Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Gabi Bucataru

  • Posts: 173
  • Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:39 am

Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostThu Dec 21, 2017 4:56 pm

Hi All!

Is it possible to control in which monitor to display the full screen viewing (Ctrl+F)? It always displays in the main monitor covering the adjustment wheels, etc. Would be nice to have that in the secondary monitor while doing fine tunings)

Thanks!
gabi
Resolve 16.0.0.060 Studio * WIN10 Pro 64-bit * intel core i7-7700K CPU 4.20Ghz * 32 Gb RAM * NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti *
Offline

Tero Ahlfors

  • Posts: 465
  • Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:02 pm

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostThu Dec 21, 2017 5:34 pm

Buy a BMD I/O device.
Offline
User avatar

Piotr Wozniacki

  • Posts: 1172
  • Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 12:17 pm
  • Location: Poland

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostThu Dec 21, 2017 7:00 pm

Yeah - this UI design is one of the most ingenious moves in the (hard)software industry...

Piotr
AMD TR 2990WX CPU | MSI X399 CARBON AC | 64GB RAM@XMP2933 | 2x RTX 2080Ti GPU | 4x 3TB WD Black RAID0 media drive | 3x 1TB NVMe RAID0 cache drive | SSD SATA system drive | AX1600i PSU | Decklink 12G Extreme | Samsung UHD reference monitor (calibrated)
Offline
User avatar

Gabi Bucataru

  • Posts: 173
  • Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:39 am

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostFri Dec 22, 2017 3:56 pm

So I take it that it isn't possible.

Thanks!
Resolve 16.0.0.060 Studio * WIN10 Pro 64-bit * intel core i7-7700K CPU 4.20Ghz * 32 Gb RAM * NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti *
Offline
User avatar

Micha Clazing

  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:26 pm

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostFri Dec 22, 2017 5:38 pm

It's unfortunate.
- Resolve's UI is 8-bit, even though it uses an OpenGL surface which supports 10-bit on select graphics cards
- There are no HDMI 2.0 to DisplayPort 1.2 or SDI-6/12G to DisplayPort 1.2 adapters so Intensity Pro 4K/8K output is limited to 24fps (no HFR) for people who have previously invested in a HDMI 1.4 / DisplayPort 1.2 reference monitor

Both of these problems are in my opinion purely stubbornness on BMD's part. Enable GPU output and 10-bit GUI and everyone will be happy. Is cannibalising your own sales of Decklink/Intensity/Mini Monitor cards really that important to your bottom line that you would leave a large portion of your user base frustrated?
Offline

Dan Sherman

  • Posts: 919
  • Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 11:07 pm

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostFri Dec 22, 2017 6:00 pm

Micha Clazing wrote:- There are no HDMI 2.0 to DisplayPort 1.2 or SDI-6/12G to DisplayPort 1.2 adapters so Intensity Pro 4K/8K output is limited to 24fps (no HFR) for people who have previously invested in a HDMI 1.4 / DisplayPort 1.2 reference monitor


This is the real issue in my opinion. I wouldn't mind paying $200 for the DeckLink Mini Monitor 4K, but limiting my connection options leaves a sower taste.
X99-A II, 6850K 4.2 GHz, GTX 1070 FE (431.36), DDR4-2400 CL12-14-14 4x8 GB
Win 10 Pro 1809, Resolve Studio 16.1.0b.017
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 4981
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostSat Dec 23, 2017 1:33 am

It's their business model.

They could have charged like others do for professional color grading software and forget about selling their own hardware. I switched our whole lab to Resolve because it works well for us with their relatively cheap I/O units.

There are always options from other manufacturers, but you can't reasonably expect one company to follow both (contradictive) business models.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 1311
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostSat Dec 23, 2017 8:00 am

Micha Clazing wrote:Enable GPU output and 10-bit GUI and everyone will be happy.

You are missing the point. Dedicated output card bypasses all other color management.
Threadripper 1950X 3.7GHz
64GB DDR4-2666
2x GTX 1080 Ti
DeckLink 4K Extreme 12G
Resolve Studio 16.1b3
Windows 10 Pro 1803
Offline

Al Spaeth

  • Posts: 327
  • Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 9:48 pm
  • Location: South Africa

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostSat Dec 23, 2017 8:41 am

Jack Fairley wrote:
Micha Clazing wrote:Enable GPU output and 10-bit GUI and everyone will be happy.

You are missing the point. Dedicated output card bypasses all other color management.

