h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

BMNewb

  • Posts: 47
  • Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 8:33 am
  • Real Name: Scott Bernard

h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostMon Aug 20, 2018 1:52 am

I have had a rough time with Resolve on Windows and stopped. I then decided to give it a go on Linux, specifically, the supported distro, CentOS. The installs went smooth, including the drivers and especially Resolve. When I launched it, it was light years faster, smoother and more stable than running on Windows. It did not crash. Unfortunately, it also does not accept footage from my camera, the Panasonic GH3. The output format is .mov, X264 with PCM and AAC audio.

Well, I get audio, just no video.

Can the developers perhaps throw a dog a bone?
Last edited by BMNewb on Mon Aug 20, 2018 5:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

RCModelReviews

  • Posts: 593
  • Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:39 am
  • Real Name: Bruce Simpson

Re: x264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostMon Aug 20, 2018 2:54 am

I believe there's no x264 support in the Linux version "out of the box" -- or at least not for the non-studio version.

Solution 1... transcode to a supported format before using in the media pool

Solution 2... check and see if the Studio version has inbuilt H264 support and purchase that

Someone correct me if I'm wrong.
Resolve 15 Studio, Fusion 9 Studio
CPU: i7 8700, OS: Windows 10 (1709) 32GB RAM, GPU: GTX1060/6
I'm refugee from Sony Vegas slicing video for my YouTube channels.
Offline

BMNewb

  • Posts: 47
  • Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 8:33 am
  • Real Name: Scott Bernard

Re: x264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostMon Aug 20, 2018 3:09 am

Hey,

"I believe there's no x264 support in the Linux version "out of the box" -- or at least not for the non-studio version."

That implies that there may be support with some tweakage. Is there some tweakage. that can be done...?

My drive space is limited (SSD). But if there is no other way, what other format can I convert to without loss of quality?

Currently, funds are limited, could Resolve 14 be bought cheaper now that 15 is out?

x264...so near yet so far...
Offline
User avatar

MikeRochefort

  • Posts: 155
  • Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 2:48 am
  • Location: Boston

Re: x264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostMon Aug 20, 2018 4:03 am

The Studio version can utilize H.264 video streams under certain circumstances. If it is an MP4 or Quicktime format with .mov or .mp4, it can decode the stream. You can encode only if it is a Quicktime with a .mov extension. Note that they have to be using the H.264 codec (container/extension/format are separate items).

Also, the Linux port does not support AAC audio. You will need to separate that out into an independent AIFF or WAVE file in order to use it in Resolve.

Please refer to the Supported Codecs document for more information. Note that it only provides info on the Studio version, if it doesn’t work in Resolve then it’s a Resolve Studio only feature.

https://documents.blackmagicdesign.com/ ... c_List.pdf

Cheers,
Mike
https://michaelrochefort.com/
3D Lookdev, Compositing, and Sysadmin
Fusion Studio 9.0.2
Fusion 16 Studio
RHEL 7.6 | Intel i7-6850K | 32GB memory | 3x GTX 1070 | 418.56
Offline

BMNewb

  • Posts: 47
  • Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 8:33 am
  • Real Name: Scott Bernard

Re: x264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostMon Aug 20, 2018 4:23 am

Well, that is curious as I can yum install, sudo, apt, emerge, slackpkg, or whatever x264 codecs on Linux and get it running on their assorted video editors so why not Resolve? Moreover, the same containers work on Windows but not on Linux. x264/MOV is fairly common for video cameras/dslr, so I am not sure why the obstacle?

Perhaps it looks like a small thing to us outsiders but it may be a big deal to developers. Sort of the straw that broke Black Magic's back.

New mantra. "let go...let go...let go...let go...let go..."
Offline

yomgui

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2018 6:59 pm
  • Real Name: Guillaume Roguez

Re: x264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostMon Aug 20, 2018 4:43 am

I've the same issue with files from my Sony HDR-AS300 and Resolve (v15.0.0.086, free edition) on a Fedora 28.

