Problems Getting Started

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

hurricane51

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2018 2:45 am
  • Real Name: David Martin

Problems Getting Started

PostTue Aug 21, 2018 2:59 am

A VERY new user. Just launched Resolve 15 (I can't locate any build number in the interface).

The text field for naming a new database will not accept upper case letters. Shift plus letter does nothing. Caps lock typing does nothing. Lower case works fine. My keyboard and mouse work with every other app, and as a matter of fact are fairly new.

I wonder if this is a known issue with my version, but as I said I can't locate the exact build. It's usually in the Help | About tab in Windows apps. Where is it hiding in Resolve?
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 8520
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Problems Getting Started

PostTue Aug 21, 2018 3:58 pm

Just use lower case
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

hurricane51

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2018 2:45 am
  • Real Name: David Martin

Re: Problems Getting Started

PostTue Aug 21, 2018 4:02 pm

You're kidding, right?
Offline

peterjackson

  • Posts: 515
  • Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 7:12 pm
  • Real Name: Peter Jackson

Re: Problems Getting Started

PostTue Aug 21, 2018 4:20 pm

No, Resolve optionally supports storage in PostgreSQL. Database names there and in many other RDBMS need to be a single lower case string.
XPS 9750, i9-8950HK, 32GB, 2TB NVM, Intel 630, GTX 1050 Ti, 1080 Ti eGPU, Mini Monitor, BMCC4K. Versions: BIOS 1.7.0, Intel 630 24.20.100.6287, Nvidia 25.21.14.1881, Thunderbolt 17.4.77.13, Win10 Enterprise 10.0.17134.
Offline

hurricane51

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2018 2:45 am
  • Real Name: David Martin

Re: Problems Getting Started

PostTue Aug 21, 2018 4:25 pm

So it's only the database name? Nothing else with this requirement?

Observation: There is a modern SQl database with such bizarre limitation? Seems shortsighted.
Offline
User avatar

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 2494
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Problems Getting Started

PostTue Aug 21, 2018 4:59 pm

hurricane51 wrote:So it's only the database name? Nothing else with this requirement?

Observation: There is a modern SQl database with such bizarre limitation? Seems shortsighted.


The projects IN the database have more flexibility in naming. Most users won't deal with the database directly, so it doesn't impact much.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

peterjackson

  • Posts: 515
  • Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 7:12 pm
  • Real Name: Peter Jackson

Re: Problems Getting Started

PostTue Aug 21, 2018 5:16 pm

hurricane51 wrote:So it's only the database name? Nothing else with this requirement?

Observation: There is a modern SQl database with such bizarre limitation? Seems shortsighted.
It's not a bizarre limitation. IIRC it's even the SQL standard. But as others mentioned you work with projects usually which don't have these naming constraints.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
XPS 9750, i9-8950HK, 32GB, 2TB NVM, Intel 630, GTX 1050 Ti, 1080 Ti eGPU, Mini Monitor, BMCC4K. Versions: BIOS 1.7.0, Intel 630 24.20.100.6287, Nvidia 25.21.14.1881, Thunderbolt 17.4.77.13, Win10 Enterprise 10.0.17134.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 7746
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Problems Getting Started

PostWed Aug 22, 2018 4:31 am

Are you sure you want a SQL database in the first place?
Why not simply a disk database? No naming restrictions.
Resolve Studio 16.2.7 and Fusion Studio under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM plus eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580
Offline

hurricane51

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2018 2:45 am
  • Real Name: David Martin

Re: Problems Getting Started

PostWed Aug 22, 2018 5:00 am

I just clicked New Database and this is what came up. The "Type" is listed as Disk. Whatever's simplest is fine with me. I'm going to be the only person using Resolve.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Carsten Sellberg, cyberphile, Hendrik Proosa, Jim Simon, joncoy, pinthenet and 105 guests