Seems a pity to spend $800 on a GPU card and not use it for a playback monitor.
Resolve 15.3 free Win 10 64bit
Offline
User avatar

Micha Clazing

  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:26 pm

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostSat Dec 23, 2017 5:01 pm

Jack Fairley wrote:You are missing the point. Dedicated output card bypasses all other color management.

There is no colour management on Windows to speak of; only the GPU 1DLUT (vcgt) which can be disabled with a simple system call. On macOS, OpenGL surfaces aren't colour managed by default, you have to do the legwork yourself (like on Windows) - this is the opposite to how it is for non-GL apps on macOS.

In other words there is no reason other than $$$ not to support full screen GPU output. Or even better: allow docking/undocking/moving/resizing GUI panels, allowing me to move the viewer to the secondary monitor above the scopes where there's currently a gigantic amount of wasted space, and letting me use Ctrl+F to toggle between a docked and full screen viewer on my secondary monitor, retaining full grading controls on the primary.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 5713
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostSat Dec 23, 2017 5:38 pm

Yep, it can be "easily" done- just a matter of wanting to do it.
As far as I understand with OpenGL you can do whatever you want- take whole control over pipe and forget about any OS color managment.
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 2876
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostSat Dec 23, 2017 6:37 pm

As far as I know, no professional color grading application allows full-screen monitoring through a standard gpu, because it can't guarantee the accuracy of every conceivable output device and OS. So it certifies one or two video-specific cards.

The BMD cards are cheap and reliable, but the complaints never end....
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 5713
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostSat Dec 23, 2017 6:46 pm

Scratch does it and it's GUI preview is also 10bit. It's done over OpenGL.
Flame GUI preview is also now 10bit- not sure if color accurate.

It's not impossible this is the point.

Cheap yes, reliable- well, I would argue :D
I would be actually happy to pay bit more for improved reliability (specially from drivers/SDK side).

SDI cards are now nothing special like they use to be old days. Todays consumer technology quite often surpasses pro one and SDI cards can be "replaced" if needed. Modern GPU have all needed technology there and DP or HDMI is all what you need for most small studios.

I understand BM approach, but this is BM specific case, not a general one.
Last edited by Andrew Kolakowski on Sat Dec 23, 2017 7:29 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Offline
User avatar

Micha Clazing

  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:26 pm

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostSat Dec 23, 2017 6:58 pm

Just give me the option, throw in a disclaimer if you must. I know what I'm doing, and I can cross reference with a colorimeter/spectrophotometer if necessary.
Offline

Dan Sherman

  • Posts: 919
  • Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 11:07 pm

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostSat Dec 23, 2017 9:16 pm

John Paines wrote:As far as I know, no professional color grading application allows full-screen monitoring through a standard gpu, because it can't guarantee the accuracy of every conceivable output device and OS. So it certifies one or two video-specific cards.

The BMD cards are cheap and reliable, but the complaints never end....


At times full screen can be very helpful when doing an initial cut, and to be frank I don't care about the color accuracy at that point. I just want to clearly see what I'm working on.
X99-A II, 6850K 4.2 GHz, GTX 1070 FE (431.36), DDR4-2400 CL12-14-14 4x8 GB
Win 10 Pro 1809, Resolve Studio 16.1.0b.017
Offline
User avatar

Micha Clazing

  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:26 pm

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostSat Dec 23, 2017 9:34 pm

Dan Sherman wrote:At times full screen can be very helpful when doing an initial cut, and to be frank I don't care about the color accuracy at that point. I just want to clearly see what I'm working on.

Get a large 4K monitor, you'll be able to size the viewer to 1:1 pixel 1080p, haha. Of course that's still no good for 4K projects.
Offline

3otared

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:02 pm
  • Real Name: Tarek Hefny

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostMon Dec 17, 2018 4:08 pm

I work with iMac + Eizomonitor.
What worked for me was to switch the Eizo monitor in system perefrences to be the main monitor and the iMac's to be the secondary. Go the system_perefrences/displays/arrangement then drag the white strip on top of the main monitor to the other.
Now in Resolve you'll have to switch the monitor setup to get back to you original layout. workspace/primary display.
Offline

karmacomposer

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 7:38 pm
  • Real Name: Mike Felker

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostMon Dec 17, 2018 10:51 pm

I was looking for this very feature.

I come from both Vegas Pro and Hitfilm Pro and both can do it.

Hitfilm has professional color grading and some video editing capability. It has compositing, looks, color grading, particles, etc so it does equal DaVinci in some ways.

This is a bummer because I was so hoping to use DaVinci with my GH5 footage, but I may have to go back to Hitfilm. Not having a external monitor support to watch the production off the timeline is a dealbreaker for me.