For example, file utility gives: C0001.MP4: ISO Media, MPEG v4 system, Sony XAVC Codec, Audio "twos" at 48000Hz, Video "avc1" 1920x1080

mplayer is able to play the file, but Resolve only see it as an audio only file.
I note that this codec (Sony XAVC) is given in the official list of supported codecs.
I note also that Resolve on Windows works perfectly with this file. So why not under the GNU/Linux?
Offline

Martin Schitter

  • Posts: 899
  • Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 10:41 pm

Re: x264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostMon Aug 20, 2018 5:11 am

yes, this factual limitation on the linux edition of resolve are not only very uncomfortable, they are also more than questionable in their legal justification, because with every windows and mac os system you'll get a license information which clearly states:

"THIS PRODUCT IS LICENSED UNDER THE AVC, THE VC-1, THE MPEG-4 PART 2 VISUAL, AND THE
MPEG-2 VIDEO PATENT PORTFOLIO LICENSES FOR THE PERSONAL AND NON-COMMERCIAL USE OF
A CONSUMER
TO (i) ENCODE VIDEO IN COMPLIANCE WITH THE ABOVE STANDARDS (“VIDEO
STANDARDS”) AND/OR (ii) DECODE AVC, VC-1, MPEG-4 PART 2 AND MPEG-2 VIDEO THAT WAS
ENCODED BY A CONSUMER ENGAGED IN A PERSONAL AND NON-COMMERCIAL ACTIVITY
OR WAS
OBTAINED FROM A VIDEO PROVIDER LICENSED TO PROVIDE SUCH VIDEO. NONE OF THE
LICENSES EXTEND TO ANY OTHER PRODUCT
REGARDLESS OF WHETHER SUCH PRODUCT IS
INCLUDED WITH THIS PRODUCT IN A SINGLE ARTICLE. NO LICENSE IS GRANTED OR SHALL BE
IMPLIED FOR ANY OTHER USE. ADDITIONAL INFORMATION MAY BE OBTAINED FROM MPEG LA,
L.L.C. SEE http://WWW.MPEGLA.COM ."


apart from the fact, that this patent resp. royalty claims are not applicable in all countries, they obviously do not legitimate most of the practical usage scenarios of h264 en/decoding of an application like davinci resolve on those two commercial platforms neither. it's therefore more than unintelligible, that linux users do not get just the same support to use the typical en/decoding solutions on this particular platform -- although, the actual customers would still have to take care about all the necessary licensing demands just like on the other operating systems...
Offline

BMNewb

  • Posts: 47
  • Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 8:33 am
  • Real Name: Scott Bernard

Re: x264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostMon Aug 20, 2018 7:09 am

When I look up footage via VLC, and go to TOOLS and 'codec info', I get:

Videos with the MTS extension, I suppose that is Panasonic's avchd but the codec info in VLC says that is Codec H264-MPEG 4 AVC (part 10) (h264)

There is some footage from a second camera person using a Canon camera, on some shootings, his codec MOV is H264-MPEG-4 AVC (part 10) AVC1

and my main codec for shooting is MOV H264 - MPEG-4 AVC (part 10) (avc 1)

All three of the them don't play video on Linux, but the MTS one for Resolve on Windows will be video but now Audio. So MTS just shows "MEDIA OFFLINE" on the Linux side.

So that's it for Resolve on Linux. If it's easy for the developers at Blackmagic, hey why not do it? But if it's too difficult, then they cannot really be blamed. If it's legalese, then there is nothing they can do.

Richard Stallman has a book called, 'Free Software, Free Society' where he writes about open standards and how proprietary formats take us to dead ends like this. All these intellectual property laws stymie development, not just in technology, but in other fields too. And if Stallman is too distasteful, then read the late Tom Wolfe's essay from the 1986 edition of Popular Mechanics, "Land of Wizards" where he also rails against US intellectual property laws. Wolfe observed that patent laws were originally in place to encourage people to share ideas and inventions, but it has since turned into a way for companies to take ideas/inventions from those with less lawyers. Wolfe voted for George Bush, I think, and was Republican.
Offline

RCModelReviews

  • Posts: 593
  • Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:39 am
  • Real Name: Bruce Simpson

Re: x264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostMon Aug 20, 2018 7:19 am

BMNewb wrote:So that's it for Resolve on Linux. If it's easy for the developers at Blackmagic, hey why not do it? But if it's too difficult, then they cannot really be blamed. If it's legalese, then there is nothing they can do.

