Support for round tripping audio clips to third party audio

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

PieroLass

  • Posts: 113
  • Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:13 pm

Support for round tripping audio clips to third party audio

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 12:21 pm

Do you know where is it and how it works? could mean that is possible to send audio to protools not using deliver page?
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 1462
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 12:29 pm

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=79204

External Audio Processes can be added and managed in the Audio Plugins section of System Preferences. The round-trip process can be triggered from the clip context menu on the timeline.
Offline

PieroLass

  • Posts: 113
  • Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:13 pm

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 8:57 pm

thanks. I hoped it were an option to go to pro tools that actually works...keep waiting for this...
Offline

Glenn Venghaus

  • Posts: 1177
  • Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 9:56 pm
  • Location: Amsterdam , The Netherlands

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostSat Sep 15, 2018 2:58 pm

Wow, pretty cool. Tested it by defining isothope RX standalone as external prog in audio preferences and command-line as type . Then rightclick on audio part > external audio process > new external process. This opened RX with the audio. Then processed it and the moment i saved in RX , the Resolve timeline was updated with a new rendered file.

SUPER COOL INTEGRATION . THANKS BM !!!!!!!

Fusion connect for audio basicaly.

(sorry for screaming but is worth it)
Beatstep & APC-40 Resolve Edition Custom Controllers https://posttools.tachyon-consulting.com
Test rig : Dual Xeon | UNRAID VM OSX10.13/14 | 48 vcore | GTX980ti/Vega 56 | 128GB | DRS 16.x
V: SDI > HDlink > Eizo + Scopebox
A: 5.1RME-FireFace
Offline

AndreasOberg

  • Posts: 355
  • Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 9:09 am

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostSat Sep 15, 2018 6:04 pm

Tested it by defining isothope RX standalone as external prog in audio preferences and command-line as type . Then rightclick on audio part > external audio process > new external process. This opened RX with the audio. Then processed it and the moment i saved in RX , the Resolve timeline was updated with a new rendered file.


That is great, I love Izotope. Sounds like a great combination.
Consulting Lead VFX Microsoft Games/Rare Ltd
Offline

JustinJohnson

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 12:08 am

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostSat Sep 15, 2018 8:10 pm

I am on Windows 10. I get an error "Cannot Write to Path : T:\Footage\Capture\FL_180818_0220S12(*)_Bounced_2018-09-15_128_T0009_C000001.wav"

Did you run into this at all?

Edit:
Just noticed that my synced audio and video files show a (*) in the filename on the timeline for the audio portion. And these are the files I have an issue with. If I pull the audio over into Fairlight directly from the original wav, the process works fine.
Resolve Studio 16 Beta 1
Windows 10 Pro 1903 (OS Build 18362.53)
32 Gigs of ram
AMD 2700X 3.60 GHz
ATI RX 570 8GB
Offline

Glenn Venghaus

  • Posts: 1177
  • Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 9:56 pm
  • Location: Amsterdam , The Netherlands

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostSat Sep 15, 2018 9:02 pm

Yeah, never ever ever ever use funky character in filename / clipnames etc. Only leads to pain and suffering. Specialy stuff like * which is used as a wildcard on OS level. I stick with underscores and or dashes, thats it.
Beatstep & APC-40 Resolve Edition Custom Controllers https://posttools.tachyon-consulting.com
Test rig : Dual Xeon | UNRAID VM OSX10.13/14 | 48 vcore | GTX980ti/Vega 56 | 128GB | DRS 16.x
V: SDI > HDlink > Eizo + Scopebox
A: 5.1RME-FireFace
Offline

Mike Halper

  • Posts: 299
  • Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 10:50 pm

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostSat Sep 15, 2018 10:02 pm

I haven’t tried this new feature yet. Are we able to save the file in Izotope as a different name so the original is not altered, and then Resolve connect to the new file name instead of the original automatically?
IMac Pro Hackintosh, 10 core i9, 64GB RAM, Radeon VII, Decklink 4K Mini Monitor, macOS 10.14.5, DaVinci Resolve Studio license
Offline

JustinJohnson

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 12:08 am

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostSat Sep 15, 2018 11:23 pm

I don't add special characters to the filenames, the asterisk is there in Resolve.

