Running 14.0 and 14.1 on same computer

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Jonathan Duek

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 8:53 pm

Running 14.0 and 14.1 on same computer

PostThu Nov 16, 2017 12:25 pm

Hi!

I upgraded to the 14.1 version today, and after backing up the database from 14.0, a few of the projects were not included when I opened the database in 14.1. So my plan now is to go back to 14.0 and retrieve XMLs and DRPs of those projects and then go back to 14.1, but I don't want to uninstall 14.1 in case I run into more problems after that.

Is it possible to install two versions of Resolve on the same HDD? And if I install 14.0 on another HDD, will it still have the information needed to retrieve my projects? I'm not sure if this is even the right way to do this, so any input will be much appreciated!

Have a good day and thanks in advance!
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 3864
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: Running 14.0 and 14.1 on same computer

PostThu Nov 16, 2017 4:11 pm

Though never recommended, it used to be possible to run two versions on Windows, but no longer. Another disk installation is unlikely to work, you'd probably need a separate operating system.

The simplest course is uninstalling and then re-installing. If that's a dangerous operation, it's news to this user.
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2973
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Running 14.0 and 14.1 on same computer

PostThu Nov 16, 2017 5:43 pm

Impossible on the same partition because there is an update of the database between 14.0.1 and 14.1. Now possible from differents boot partition on the same computer.

Take care that caches and others are not necessarily compatible. In short, I would not even try ... :?
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Win10-1809 | Resolve Studio V16.1 | Fusion Studio V16.1 | Decklink 4K Extreme 6G | RTX 2080Ti 431.86 NSD driver! |
Offline

Jonathan Duek

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 8:53 pm

Re: Running 14.0 and 14.1 on same computer

PostMon Nov 20, 2017 2:44 pm

Thanks for your answers guys! I wasn't able to retrieve my projects, so I ended up having to re-edit a little bit :? At least now I won't forget to validate my databases before upgrading ;)

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Cary Knoop, gbritton, Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher and 111 guests