You have to remember that Resolves comes from the cinema and professional editing industry where H264 is very rarely used. For that reason (and the lack of any inbuilt H264 codecs in most linux distros due to intellectual property issues), BMD have obviously decided it's not worth the effort *at this time*.

The lack of H264 support on Linux (and the lack of audio support at the time without a special audio card) was the reason I went with Windows 10 (only my edit machine is Windows, everything else is Linux around here).

I suspect that BMD are going to have to decide whether they're prepared to make Resove more attractive to the massive community of amateur and semi-professional editors who mostly work in H264 as their source material. They may opt to engage this market, they might choose not to.

In the meantime, I'm more than happy to use the studio version of Resolve under Win10 because it beats the pants off the NLEs I've used before and I don't feel like paying Adobe a monthly stipend for the rest of my working life.
Resolve 15 Studio, Fusion 9 Studio
CPU: i7 8700, OS: Windows 10 (1709) 32GB RAM, GPU: GTX1060/6
I'm refugee from Sony Vegas slicing video for my YouTube channels.
Offline

BMNewb

  • Posts: 47
  • Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 8:33 am
  • Real Name: Scott Bernard

Re: x264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostMon Aug 20, 2018 7:40 am

RCModelReviews wrote:
BMNewb wrote:In the meantime, I'm more than happy to use the studio version of Resolve under Win10 because it beats the pants off the NLEs I've used before and I don't feel like paying Adobe a monthly stipend for the rest of my working life.


No, my fellow serf, that is not a stipend, it is what you pay the Tsars. That is our rent for the privilege and dignity of labor. Labor is no longer a right. You don't pay, you don't work.

We are all serfs with different levels of privilege. ;)

At least with Blackmagic, we can buy our hammers and sickles.
Offline

Chong Yew Lee

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 5:47 pm

Re: h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostSun Jan 06, 2019 11:54 am

I would like to add that I am having the same issue with Resolve 15.2.2.

I use a Sony HDR-CX405-50i (a PAL 1080p camera) as my primary workhorse. My workflow is in 1080p only (I'm looking to getting into youtubing as a second job). The camera captures in either AVCHD or X-AVC S with LPCM audio. To my dismay I see that Davinci Resolve cannot recognize either codecs and only imports the audio.

Footage from my cellphone is even worse off. The phone captures 4K in the standard H.264 profile with AAC audio, Neither are supported.

I have just built a new Linux machine and decided to try Davinci Resolve on it, and am very disappointed. Even a completely free NLE like KDenLive could fare better!

Can Blackmagic Design please add support for H.264 and it's derivatives onto the Linux version of Resolve? The free version of Davinci Resolve is tempting to those looking to get into video editing, but if it doesn't support the codecs used by most cameras and phones in the world, why bother?
Offline
User avatar

Eugenia Loli

  • Posts: 189
  • Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 6:47 am
  • Location: Spokane, WA, USA

Re: h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostSun Jan 13, 2019 7:55 am

I agree with all above, h.264 must be added on the free version of Resolve for Linux. Most of the people who are going to download it are Linux users who just have consumer cameras. While the Studio version might work for a FEW cinema studios on Linux, the vast majority of people who are going to download it are individuals. h.264 and AAC should be added, particularly h.264. At least for AAC, you can use ffmpeg to quickly transcode it without re-encoding the video. Re-encoding the video is a no go IMHO, too much of a hassle.
Collage artist, illustrator, filmmaker: https://vimeo.com/eugenia
Offline

Dieter Scheel

  • Posts: 134
  • Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 11:15 am
  • Location: Germany

Re: h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostSun Jan 13, 2019 12:26 pm

Yes, Resolve Studio does support h.264.

You could also transcode your footage to ProRes (with ffmpeg) or Cineform. How to do that is also explained in various posts across the forum.

You are able to spend thousands of dollars or euros for camera equipment but you are unable to pay 200-300 Euros for the Studio version? Even the flash light for my DSLR was more expensive. I don't understand this and never will.

