Can't Install Resolve 14.1.1005

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

John Newcomb

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:13 pm

Can't Install Resolve 14.1.1005

PostTue Nov 28, 2017 7:38 pm

Running Windows 10 ver 1703 (Not the Fall Creators Edition).
Prior version Resolve 12.5 no problems.
I uninstalled version 12.5 for clean install of 14.
Installed Resolve 14 initial version but have a problem activating Fairlight with no solution.
I found Resolve 14.1.1005 hoping to fix Fairlight and installed it over the initial version 14.
Still no fix for Fairlight.
I uninstalled Resolve entirely.
I re-installed the latest version of Resolve 14.1.1005 again but it said there was already a newer version installed.

Now I can't install Resolve at all. Any idea's? Thanks for your help.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6329
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Install Resolve 14.1.1005

PostWed Nov 29, 2017 12:26 am

in Windows Control Panel - Programs and Features, do you see a DaVinci Resolve entry?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

John Newcomb

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:13 pm

Re: Can't Install Resolve 14.1.1005

PostWed Nov 29, 2017 3:23 am

Yes, that is how I removed the version that worked but where the Fairlight did not work. So, I removed it and while I was waiting for a response to my dilemma, I was trying to re-install and I was able to only
re-install the Resolve panels. So to answer your question, prior to re-installing the panels, there were no Resolve entries as I had uninstalled them hoping for a clean install. But, now there is only the Resolve Panels entry. Sorry for blabbing on, I just want you to know what has transpired. I appreciate your help.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6329
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Install Resolve 14.1.1005

PostWed Nov 29, 2017 7:47 pm

OK, next question: Is there still a C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve folder present?

When the Resolve uninstall properly works, this folder should be removed.

Depending on whether that's still there or not will determine the next steps.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

John Newcomb

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:13 pm

Re: Can't Install Resolve 14.1.1005

PostWed Nov 29, 2017 8:36 pm

Well, again I have to babble a bit. I'm probably going to be your worst case to help because I have done many things prior to asking for help. These things I have done have however helped in past situations.

> There were folders still left over after the complete uninstall. However, I deleted them into the recycle bin.
> Then I tried to re-install unsuccessfully.
> Then I restored them from the recycle bin and tried to re-install again unsuccessfully.
> So currently, I have files in Program Files (x86), Program Data, and an empty 'Black Magic Design' folder in the Program files folder, and their are no folders in the Users/Owner/AppData folders.
> Further, I used used CCleaner to remove all registry entries for Black Magic Design which can be restored if need be as I made a backup of these entries. All of the above was done only after I received the notice that I could not install due to a newer version already installed.
> Note: I am not doing anything on my own at this point. I am awaiting your much appreciated assistance.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6329
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Install Resolve 14.1.1005

PostWed Nov 29, 2017 10:21 pm

@John: If you don't have a DaVinci Resolve entry in Programs and Features, then make sure there is not a C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve folder.

Then open regedit, and go to Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve and select (highlight) Version, then press Delete. Exit regedit.

Now the Resolve installer should install Resolve 14.1.1.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

John Newcomb

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:13 pm

Re: Can't Install Resolve 14.1.1005

PostSat Dec 02, 2017 7:32 pm

Thank you Dwaine. That worked perfectly. I'm up and running again. I appreciate your knowledge and expertise. Have a great day!
Offline

Yasir Salah

  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 12:02 am

Re: Can't Install Resolve 14.1.1005

PostThu Dec 14, 2017 9:56 pm

Hi Dwaine
I just read how you helped a PC user to clean install.
I’m a Mac user could you help me in those file names that I have to acces.
by the way i tried reinstalling my Resolve 12.5.6; it was successful.
But not 14.1.1
Although 14 was running fine since it’s official release.

