anyone importing multi-channel wavs?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

George Lockwood

  • Posts: 92
  • Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 4:24 am

anyone importing multi-channel wavs?

PostFri Oct 27, 2017 12:08 am

how do i set the panning for them in surround? (resolve 14)

i'm in a 5.1 environment and am getting 5 channel wavs in lrclfelsrs layout. how do i set the track panner to get the respective channels to the correct speakers?

thanks,
G
Offline

Tom Early

  • Posts: 1465
  • Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:01 am

Re: anyone importing multi-channel wavs?

PostFri Oct 27, 2017 7:45 am

MBP2016, MacOS 10.14.6, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3,
Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB, Resolve Studio 16.2.3.015
Offline

George Lockwood

  • Posts: 92
  • Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 4:24 am

Re: anyone importing multi-channel wavs?

PostFri Oct 27, 2017 4:23 pm

thanks, tom.

i actually saw that posting but it's not exactly addressing my issue. it's about sending multi-channel OUT, whereas i need to get multi-channel IN. the poster there is getting six mono files and assigning each a position. i'm getting a single file with six channels. how do i set up panning in that case?

thanks again,
g
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2973
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: anyone importing multi-channel wavs?

PostFri Oct 27, 2017 4:53 pm

Hi George,

Panning one by one the 6 channels or panning the 6 channels at the same time?
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Win10-1809 | Resolve Studio V16.1 | Fusion Studio V16.1 | Decklink 4K Extreme 6G | RTX 2080Ti 431.86 NSD driver! |
Offline

George Lockwood

  • Posts: 92
  • Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 4:24 am

Re: anyone importing multi-channel wavs?

PostFri Oct 27, 2017 6:24 pm

thanks, jean claude.

i just want to get each of the six channels into a specific position.

the layout of the file is LRCLFELsRs so i want to get channel 1 (L) into the L front position, channel two into the R front position, channel three into the C front position, etc.

for now i'm not concerned with any active panning or automation. i just can't figure out how, with the track only having one panner, i can individually position six channels.

thanks again,
g
Offline

Glenn Venghaus

  • Posts: 1200
  • Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 9:56 pm
  • Location: Amsterdam , The Netherlands

Re: anyone importing multi-channel wavs?

PostFri Oct 27, 2017 9:52 pm

George,

You mention a single track with single panner. Sounds like you just have go to 6 mono tracks instead. And in media page right click the clip(s) and change the clip audio attributes from single 6 channel track to 6 mono tracks.
Then drop on timeline with 6 mono tracks and you can pan each track however you want it.
If you prefer a single track with 6 channel layout you can also in that same clip attributes change the channel assignement for each individual channel so it matches the position in the soundfield you prefer.
But as your desired mapping already matches the default , i do not see your problem. It already matches . no panning needed

So lots of options depending on how you prefer to work. resolve can do it all, its all in the manual as well btw.
Beatstep & APC-40 Resolve Edition Custom Controllers https://posttools.tachyon-consulting.com
Test rig : Dual Xeon | UNRAID VM OSX10.13/14 | 48 vcore | GTX980ti/Vega 56 | 128GB | DRS 16.x
V: SDI > HDlink > Eizo + Scopebox
A: 5.1RME-FireFace

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BensTechLab, jjblodg, oatbean, Wouter Bouwens and 94 guests