If you want to have all the bells and whistles, you have to pay for it - no matter if you are in Windows, Mac or Linux.

Or you use Flowblade, Shotcut, OpenShot or any of the other video tools. There are so may free alternatives available.
Resolve Studio 16.2, Linux Mint 19.3, 32GB RAM, i7-6700K, RTX2070 8GB (435.21), Intensity Pro (11.4)
Offline

hankthefourth

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2019 5:37 pm
  • Real Name: bill stewart

Re: h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostWed Jan 23, 2019 2:24 pm

Hello All,

I have Resolve on Linux going right now. Studio version.
BUT, i cannot get the h264, MP4, h265 going on the export.
h264, h265, etc all work on VLC when i play them. so FFmpeg, etc are all installed correctly.

I had all the export options on my Mac, but switched to linux to use a ryzen chip and rx-580. Which are awesomely fast- renfer 4K RAW footage from my pocket cinema 4K in near real time.

Any ideas on why Resolve Studio is not showing the h 264 options on export?

Thanks!
Offline
User avatar

blackmennewstyle

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2019 4:05 pm
  • Real Name: Cedric CRISPIN

Re: h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostMon Mar 11, 2019 1:17 pm

I have to say i'm quite disappointed, i installed the free version on Windows and it can import h264/h265 file but on GNU/Linux, you don't have that option.

I just don't understand that decision for GNU/Linux :(
Offline
User avatar

Eugenia Loli

  • Posts: 189
  • Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 6:47 am
  • Location: Spokane, WA, USA

Re: h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostThu Mar 28, 2019 10:57 pm

It's not a decision against Linux. It's just that on Windows/Mac, Resolve is using the included h.264 decoder. Linux doesn't come with one. Even if you install gstreamer's h.264 decoder, Resolve doesn't support the Gstreamer API.
Collage artist, illustrator, filmmaker: https://vimeo.com/eugenia
Offline

Glynn68

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 6:33 pm
  • Real Name: Glynn Gore

Re: h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostTue May 14, 2019 10:19 pm

I have the same issue on Linux Mint with Davinci Resolve 16 Beta, the Codecs supported on the Linux free version are very limited. However Prores video and uncompressed pcm audio are supported, FFMPEG offers a transcode solution, and I've found the timeline is really smooth with Prores files even at 4k. The FFMPEG conversion is a pain, but if automated could be easier.... I've been wanting to understand shell scripting for some time but needed a reason to learn it. Two weeks later and below is my first useful effort! Basically you dump all the video container files (.mkv, .mp4, .mov) you want to convert into a directory, run this script and it will transcode all files and put them into a second directory for import into Davinci Resolve. Stand alone audio files (i.e .mp3, .aac) will also be converted to pcm (.wav) files which Davinci resolve can read.

Provided the file type is supported by ffmpeg, other file formats could be converted by simply adding the file suffix/extension (like mkv,mov, mp3) into the lines listing these extensions.

#!/bin/bash
#
# Script to transcode multi video & audio formats into prores & pcm for import to Davinci Resolve
#
indir=~/Videos/pre_transcode_in/ #Input directory for pre-transcode video & audio files
outdir=~/Videos/transcoded_prores_pcm/ #Output directory for transcoded prores/pcm video & audio files
#
[ ! -d "$outdir" ] && mkdir "$outdir" #Check if output directory exists, if not, create it.
#
cd -- "$indir"
ls | while read upName; do loName=`echo "${upName}" | tr '[:upper:]' '[:lower:]'`; mv "$upName" "$loName"; done #convert input dir files to lowercase

# Start of section for video container transcoding

for cont in mkv m4v mp4 avi wmv flv mov # list of video container filename suffixes to check for files
do
for file in *.$cont; do
if [ -e "$file" ]; then
echo
echo "****** Starting transcode of $file to prores/pcm .mov ******"
echo
ffmpeg -i "$file" -c:v prores -profile:v 3 -c:a pcm_s24le "$outdir""${file%.*}".mov;
echo
echo "****** End of $file ******"
echo
fi
done
done

