Licence Key, deactivation via web?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Sandro Circi

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 10:23 am
  • Location: Rome, Italy

Licence Key, deactivation via web?

PostSat Apr 14, 2018 2:21 pm

So, finally I'm planning to buy the Studio version, and now I'm looking to everything that could happen. So I read that you have to access internet just once to activate, and to deactivate you have to open the help menu and click it, but what about if the system is not even able to boot up? Don't ask, just know that for others works I do it can, and did, happen. Is there a way to "recover" that license that has been activated? I read that you can have two pc active at the same time (great so I can use both my workstation and laptop without the effort of deactivating and activating every single time).

Is there somewhere on the website that I can login and diactivate all the current active licences? Like the Adobe one?
Sandros94
Davinci Resolve non-Studio
Main Cameras (in order): GH5, Oly EM5 mkII, Nikon D750
Main Rig: Win10 Pro, Ryzen 7 2700, 16GB, GTX1050Ti
Second Rig: Win10 Pro, i7 4770k, 16GB, GTX1050Ti
Outdoor Rig: HP Pavilion (14-ce0029nl), i5 8250U, 8GB, UHD620
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7018
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Licence Key, deactivation via web?

PostSat Apr 14, 2018 6:12 pm

Activate the license on the new system and it will automatically de-activate it on the old once you reach the two system limit.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline
User avatar

Sandro Circi

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 10:23 am
  • Location: Rome, Italy

Re: Licence Key, deactivation via web?

PostSat Apr 14, 2018 10:59 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:Activate the license on the new system and it will automatically de-activate it on the old once you reach the two system limit.


Thank you very much, finally I can get my Studio version!! :D :D :D
Sandros94
Davinci Resolve non-Studio
Main Cameras (in order): GH5, Oly EM5 mkII, Nikon D750
Main Rig: Win10 Pro, Ryzen 7 2700, 16GB, GTX1050Ti
Second Rig: Win10 Pro, i7 4770k, 16GB, GTX1050Ti
Outdoor Rig: HP Pavilion (14-ce0029nl), i5 8250U, 8GB, UHD620
Offline

dzmitry

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 10:50 pm
  • Real Name: Dzmitry Hrychanichenka

Re: Licence Key, deactivation via web?

PostThu Nov 29, 2018 10:41 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:Activate the license on the new system and it will automatically de-activate it on the old once you reach the two system limit.

Doesn't work for me.

I've activated DaVinci Resolve Studio 15 for Linux on the desktop and recently on the laptop.
Then I had to reinstall OS on the laptop and was unable to deactivate Studio prior to that.
I installed DaVinci Resolve Studio on the same laptop again.
Now when I'm trying to activate it with my Activation Key I get "There was an error when attempting to perform the activation. Please contact Blackmagic Design support for assistance".

I tried to deactivate Studio on my desktop. After that I've managed to activate it on the laptop successfully. But now same error appears if trying to activate on the desktop. One activation apparently locked and doesn't deactivate automatically.

Is there anything I can do to deactivate all installations associated with my Key and start over again?
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7018
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Licence Key, deactivation via web?

PostFri Nov 30, 2018 12:12 am

Can u contact your local BMD office. Phone numbers on the web site.
Based on your description it should deactivate.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

vivoices

  • Posts: 226
  • Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 9:15 am
  • Real Name: Udo Jansen

Re: Licence Key, deactivation via web?

PostThu Mar 28, 2019 11:21 am

I had a system failure and need a motherboard replacement, so no way to de-activate the license first.

Is it correct that the number of activations does not matter, only the two newest will be valid?
Udo Jansen

Win 10 Pro 1909, Resolve Studio 16.1.2, Dual 6 core Xeon @ 3.5GHz (24 threads), 96 GB ECC RAM, Nvidia Quadro P4000 (8GB VRAM) 441.66 NSD, 10TB SSDs, Intensity Pro 4K | Nuendo, Wavelab, RX
Offline

Greg_E

  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 2:07 pm
  • Location: Central NY
  • Real Name: Greg Endler

Re: Licence Key, deactivation via web?

PostThu Mar 28, 2019 2:08 pm

And this is why I told my Avid rep that I'm keeping my USB dongles until the pry them from my cold, dead hands. Of course Avid ma find a way of messing with me in the near future.

If I was buying Resolve (again) right now, I'd buy the dongle version (again). I understand that software companies want ultimate control over their product, but sometimes the software activation really hurts.
Offline

vivoices

  • Posts: 226
  • Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 9:15 am
  • Real Name: Udo Jansen

Re: Licence Key, deactivation via web?

PostThu Mar 28, 2019 3:07 pm

I agree Greg,
but I still have no answer to the question if only the two newest activations will be valid.
Udo Jansen

Win 10 Pro 1909, Resolve Studio 16.1.2, Dual 6 core Xeon @ 3.5GHz (24 threads), 96 GB ECC RAM, Nvidia Quadro P4000 (8GB VRAM) 441.66 NSD, 10TB SSDs, Intensity Pro 4K | Nuendo, Wavelab, RX
Offline

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 984
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: Licence Key, deactivation via web?

PostThu Mar 28, 2019 3:48 pm

That's correct, confirmed by BMD in the second post in this thread.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: genesispc and 56 guests