Thanks
yasir Salah
Offline

Yasir Salah

  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 12:02 am

Re: Can't Install Resolve 14.1.1005

PostFri Dec 15, 2017 10:57 pm

Hi Dwaine
Here is a screen shot of my desktop, DR 14.2 has no menu, can't quit, I had to force quit, I hope a clean install
on my iMac will help launch DR 14.2

Much appreciated for your help

Yasir

16 GB ram
iMac el capitan
Late (2015)
Attachments
DR_14.2 no menu_794.jpg
DR_14.2 no menu_794.jpg (775.5 KiB) Viewed 4898 times
Offline

Yasir Salah

  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 12:02 am

Re: Can't Install Resolve 14.1.1005

PostSun Dec 17, 2017 1:04 am

I finely was able to load a fresh copy of DaVinci Resolve 14.2; after a clean instal.
On an iMac (late 2015) 16 GB ram, OS El Capitan. Now it’s running fine.
There fore a clean install was the answer, I followed Dwaine,s PC answer and look for those files on my Mac and deleted them.

Thank you all..

Yasir
Offline

GoodKentGaming

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 4:54 am
  • Real Name: Justin White

Re: Can't Install Resolve 14.1.1005

PostThu May 30, 2019 4:57 am

Hello,

I installed Resolve 16 and after restarting my computer once the process finished I could not find the start icons etc.

I then uninstalled the program thinking it must have been a faulty install. After doing so I got the notification of "a newer version is currently installed". I followed all of the above steps and deleted any data from my 'program files' folder.

When trying the REGEDIT tip I am unable to delete the VERSION file.

Can anyone please help me so I can install the 15 version of Resolve?
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6329
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Install Resolve 14.1.1005

PostThu May 30, 2019 6:16 pm

"When trying the REGEDIT tip I am unable to delete the VERSION file."

What does that specifically mean? Why are you unable to delete it? It's not there? Or it won't let you? Or what exactly?

And how did you uninstall Resolve?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

GoodKentGaming

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 4:54 am
  • Real Name: Justin White

Re: Can't Install Resolve 14.1.1005

PostMon Jun 03, 2019 5:41 am

Hi,

I uninstalled the program as you normally would via the Control Panel. After doing so I keep getting the error message when trying to install version 15.

In REGEDIT I go to Computer>HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE>software>blackmagicdesign>davinciresolve and this is where I try to delete the version as suggested above.

I get an error stating "unable to delete all specified values"

I am at a loss as I do not understand why I can't reinstall the program to fix the first faulty install.

Thanking you.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6329
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Install Resolve 14.1.1005

PostMon Jun 03, 2019 3:41 pm

What is the value you currently see in the Version area?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

GoodKentGaming

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 4:54 am
  • Real Name: Justin White

Re: Can't Install Resolve 14.1.1005

PostFri Jun 07, 2019 4:37 am

I currently see the below:

(default) REG_SZ (value not set)
Version REG_SZ 16.0.0028

Thanks
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6329
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Install Resolve 14.1.1005

PostFri Jun 07, 2019 4:06 pm

Right. That's why 15 won't install,
.

Just double click "Version" and that will open a window called Edit String.

In the Value Data area, just delete 16.0.0028 and click OK.

Then exit regedit.

Now Resolve 15 should install, assuming Resolve has been uninstalled and is not visible in Control Panel - Programs and Features.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

cadeg_rsh

  • Posts: 136
  • Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 5:46 pm
  • Real Name: Roman Shigaev

Re: Can't Install Resolve 14.1.1005

PostMon May 25, 2020 1:50 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Right. That's why 15 won't install,
.

Just double click "Version" and that will open a window called Edit String.

In the Value Data area, just delete 16.0.0028 and click OK.

Then exit regedit.

Now Resolve 15 should install, assuming Resolve has been uninstalled and is not visible in Control Panel - Programs and Features.


Sorry, can you help me?

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=114508

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aglyons, Allen24, Baidu [Spider], DrBoffa, Jim Simon, Nate Porter, peterbaumann and 102 guests