# Start of section for audio file transcoding

for codec in flac mp3 aac wma ogg oga mogg raw # list of audio codec filename suffixes to check for files
do
for file in *.$codec; do
if [ -e "$file" ]; then
echo
echo "****** Starting transcode of $file to pcm .wav ******"
echo
ffmpeg -i "$file" -c:a pcm_s24le "$outdir""${file%.*}".wav;
echo
echo "****** End of $file ******"
echo
fi
done
done
Offline

Coryndotio

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2019 9:33 am
  • Real Name: Jeppe Terndrup

Re: h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostFri Jun 14, 2019 9:37 am

That script works great, thanks! Unfortunately it is still a pain to have to convert everything into .mov to use it with a NLE in 2019 :(

Is there a demo/trial version of 16 studio for Linux so I could see if H264 works for me? I have an NVIDIA GPU I heard that that makes a difference?
Offline

lost_soul

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 12:30 am
  • Real Name: Shawn Metheny

Re: h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostTue Jun 18, 2019 5:31 pm

I am using DR studio on Centos 7 with an AMD card. It doesn't support either H264 or H265. It was the reason why I upgraded to studio. There are a ton of options on Linux so I am not sure why BM won't step up.
Offline

Glynn68

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 6:33 pm
  • Real Name: Glynn Gore

Re: h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostWed Jun 19, 2019 3:42 pm

That's not good news, I was seriously thinking about the upgrade to Studio but Linux version seems to be quite compromised compared to Windows. Which version are you using? According to Davinci Resolve 15 feature comparison, H264 and HEVC decode should be supported on Studio 15 version on Linux
https://documents.blackmagicdesign.com/ ... arison.pdf
Offline

alexoreman

  • Posts: 94
  • Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 11:41 pm

Re: h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostWed Jun 19, 2019 6:00 pm

No Issue with Centos 7.3 Resolve 15.3.1 Studio and H.264/265 outputs using NVIDIA GPUs.

When you choose both H.264 or H.265 in delivery the only option for the Encoder available is NVIDIA with no other option selectable. This is with the hardware acceleration check box active in system preferences.
Offline

Glynn68

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 6:33 pm
  • Real Name: Glynn Gore

Re: h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostWed Jun 19, 2019 9:24 pm

Thanks, I have NVIDIA 1080ti, looks like AMD maybe not implemented yet.
My camera supports 4K with 10-Bit colour 4:2:0, do you know if this is supported for the H.265 NVIDIA export?
Offline

deezid

  • Posts: 274
  • Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:38 am
  • Real Name: Dennis Schmitz

Re: h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostWed Jun 19, 2019 10:23 pm

Glynn68 wrote:Thanks, I have NVIDIA 1080ti, looks like AMD maybe not implemented yet.
My camera supports 4K with 10-Bit colour 4:2:0, do you know if this is supported for the H.265 NVIDIA export?


Should be supported in latest beta on AMD cards.
H265/H264 decoding even in 10 bit is just fine.
Download my 55M Advanced Luts for the Pocket 4K and 6K here:
www.55media.net/55m-p4k-color
Offline

ArteSelecta

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2019 9:14 am
  • Real Name: Luciano Vivirito

Re: h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostWed Aug 21, 2019 9:27 am

I'm working on linux (Ubuntu 18.04 LTS) and I'm using Davinci Resolve 16.

My question is very simple, can I import and save my projects with videos in H264 and H265 format using the Davinci Resolve version (my tests say no...)? Or do I solve everything by purchasing the Studio version?
thx to all
Offline

deezid

  • Posts: 274
  • Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:38 am
  • Real Name: Dennis Schmitz

Re: h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostWed Aug 21, 2019 9:59 pm

ArteSelecta wrote:I'm working on linux (Ubuntu 18.04 LTS) and I'm using Davinci Resolve 16.

