Which Resolve version with OSX El Capitan 10.11.3 ?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

stof77

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:27 am
  • Location: France
  • Real Name: Christophe Dolivet

Which Resolve version with OSX El Capitan 10.11.3 ?

PostMon Apr 09, 2018 10:43 am

Hi there,

I would like to test DaVinci Resolve but v14.3 won't install at all on my system and warn this :

This installer requires Mac OS X 10.11.6 or later to run


so which "newest" version can I try with OSX 10.11.3, I can't update it for now for various reasons.
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 1474
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Which Resolve version with OSX El Capitan 10.11.3 ?

PostMon Apr 09, 2018 3:23 pm

Hey,
Different ways here... Either you install 12.5, or you... upgrade to 10.11.6, because your reason cannot be a good one :oops: :)
Or you're skilled enough to open the installer with a tool like Pacifist, and do what's needed to modify the right line in the .plist file which forces the minimum requirement (advanced users only).
No problem so far with an up to date (.6) ElCap...
Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 1SSD for system, 2 SSDs raid0 for footage and caches, OSX ElCap and High Sierra, Resolve 15.3 Studio
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 7203
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Which Resolve version with OSX El Capitan 10.11.3 ?

PostMon Apr 09, 2018 6:42 pm

Even 15 runs under Sierra. What's wrong with that?
Resolve Studio 16.2.2 and Fusion Studio under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Mac mini 16 GB RAM plus eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 1474
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Which Resolve version with OSX El Capitan 10.11.3 ?

PostTue Apr 10, 2018 7:43 am

Who said anything was wrong ?
Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 1SSD for system, 2 SSDs raid0 for footage and caches, OSX ElCap and High Sierra, Resolve 15.3 Studio
Offline

stof77

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:27 am
  • Location: France
  • Real Name: Christophe Dolivet

Re: Which Resolve version with OSX El Capitan 10.11.3 ?

PostTue Apr 10, 2018 2:05 pm

Sam Steti wrote:Hey,
Different ways here... Either you install 12.5, or you... upgrade to 10.11.6, because your reason cannot be a good one :oops: :)
Or you're skilled enough to open the installer with a tool like Pacifist, and do what's needed to modify the right line in the .plist file which forces the minimum requirement (advanced users only).
No problem so far with an up to date (.6) ElCap...


You know what I just upgraded to 10.11.6, everything seems ok so far.

But just before launching the installer for v14.3, I decided to check if this was the lastest version, and I see there is just a v15 (beta) available...jeezzzz aaaarrrggghhhh !!! nevermind I think I will stick to v14.3 for now,

anyway it's just for testing purposes...and I want something simple (and free) for simple video editing tasks,

btw do you know any french forums for DaVinciResolve, it would be great too :roll: ;)
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 1474
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Which Resolve version with OSX El Capitan 10.11.3 ?

PostTue Apr 10, 2018 4:23 pm

Beta 15 just popped up yesterday, and it's not aiming you anyway so far; keep 14.3 and learn and test...
I only know the Repaire part dedicated to Resolve or grading, and yakyakyak.fr ...
Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 1SSD for system, 2 SSDs raid0 for footage and caches, OSX ElCap and High Sierra, Resolve 15.3 Studio
Offline

stof77

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:27 am
  • Location: France
  • Real Name: Christophe Dolivet

Re: Which Resolve version with OSX El Capitan 10.11.3 ?

PostWed Apr 11, 2018 7:49 pm

Sam Steti wrote:Beta 15 just popped up yesterday, and it's not aiming you anyway so far; keep 14.3 and learn and test...
I only know the Repaire part dedicated to Resolve or grading, and yakyakyak.fr ...


ok thanks for your feedback and infos.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot] and 66 guests