Best Color Space and Gamma Settings for Ursa Mini Pro

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Matt Thela

Best Color Space and Gamma Settings for Ursa Mini Pro

PostSat Jul 28, 2018 5:52 am

Hi Everybody, I'm new to Resolve and, as im finding, still green to a lot of editing basics.

I have some footage I shot on the Ursa Mini Pro. It was shot Raw but will be using the Blackmagic Design and 4.6K Film color space and gamma options in the Camera Raw Settings under color.

My question is what should I set my other color space options on the Color Management Tab under Project Settings?

Currently here are my settings:

Color Science: DaVinci YRGB Color Managed

Input Color Space: Bypass Gamma: (Greyed Out) Blackmagic 4.6K Film

Timeline Color Space: Blackmagic Design 4.6L Film V3 Gamma: Blackmagic 4.6K Film

Output Color Space: Blackmagic Design 4.6L Film V3 Gamma: Blackmagic 4.6K Film

rick.lang

Re: Best Color Space and Gamma Settings for Ursa Mini Pro

PostSat Jul 28, 2018 1:53 pm

Matt, I would think you want to change the Output to the Colour of your deliverables such as Rec,709.

Strongly recommend you switch from YRGB to ACEScct. Then you define your IDT to BMDFilm and your ODT to Rec.709 or whatever is most applicable.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rick Lang

Cary Knoop

PostSat Jul 28, 2018 3:30 pm

Matt Thela wrote:My question is what should I set my other color space options on the Color Management Tab under Project Settings?

The input color space is not used for raw clips. Resolve will automatically convert the raw settings to your timeline color space.

For the timeline color space, it is to your liking, some people prefer to grade in log format, others prefer linear or prefer ACES. One is not better than the other.