The way it works is that when you right click on the audio clip, it creates a copy of that clip with a new name in the Capture folder. When you save in your external editor, this overwrites this copy. Every time you send it to an external process, it creates a new file. It's very slick and works well.

I've attached a screenshot of a section of my timeline. Notice the * on the audio part. This appears when I drag sync'd video and audio clip over from a bin onto a timeline. I sync'd the audio and video by using the auto sync by waveform feature. If I find the audio file by itself and drag only it into the timeline, then it creates the file fine as there is no * in name.
Attachments
Screenshot.png
Screenshot.png (32.56 KiB) Viewed 2227 times
Resolve Studio 16 Beta 1
Windows 10 Pro 1903 (OS Build 18362.53)
32 Gigs of ram
AMD 2700X 3.60 GHz
ATI RX 570 8GB
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 1462
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostSun Sep 16, 2018 8:26 am

Mike Halper wrote:Are we able to save the file in Izotope as a different name so the original is not altered, and then Resolve connect to the new file name instead of the original automatically?
Prior to sending out to the external application, Resolve automatically renders out a new 32bit/48kHz Broadcast Wave file to the target directory with a pre-defined naming convention, and automatically mutes the Unprocessed Source Audio Clip (which is placed on the bottom layer on the Audio Track). The newly rendered Audio Clip is placed on the top layer of the Audio Track.

The newly rendered Audio Clip is then automatically opened in the external application (if the Command Line option has been specified for the External Audio Processes in the Audio Plugins section of System Preferences). Saving the Audio File in the external application with the identical naming convention as specified by Resolve, will force Resolve to automatically update the Audio Clip on the Timeline, when switching back to the Resolve Timeline from the external application.

If you prefer to manually rename Audio Clips in the external application with specific indentifiers and unique naming convention, then Resolve's “Replace Selected Clip” functionality in the Media Pool (available within the Clip's Contextual Menu) would be the manual method used. The Audio Clip will be automatically replaced on the Timeline with the user specified Processed Audio File.

With either method, a Muted Source Audio Clip will always be available on the lowest layer of the Audio Track, with the Processed Audio Clip on the layer above.
Offline

WesKane

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2017 9:19 pm

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostTue Sep 18, 2018 1:31 am

Brilliant. Works wonderfully, such a time saver. Thank you for this addition. :D
Offline

DaveYoder

  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 3:11 pm

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostWed Sep 26, 2018 4:53 am

finally had a chance to try it out. Fantastic, just what I was hoping for...
Offline

JustinJohnson

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 12:08 am

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostThu Sep 27, 2018 3:13 pm

Just wanted to update that with the version released today, the (*) no longer shows up on the audio clips and external editing works now. Thanks!
Resolve Studio 16 Beta 1
Windows 10 Pro 1903 (OS Build 18362.53)
32 Gigs of ram
AMD 2700X 3.60 GHz
ATI RX 570 8GB
Offline
User avatar

allenrowand

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 9:33 pm

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostTue Oct 09, 2018 6:24 pm

Can't get this to work for the life of me. I've added RX7 and restarted:
Screen Shot 2018-10-09 at 10.52.31 AM.png
Screen Shot 2018-10-09 at 10.52.31 AM.png (32.13 KiB) Viewed 2021 times


Right clicking an audio clip in the timeline doesn't show an external editor option:
Screen Shot 2018-10-09 at 10.51.13 AM.png
Screen Shot 2018-10-09 at 10.51.13 AM.png (65.18 KiB) Viewed 2021 times


Right clicking an audio clip in the Fairlight page shows the option but I can't select it:
Screen Shot 2018-10-09 at 10.25.49 AM.png
Screen Shot 2018-10-09 at 10.25.49 AM.png (48.92 KiB) Viewed 2021 times


