Mapping 7.1 Sound For Delivery

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

DaveWilliams

Mapping 7.1 Sound For Delivery

PostThu Dec 21, 2017 4:10 am

Hi. Newbie here. Coming from Vegas Pro.

This is my first time editing in Resolve. I thought this would be simple (and I have read the manual) but I cannot figure out how to output an MP4 file with 7.1 surround sound intact.

I have 11 tracks of audio. Only one track has panning from front to back. Several tracks are for the sub woofer; several for the center channel and most of the others are for all speakers. What settings do I need and where do I find the settings. I'm not sure what areas need to be altered to give me the 7.1 output sound.

I've exported 5.1 sound from Vegas and had no problems - of course Vegas does not offer the control that Resolve does, but Vegas is much easier to use - IMO.

Thanks for any help!

DaveWilliams

Re: Mapping 7.1 Sound For Delivery

PostThu Dec 21, 2017 6:00 pm

So no one here knows how to get 7.1 sound out? Is this a secret that only those who've worked with Resolve for years understand? I don't understand why this is not relatively straight forward or something covered in the manual. I've never dealt with surround sound before - only tested once in Vegas where I didn't even have to read the manual - and it worked the first time. Not so much here with Resolve.

Jim Simon

PostThu Dec 21, 2017 9:28 pm

I'd be interested in learning how this is done as well.
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

PostFri Dec 22, 2017 6:45 am

Please see this: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=66753&p=375539#p376738 for a well illustrated discussion.