My question is very simple, can I import and save my projects with videos in H264 and H265 format using the Davinci Resolve version (my tests say no...)? Or do I solve everything by purchasing the Studio version?
thx to all


Davinci Resolve Studio supports both H264 and H265 up to 10 bit on Linux.
Yes it would solve the issue ;)
Download my 55M Advanced Luts for the Pocket 4K and 6K here:
www.55media.net/55m-p4k-color
Offline

kobayashi

  • Posts: 63
  • Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 4:27 pm
  • Real Name: Alessandro Zanoboni

Re: h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostWed Aug 21, 2019 10:12 pm

Hi,
I'd point out that on Linux export of h264 is supported only with Nvidia cards, for now at least. Having a Radeon as a workaround I render on a mezzanine codec and then encode with handbrake.
as stated, import is fine on Studio
Offline

ArteSelecta

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2019 9:14 am
  • Real Name: Luciano Vivirito

Re: h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostFri Aug 23, 2019 8:42 am

kobayashi wrote:Hi,
I'd point out that on Linux export of h264 is supported only with Nvidia cards, for now at least. Having a Radeon as a workaround I render on a mezzanine codec and then encode with handbrake.
as stated, import is fine on Studio


Thank you for your answer!
Just another question, is there a tool to convert H264 / H265 formats to DNxHR on the Linux system?

For ProRes I had no problems using free software like Shotcut and Kdenlive.
Offline

ArteSelecta

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2019 9:14 am
  • Real Name: Luciano Vivirito

Re: h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostFri Aug 23, 2019 8:43 am

deezid wrote:
ArteSelecta wrote:I'm working on linux (Ubuntu 18.04 LTS) and I'm using Davinci Resolve 16.

My question is very simple, can I import and save my projects with videos in H264 and H265 format using the Davinci Resolve version (my tests say no...)? Or do I solve everything by purchasing the Studio version?
thx to all


Davinci Resolve Studio supports both H264 and H265 up to 10 bit on Linux.
Yes it would solve the issue ;)


Thank you for your answer!
Offline

kobayashi

  • Posts: 63
  • Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 4:27 pm
  • Real Name: Alessandro Zanoboni

Re: h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostFri Aug 23, 2019 2:50 pm

I'd use ffmpeg or a graphical frontend for ffmpeg, like winff
I think its available also in the Ubuntu repositories.

I usually put the ffmpeg command in very simple bash scrips, since I cannot remember all the options and flags, stored on a folder.
When I need to batch convert files, I copy the appropriate script to the folder containig all the files and launch the script, that is set to create the new files in the same folder.

To encode files for delivery, usually from DNxHR to h26x, I like to use handbrake
Offline

ArteSelecta

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2019 9:14 am
  • Real Name: Luciano Vivirito

Re: h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostMon Aug 26, 2019 8:04 am

kobayashi wrote:I'd use ffmpeg or a graphical frontend for ffmpeg, like winff
I think its available also in the Ubuntu repositories.

I usually put the ffmpeg command in very simple bash scrips, since I cannot remember all the options and flags, stored on a folder.
When I need to batch convert files, I copy the appropriate script to the folder containig all the files and launch the script, that is set to create the new files in the same folder.

To encode files for delivery, usually from DNxHR to h26x, I like to use handbrake


Thx very much for your tips.
Offline
User avatar

Jozsef Kurucity

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 7:29 am
  • Location: Serbia

Re: h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostTue Apr 07, 2020 10:29 pm

You can export from DR to raw avi or raw mov then get it into Blender and export it to whatever you like. Blender got h.264 and AAC and whatever format you need :)
Available for freelance jobs
Offline

DougHadfield

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 11:46 pm
  • Real Name: Doug Hadfield

Re: h264 support in Resolve on Linux?

PostSun Apr 26, 2020 7:41 pm

Hi, I think I'm a typical user of the Resolve free edition, as I use Linux and H264 video sources. However I've just installed Resolve, intending to move up from more basic NLE products. Imagine my disappointment and amazement when I find that the Linux version doesn't actually support the one format that most semi-pro video bloggers etc. use exclusively!! The list of supported formats on the BMD website is huge, but the one most important format for this sector of the market is omitted.... WHY!!!! I won't go back to Windoze, so I cannot use Resolve until this omission is "Resolve"d !

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: hybridman, pcady42, popmotion, Tom Tomlinson and 117 guests