Cutting silence during an interview

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

marcingebus

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 7:31 am
  • Real Name: Marcin Gębuś

Cutting silence during an interview

PostMon Jul 09, 2018 7:57 am

I am looking for a solution to cut breaks, silence, pauses during an interview, monologue, vblog. This is often heard in radio programs. Is there any plugin for DavinciResolve?
Offline

Trevor Asquerthian

  • Posts: 306
  • Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 10:03 am

Re: Cutting silence during an interview

PostMon Jul 09, 2018 10:23 am

'Strip Silence' in ProTools

http://techcommtools.com/strip-silence-audition/ - possibly in Audition

Not sure fairlight has anything similar?
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 1472
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Cutting silence during an interview

PostMon Jul 09, 2018 11:52 am

Trevor Asquerthian wrote:Not sure fairlight has anything similar?
The standalone Fairlight system provided a "Gate Clips" function which would be the equivalent of the "strip silence" function within ProTools.

Not implemented within Resolve yet unfortunately.
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 6565
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Cutting silence during an interview

PostMon Jul 09, 2018 12:47 pm

There is a Waves plug-in called De-Breath that will take breaths from interview subjects out, but I'm not a fan of it. Me personally, I do this kind of work manually.

But in Pro Tools, the ability to remove all non-dialogue information from a track and just cut out the silence is very handy. And then in just a couple of quick steps, you can make all the dialogue quickly fade-in and fade-out, so that the transitions are very smooth and imperceptible. I dunno if this is in Fairlight yet.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

TIMWHITE

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2018 7:03 pm
  • Real Name: Tim White

Re: Cutting silence during an interview

PostThu Mar 28, 2019 6:51 pm

I love this feature and pro tools and would love it in resolve.

Id also love this to work across video as well, so you could do "youtube style" jump cut edits over an hour of footage, in a manner of seconds.
Offline
User avatar

FelikZ

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 2:02 pm
  • Real Name: Alexey Shevchenko

Re: Cutting silence during an interview

PostFri Jan 03, 2020 8:52 am

Is this still missing in 2020?
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 6157
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Cutting silence during an interview

PostFri Jan 03, 2020 4:07 pm

marcingebus wrote:I am looking for a solution to cut breaks, silence, pauses during an interview, monologue, vblog.


That's called editing. It's done manually.
Offline

wd60xxx

  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 10:46 pm
  • Real Name: David Southam

Re: Cutting silence during an interview

PostSat Jan 04, 2020 2:28 am

Well said Jim...my thoughts exactly...'tis always the way I've done it.
Offline

solarflare

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2020 8:16 pm
  • Real Name: Chris Horton

Re: Cutting silence during an interview

PostFri Jan 24, 2020 1:09 am

I would love to see this feature in 2020 as well. While you can do it manually – there is no artistry in something so technical as removing silence when audio track X falls below X db.

And if it cuts too much – THEN manually go back and fix anything that needs adjusting. But this would save HOURS of time!
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 6565
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Cutting silence during an interview

PostFri Jan 24, 2020 5:09 am

One very clever feature in Pro Tools is you can use Strip Silence, which removes very quiet sections inbetween dialogue, and THEN highlight all the clips on a track and add small fades to the beginning and end of each one. This is commonly done for dialogue editing when you don't want each line to abruptly cut in and cut out.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

solarflare

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2020 8:16 pm
  • Real Name: Chris Horton

Re: Cutting silence during an interview

PostSun Jan 26, 2020 7:17 pm

Precisely, Marc. Imagine strip silencing in davinci with linked video and ripple editing them together for a super tight cut within a minute. That’s the dream!!
Offline

TIMWHITE

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2018 7:03 pm
  • Real Name: Tim White

Re: Cutting silence during an interview

PostMon Jan 27, 2020 7:13 pm

Yes please
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 6565
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Cutting silence during an interview

PostTue Jan 28, 2020 2:52 am

solarflare wrote:Precisely, Marc. Imagine strip silencing in davinci with linked video and ripple editing them together for a super tight cut within a minute. That’s the dream!!

Yes, I have to confess when I was cutting dialogue some years ago, this made things very simple and easy. That is huge for the sound-editing crowd.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

Doug_Wulff

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 10:55 pm
  • Real Name: Doug Wulff

Re: Cutting silence during an interview

PostMon Feb 24, 2020 11:15 pm

Yes, you can remove silence / pauses from video and podcasts. Here is video of how you can import an EDL file made in TimeBolt into Resolve. The software is blistering fast and accurate across frame rates. Handles multiple audio tracks in an MP4. I'd post a video of it working in Resolve but I can't post a URL. I'll post the link in FAQ's on TimeBolt.

Full disclosure I own the software, but works as advertised.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ikond65, ledzeppster, PauloVideo, xunile and 129 guests