I'm on Resolve Studio 15.1.1.005. Any thoughts?
Resolve Studio 16.2

MacOS 10.15.3, 5GHz i9-9900k, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, Sapphire Vega 56 w/8 GB VRAM, 250 GB 850 EVO SATA boot drive, 1 TB 970 Evo Plus media drive, 250 GB 960 EVO NVMe cache drive
Offline

Glenn Venghaus

  • Posts: 1177
  • Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 9:56 pm
  • Location: Amsterdam , The Netherlands

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostTue Oct 09, 2018 7:13 pm

I am on Sierra where it works in the way you have set it up. But based on experience with other programs that call external programs on High Sierra ,maybe it has to do with the new OS security sandboxing. Go to system preferences > security & privacy > privacy > accessibility settings. Try adding Resolve there to allow it to control your computer. This works for some of the programs i use that call external programs when i test them on my high sierra development box.
Beatstep & APC-40 Resolve Edition Custom Controllers https://posttools.tachyon-consulting.com
Test rig : Dual Xeon | UNRAID VM OSX10.13/14 | 48 vcore | GTX980ti/Vega 56 | 128GB | DRS 16.x
V: SDI > HDlink > Eizo + Scopebox
A: 5.1RME-FireFace
Offline
User avatar

allenrowand

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 9:33 pm

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostTue Oct 09, 2018 8:39 pm

Glenn Venghaus wrote:I am on Sierra where it works in the way you have set it up. But based on experience with other programs that call external programs on High Sierra ,maybe it has to do with the new OS security sandboxing. Go to system preferences > security & privacy > privacy > accessibility settings. Try adding Resolve there to allow it to control your computer. This works for some of the programs i use that call external programs when i test them on my high sierra development box.


Thanks for the idea, but letting Resolve control the computer didn't change anything.
Resolve Studio 16.2

MacOS 10.15.3, 5GHz i9-9900k, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, Sapphire Vega 56 w/8 GB VRAM, 250 GB 850 EVO SATA boot drive, 1 TB 970 Evo Plus media drive, 250 GB 960 EVO NVMe cache drive
Offline

Glenn Venghaus

  • Posts: 1177
  • Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 9:56 pm
  • Location: Amsterdam , The Netherlands

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostTue Oct 09, 2018 8:51 pm

Well was worth a try i guess. Wierd indeed
Beatstep & APC-40 Resolve Edition Custom Controllers https://posttools.tachyon-consulting.com
Test rig : Dual Xeon | UNRAID VM OSX10.13/14 | 48 vcore | GTX980ti/Vega 56 | 128GB | DRS 16.x
V: SDI > HDlink > Eizo + Scopebox
A: 5.1RME-FireFace
Offline

Glenn Venghaus

  • Posts: 1177
  • Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 9:56 pm
  • Location: Amsterdam , The Netherlands

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostTue Oct 09, 2018 8:54 pm

Maybe focus on the media clip itself. I also see find in media pool and clip atributes greyed out. So something is wrong up there in general with access to the clip.
Try with a standard audio clip, drag drop on timeline and try it on that.
Beatstep & APC-40 Resolve Edition Custom Controllers https://posttools.tachyon-consulting.com
Test rig : Dual Xeon | UNRAID VM OSX10.13/14 | 48 vcore | GTX980ti/Vega 56 | 128GB | DRS 16.x
V: SDI > HDlink > Eizo + Scopebox
A: 5.1RME-FireFace
Offline
User avatar

allenrowand

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 9:33 pm

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostTue Oct 09, 2018 9:31 pm

Glenn Venghaus wrote:Maybe focus on the media clip itself. I also see find in media pool and clip atributes greyed out. So something is wrong up there in general with access to the clip.
Try with a standard audio clip, drag drop on timeline and try it on that.


Resolve doesn't seem to support external audio editing or those file actions on polywav files. If I right-click a mono or stereo file I get the external edit option. Strange, since I was able to drag my recorder's polywav files into the timeline with no issue.

