Switching ACES Versions

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

cemoz101

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 9:12 pm
  • Location: Oslo, Norway
  • Real Name: Cem Ozkilicci

Switching ACES Versions

PostMon Aug 27, 2018 6:07 pm

Hi,

Is there a way to switch the version of ACES used to an earlier one in Resolve ?

Thanks,

C.
Cem Ozkilicci CSI
// Senior Colourist
// Nordisk Film Shortcut Oslo
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 13751
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Switching ACES Versions

PostTue Aug 28, 2018 6:03 am

You may need to install an earlier version of Resolve.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rick Lang
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7961
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Switching ACES Versions

PostTue Aug 28, 2018 6:50 am

AFAIK, there should be a command in the settings that will reveal the older versions, but I dont remember which line need to be added.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.2.012
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 8268
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Switching ACES Versions

PostTue Aug 28, 2018 7:26 am

As per advise from the Academy, we removed the very old ACES versions after Resolve 12.5.. so if you have something pre ACES 1.0, you need to install v12.5 to have access to those ACES standards. All the old ones back to 0.3 are there.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

cemoz101

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 9:12 pm
  • Location: Oslo, Norway
  • Real Name: Cem Ozkilicci

Re: Switching ACES Versions

PostTue Aug 28, 2018 11:15 am

So if you get a project that was graded in Aces 0.7 and want to open it in V15 what will happen if the libraries aren't there?

C.
Cem Ozkilicci CSI
// Senior Colourist
// Nordisk Film Shortcut Oslo
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 13751
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Switching ACES Versions

PostTue Aug 28, 2018 5:18 pm

It’s likely just going to force the use of ACES 1.03 on your material. Not going to match.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rick Lang
Offline

cemoz101

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 9:12 pm
  • Location: Oslo, Norway
  • Real Name: Cem Ozkilicci

Re: Switching ACES Versions

PostTue Aug 28, 2018 8:18 pm

Hmmm... that's no good.

C.
Cem Ozkilicci CSI
// Senior Colourist
// Nordisk Film Shortcut Oslo

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], gyorfitam, RedRider14 and 82 guests