manager.
I tried uninstall/reinstall, removing the config files and reinstalling, then reinstalling the latest Nvidia drivers, but nothing works. Same with 14.2 by the way. Only 12.5 runs correctly.
Out of about 100 attempts, 2 went to the point where the project page opened, and I could open one project for a few seconds before it crashed again.

I have only 1 screen on the PC, and here is the config:
Intel Core i7 6700K
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3
HDD 3To SATA 6 Gb/s
SSD Samsung 850 PRO - 256 Go
RAM 32 Go LPX Series DDR4 Low Profile 4 x 8 Go 2133 MHz
Microsoft Windows 10 Professionnal 64 bits
MSI - GeForce GTX 970 Gaming Twin Frozr - 4 Go

Getting desperate now, hopefully someone (Dwayne?) will have an idea or other suggestions ?

Thanks in advance !
Franck
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5394
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostTue May 15, 2018 6:56 pm

We need logs and system info.

If Resolve won't launch, in Windows File Explorer, go to:

C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve

And run CaptureLogs.

Then open Windows System Information, select File - Save and make a .NFO file.

Then post those files on a file sharing site and put links to them here.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Franck Bernard

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 12:47 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostWed May 16, 2018 7:48 am

Hi Dwaine,

I just had a notification of windows, prompting for an important update, which I did, and after restarting and reinstalling, it works again (15 beta) !!

So... I think I'm good for now, looks like the windows update fixed something.

Thanks a lot for your support and have a great day !
Regards
Franck
Offline

RandomIdiotNumber3

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:09 am
  • Real Name: Anita Lösch

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostThu May 17, 2018 10:01 pm

Thank you again for your reply. I'm sorry, I didn't reply sooner, but I had a lot of work and didn't get around to it. I attached the file here. Hopefully there will be some useful information contained in that.

Info_Blackmagic.zip
(121.96 KiB) Downloaded 118 times
PC Specs: Win 10 Edu, i7-7700K, 1080Ti, 16GB RAM, Resolve 15.0b2 / Laptop Specs: Win 7 Professional/ Ubuntu, i7-3520M, NVIDIA NVS 5400M + HD Graphics 4000, 8GB RAM, Resolve 12.5
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5394
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostWed May 23, 2018 7:03 pm

@Anita: What seems to be causing the crash when you launch Resolve is a Windows .dll file called:

igdrclneo64.dll

Googling seems to show that file as being an Intel OpenCL driver, and it seems to be causing issues for lots of CUDA related apps.

Some people have reported that deleting that file has solved their issue. That's a bit drastic. I would suggest finding this file, and simply renaming it. Add a .tmp to the end. That way, if you find some other thing on your computer that needs that file, you can always put it back. But I suspect renaming this file will have no ill effects on anything.

My best guess is that you'll find the file somewhere in this folder:

C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository

Just do a Windows File Explorer Search for it in that location.

Please let us know if this helps.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

RandomIdiotNumber3

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:09 am
  • Real Name: Anita Lösch

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostSun May 27, 2018 5:30 pm

Hi Dwaine,

thank you very much. That solved it. I had to delete the file though, since windows doesn't grant you the rights to rename it, even with admin rights.
PC Specs: Win 10 Edu, i7-7700K, 1080Ti, 16GB RAM, Resolve 15.0b2 / Laptop Specs: Win 7 Professional/ Ubuntu, i7-3520M, NVIDIA NVS 5400M + HD Graphics 4000, 8GB RAM, Resolve 12.5
Offline

rydogdav

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 5:00 pm
  • Real Name: Ryan Davitt

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostTue Jan 01, 2019 7:23 am

That solved my issue! Same as RandomIdiotNumber3, where I had to outright delete it since I couldn't rename it. Thank you!
Rig: "Natasha"
CPU: i5-6600K (3.5GHz)
RAM: 16 GB
GPU: GTX 1050Ti
Offline

nikonader

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2019 6:24 pm
  • Real Name: Nader Nikoupour

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostSun Apr 07, 2019 6:29 pm

Hi,

I'm having issues trying to get Resolve to open. Perhaps my Video card needs to be updated to 4GB, could you please let me know what you think I should do? I have already reinstalled but still haven't gotten it to open. Here is my computer info: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1AGfdQ1 ... sp=sharing

Thank you!
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5394
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 14 b3 won't start up

PostThu Apr 18, 2019 1:06 am

In a File Explorer window, go to:

C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve

and run CaptureLogs

This will place a Resolve log file named similar to this on your Windows desktop: DaVinci-Resolve-logs-20181228_140434.zip (You may not see the .zip extension if your system is set to hide known extensions).


Then open Windows System Information and do a File - Save (Not a File Export), which will generate a .NFO file.

Place both those files on a file sharing site and provide links to the files here.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Michael_Andreas, tedkindig, waltervolpatto and 62 guests