Looks like I'll have to split my files moving forward. Thanks!
Resolve Studio 16.2

MacOS 10.15.3, 5GHz i9-9900k, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, Sapphire Vega 56 w/8 GB VRAM, 250 GB 850 EVO SATA boot drive, 1 TB 970 Evo Plus media drive, 250 GB 960 EVO NVMe cache drive
Offline

Glenn Venghaus

  • Posts: 1177
  • Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 9:56 pm
  • Location: Amsterdam , The Netherlands

Support for round tripping audio clips to third party audio

PostWed Oct 10, 2018 5:52 am

Resolve does but you need RX8 for more the 2 channels. RX7 is limited to max stereo.
RX8 i tested with 6 channels on a friends system and works great.

@Reynaud Venter Tnx for correcting me in later posts. Yes i was confused with the RX versions hahaha. BUt the geste is indeed that you need a different version to support higher channel count audio.
Last edited by Glenn Venghaus on Wed Oct 10, 2018 8:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
Beatstep & APC-40 Resolve Edition Custom Controllers https://posttools.tachyon-consulting.com
Test rig : Dual Xeon | UNRAID VM OSX10.13/14 | 48 vcore | GTX980ti/Vega 56 | 128GB | DRS 16.x
V: SDI > HDlink > Eizo + Scopebox
A: 5.1RME-FireFace
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 1462
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostWed Oct 10, 2018 6:06 am

Glenn, he has RX 7 installed but RX 7 Advanced is required for multichannel support
(which is what you meant).

Multichannel interfacing between Resolve 15.1.1 and RX 7 Advanced is functional (up to 10 channels), confirmed by daily use.

RX 8 is hopefully an expense at least 12 months in to the future.
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 1462
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostWed Oct 10, 2018 7:04 am

allenrowand wrote:Resolve doesn't seem to support external audio editing or those file actions on polywav files. If I right-click a mono or stereo file I get the external edit option. Strange, since I was able to drag my recorder's polywav files into the timeline with no issue.
Resolve has no foreknowledge as to the capabilities of the external application.
The "External Audio Process" contextual menu item is simply a "dumb" link to an external application.

For example, an NHK22.2 source placed on an Adaptive Audio Track, 24 channels wide, still enables the "External Audio Process" contextual menu item to be available, even though not all linked applications support fixed channel configurations that wide.

External Processes.png
External Processes.png (77.14 KiB) Viewed 1976 times

It's only when that Clip is rendered out and sent to the external application that errors will be presented by the external application.

In this case, RX 7 Advanced is limited to 10 audio channels, and is unable to open a broadcast wave file configured with 24 audio channels.

RX Error.png
RX Error.png (22.63 KiB) Viewed 1974 times


Glenn correctly pointed out further issues at play here.
Glenn Venghaus wrote:Maybe focus on the media clip itself. I also see find in media pool and clip atributes greyed out. So something is wrong up there in general with access to the clip.
MacBook Pro (MR942LL/A) | Radeon Pro 560X | macOS 10.14.4 (18E227) | Resolve Studio 16.2 ⟧
⟦ Merging HAPI ⫸ Fairlight Accelerator ⫸ DAD AX32 ⟧ ⟦ BMD Intensity Pro 4K | Desktop Video 11.5 ⟧
⟦ Fairlight Desktop Audio Editor ⟧
Offline

RandyLarcombe

  • Posts: 44
  • Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 12:33 am

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostMon Jan 28, 2019 2:41 am

Glenn Venghaus wrote:Wow, pretty cool. Tested it by defining isothope RX standalone as external prog in audio preferences and command-line as type . Then rightclick on audio part > external audio process > new external process. This opened RX with the audio. Then processed it and the moment i saved in RX , the Resolve timeline was updated with a new rendered file.

SUPER COOL INTEGRATION . THANKS BM !!!!!!!

Fusion connect for audio basicaly.