Mike
Offline
User avatar

Gary Hango

  • Posts: 320
  • Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:35 pm
  • Location: Left Coast
  • Real Name: Gary Hango

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostTue Dec 18, 2018 12:19 am

karmacomposer wrote:Not having a external monitor support to watch the production off the timeline is a dealbreaker for me.

Ctrl + F will open a full screen viewer over the GUI on your main monitor, so you do have the option to watch the timeline full screen. You just can’t perform operations while it’s open.
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
Version 10.0.16299 Build 16299
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700, 3.40GHz, 32.0 GB
MB: MSI, BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. A.60, 12/17/2015
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960, 2Gb
The latest Resolve (Standard)
Offline

karmacomposer

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 7:38 pm
  • Real Name: Mike Felker

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostTue Dec 18, 2018 3:26 am

Gary Hango wrote:
karmacomposer wrote:Not having a external monitor support to watch the production off the timeline is a dealbreaker for me.

Ctrl + F will open a full screen viewer over the GUI on your main monitor, so you do have the option to watch the timeline full screen. You just can’t perform operations while it’s open.


That makes it a bit useless. The whole point is to see a much larger preview of what you are editing while you are editing it.

Mike
Offline

etang77

  • Posts: 102
  • Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 8:51 am
  • Real Name: Eric Tang

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostTue Dec 18, 2018 4:07 am

What I find slightly ridiculous, is you can buy a eGPU from BM but still it can't do full screen in a secondary monitor...
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 4981
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostTue Dec 18, 2018 4:09 am

You can't even do proper video I/O with their eGPU.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

Al Spaeth

  • Posts: 327
  • Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 9:48 pm
  • Location: South Africa

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostTue Dec 18, 2018 7:46 am

karmacomposer +1
Resolve 15.3 free Win 10 64bit
Offline

Rowan Holmes-Smith

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 12:17 pm

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostMon Jan 07, 2019 3:08 am

This really really REALLY needs to be added. I use a MacBook Pro i9 as my main editing computer these days as I'm in and out of the office and in the field. Having two workstations isn't worth it to me, I like having one computer to do it all. When my Mac is setup in the studio its connected to an eGPU running a Vega56. I NEED external Full screen monitoring in 4k. I've got a thunderbolt mini monitor but its only 1080p and every single time I open resolve I have to fiddle with display inputs, and the desktop video app to get the video output working. I can't use one of the decklink cards as I don't have a PCI-E slot to put it into!

Please Blackmagic, we've all Paid our studio License (twice in my case) and moved over to resolve full time, it's amazing, its the one stop shop to rule them all. Just please let us monitor full screen video on a second monitor when editing. Please!
My system:
2018 MacBook Pro
2.9GHz 6-core eighth‑generation Intel Core i9
32GB of 2400MHz DDR4 memory
1TB of SSD storage
Radeon Pro Vega 20 with 4GB of HBM2 memory
eGPU connected and running a Powercolor Vega56 Nano
Media Hosted on Drobo 5C
Offline

Al Spaeth

  • Posts: 327
  • Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 9:48 pm
  • Location: South Africa

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostMon Jan 07, 2019 6:17 am

Rowan +1
Resolve 15.3 free Win 10 64bit
Offline

alekseiprav

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:02 pm
  • Real Name: Alex

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostMon Feb 04, 2019 1:06 pm

Rowan +1
Offline

Gdiddy

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2018 5:35 pm
  • Real Name: Gareth Stack

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostWed Feb 13, 2019 2:05 pm

Just want to chime in that this is an essential missing feature, it's probably the one major thing that's keeping independent video editors doing corporate, wedding, advertising from switching from Premiere. It's hard to estimate in concrete terms but whatever BM are making from their output cards is very unlikely to be worth the ecosystem benefits (camera sales included) of getting more people on resolve.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6762
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Full screen in Secondary Monitor?

PostThu Feb 14, 2019 1:17 am

Guys, i have seen your requests. BMD offer a video card that provides the only process to monitor on a full screen. There are multiple options available, for laptops and desktops. They are not expensive and they are the solution we are offering. Resolve is engineered to use this monitoring method. I understand you would like to simply connect any other monitor to your computer however that's not how we have designed the system to work.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: andrew_dotdot, davidcatt, evanschneider, GGARDAM, Jim Simon, Luckless_Pedestrian, Machhin, Mario Kalogjera, mdegans, Michael_Andreas, Seth Goldin, Shrinivas Ramani, Username and 94 guests