(sorry for screaming but is worth it)


Hi Glenn, Well done for working this out. I would find this feature super useful but I am having an issue setting it up. When I go into the Audio preferences my screen doesn't even command-line as an option. Am I in the wrong place altogether or is there something I haven't turned on? This is what I see.
Screenshot 2019-01-28 13.04.24.png
Screenshot 2019-01-28 13.04.24.png (128.64 KiB) Viewed 1782 times
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 1462
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostMon Jan 28, 2019 5:51 am

RandyLarcombe wrote:is there something I haven't turned on? This is what I see.
And you are running version 15.1 or later?
Offline

John Griffin

  • Posts: 413
  • Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 4:18 pm

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostMon Jan 28, 2019 12:21 pm

I've tried this with Adobe Audition but stereo tracks get converted to mono. This also happens when I export a timeline to Premier Pro. Any ideas?
Dell XPS 7590 i9 9980HK, GTX1650m, 64gb RAM
1Tb NVME C drive,
2TB SSD 2nd internal.
GTX 1080ti eGPU,
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 1462
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostMon Jan 28, 2019 12:44 pm

John Griffin wrote:I've tried this with Adobe Audition but stereo tracks get converted to mono. This also happens when I export a timeline to Premier Pro. Any ideas?
Could you post a screenshot of the bounced file's metadata as presented in MediaInfo?
Offline

John Griffin

  • Posts: 413
  • Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 4:18 pm

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostMon Jan 28, 2019 12:50 pm

Sorry fellas - operator error. Somehow the whole track was set to mono and not stereo......

:oops:
Works fine now - amazing feature!
Dell XPS 7590 i9 9980HK, GTX1650m, 64gb RAM
1Tb NVME C drive,
2TB SSD 2nd internal.
GTX 1080ti eGPU,
Offline

RandyLarcombe

  • Posts: 44
  • Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 12:33 am

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostFri Feb 01, 2019 6:06 am

Reynaud Venter wrote:
RandyLarcombe wrote:is there something I haven't turned on? This is what I see.
And you are running version 15.1 or later?

Hi, no, I'm on 15.0. Do I need to be on 15.1?
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 1462
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostFri Feb 01, 2019 6:08 am

RandyLarcombe wrote:Do I need to be on 15.1?
The functionality was only introduced with the release of version 15.1 (viewtopic.php?f=21&t=79204).

Would also recommend updating to the latest version (15.2.3 as of 01/02/2019), as there have been a lot of improvements and additions since version 15.0
Last edited by Reynaud Venter on Fri Feb 01, 2019 6:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

RandyLarcombe

  • Posts: 44
  • Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 12:33 am

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostFri Feb 01, 2019 6:10 am

Reynaud Venter wrote:
RandyLarcombe wrote:Do I need to be on 15.1?
The functionality was only introduced with the release of version 15.1 (viewtopic.php?f=21&t=79204)
Brilliant!! Thank you. I’ll update now.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Offline

Marc Salvatore

  • Posts: 110
  • Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:21 pm

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostSat Feb 02, 2019 6:25 pm

Great, did not know this feature existed in Resolve. I was planning on filing a feature request. My only request at this point would be the ability to access it from the Edit timeline if possible.
Offline

RandyLarcombe

  • Posts: 44
  • Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 12:33 am

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostSat Feb 02, 2019 9:59 pm

Marc Salvatore wrote:Great, did not know this feature existed in Resolve. I was planning on filing a feature request. My only request at this point would be the ability to access it from the Edit timeline if possible.
X2 Yes agreed. I would prefer to stay out of the fairlight if possible.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Offline

RandyLarcombe

  • Posts: 44
  • Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 12:33 am

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostSat Feb 02, 2019 10:01 pm

Reynaud Venter wrote:
RandyLarcombe wrote:Do I need to be on 15.1?
The functionality was only introduced with the release of version 15.1 (viewtopic.php?f=21&t=79204).

Would also recommend updating to the latest version (15.2.3 as of 01/02/2019), as there have been a lot of improvements and additions since version 15.0
It works brilliantly. I am currently using RX6 standard. Has anyone used this functionality with RX7 Advanced. There is no way to check the round tripping with the trial version.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 1462
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Support for round tripping audio clips to third party au

PostSun Feb 03, 2019 5:42 am

RandyLarcombe wrote:Has anyone used this functionality with RX7 Advanced
Works fine with RX7 Advanced.

Scroll up in this thread.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot], MSN [Bot], rjeunet, smcrae and 108 guests