Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6963
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostMon Sep 17, 2018 8:44 pm

Thank you for the diagnostic logs regarding the stall during Resolve launch with 15.1.

We found two separate issues one of which was intermittent and now have an update on the support web site you can download and install. If you see further issues please let us know.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

morten[at]oppifra

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 3:53 pm
  • Real Name: Morten Hodnekvam

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostMon Sep 17, 2018 9:11 pm

Thanks Peter! But it's still 15.1.24.0 (first patch) under friday's download link. At least for Windows version...

Best regards,
Morten
Windows 10 Home, 64bit |Intel Core i7-7820HK CPU @ 2.9GHz | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 | Davinci Resolve Studio 15.1.25.0 | Black Magic Pocket Camera 4K (soon!)
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5582
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostMon Sep 17, 2018 9:28 pm

You have OpenCL set as your GPU processing mode.

Uninstall 15.1. Install 15.0.1 and set the GPU mode to CUDA in Resolve Preferences - System - Configuration.

Resintall 15.1. Should work now.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

morten[at]oppifra

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 3:53 pm
  • Real Name: Morten Hodnekvam

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostMon Sep 17, 2018 9:33 pm

Doesn't i loose all my project files is i uninstall? I have not any backup...
Windows 10 Home, 64bit |Intel Core i7-7820HK CPU @ 2.9GHz | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 | Davinci Resolve Studio 15.1.25.0 | Black Magic Pocket Camera 4K (soon!)
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6963
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostMon Sep 17, 2018 9:53 pm

There is a new update today. You might need to refresh your browser. There is no DB change.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Stephen Sawchuk

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 3:47 pm

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostMon Sep 17, 2018 10:49 pm

Thanks for the quick fixes, Peter. When I go to download the update, I'm getting the same version and file size as I was over the weekend (15.1.24.0). Would you mind pasting the download link for the Studio version for Windows?
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5582
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostMon Sep 17, 2018 11:51 pm

The updated Windows builds are now online.

If you had a working 15.0.1 system (Mac or Windows), and after installing 15.1, you get a launch hang, please download 15.1 again, now, and reinstall.

The current build number is now 025.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5582
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostMon Sep 17, 2018 11:56 pm

@Morten: Download 15.1 again and install. You should be good.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

morten[at]oppifra

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 3:53 pm
  • Real Name: Morten Hodnekvam

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostTue Sep 18, 2018 4:08 am

Thanks Dwaine! V15.1.25.0; Now it's finally working again! :)
Windows 10 Home, 64bit |Intel Core i7-7820HK CPU @ 2.9GHz | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 | Davinci Resolve Studio 15.1.25.0 | Black Magic Pocket Camera 4K (soon!)
Offline

jonas almeida

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2018 1:59 am
  • Real Name: Jonas Almeida

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostTue Sep 18, 2018 1:22 pm

Hi guys, downloaded 2 days ago (free version). Still having the same reported issue on my macbook pro (late 2014).
It stalls when opening during the search for the 'control panel'.
Offline

luka.a

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 12:09 pm
  • Real Name: Luka Anderson

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostTue Sep 18, 2018 1:26 pm

Hello I have the same issue (Crashing on launch with "Looking for control surface") but with a different system. Here are my specs:
CPU: Intel Core i5-2500
GPU: AMD RX560 4GB Driver Version 1.38 (I updated this today)
RAM: 8GB DDR3
Windows 10 Pro

My graphics card doesn't show up on the latest version of Resolve (v15.1) but it does work with v15. When will there be a version that supports non-CUDA cards? Or is there another way to fix this?
Offline

Lowell Sherris

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 11:59 am

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostTue Sep 18, 2018 2:12 pm

Studio version 15.1.25 still locks up at control panel. I am running Windows 10 on a threadripper 1950x CPU with 64Gb RAM and a 1080 Ti GPU.

I installed the free version on a VMWare Workstation virtual Windows 10 machine on the same computer. Resolve loaded completely (though it could not run since there was no GPU support). That makes me believe there is a conflict with some installed program. I had a similar problem with Resolve 14. At that time I reinstalled Windows and reinstalled my programs one at a time. I discovered that Comodo firewall was the culprit at that time.

I would really like this to be fixed without me having to reinstall Windows.
Offline

jfilios

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 11:22 pm
  • Real Name: James Filios

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostTue Sep 18, 2018 3:01 pm

Worked for me. Thanks!!!
Offline

Approximatt

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:17 am
  • Real Name: Matthew Spinella

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostTue Sep 18, 2018 6:36 pm

Downloaded the new version and it fixed the stall at "looking for control surface" issue I was having. Thanks!
Offline

StephenEastwood

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 4:24 pm
  • Real Name: Stephen Eastwood

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostTue Sep 18, 2018 11:19 pm

Worked on the system that had an issue. Thank you for your very fast response.
Offline

StephenEastwood

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 4:24 pm
  • Real Name: Stephen Eastwood

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostWed Sep 19, 2018 8:13 pm

Is there any reason to install the latest on a system where the original release is working? I installed the 15.1 and it worked on most systems, not sure if I should install the latest one, and if I even can without an uninstall since it is the same build number I believe?
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5582
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostWed Sep 19, 2018 8:34 pm

You want to have the build 025 version installed.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

Jeremy Garrood

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2018 12:54 pm
  • Real Name: Jeremy Garrood

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostThu Sep 20, 2018 2:23 am

I'm sorry if this is a double post but my previous one is taking forever to be approved or misplaced or whatever, but the message seems not to be getting through...

NO ...please take note; new version 15.1.25.0 (build 025) is NOT working for everyone!!

Updating to Build 025 over 15.0 is STILL stalling at Control Panel during launch.

I tried a few times turning off all AV etc. Maybe it's because I am running the very latest drivers from AMD - 18.9.1 ?

I'm not the only one with the problem, see Lowell Sherris above.

Going back to the last system image backup with 15.0 again.
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T
16GB RAM
(two) 2x Radeon R9 280X OC 3GB
Win 10 pro 1803
Offline

Lowell Sherris

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 11:59 am

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostThu Sep 20, 2018 9:59 am

I am going to repeat my previous post since it seems to have been ignored. My system is a Windows 10 Threadripper 1950Xs with 64Gb of RAM and a 1080 Ti. Resolve worked fine with Studio version 15.01 but still will not load with the latest Studio version, 15.1.25. I have two dongles, and the program does work fine on my laptop.

I assume there is a conflict with some other program installed on my computer. I know from Facebook postings that there are some other people in the same boat. I can probably fix this by reinstalling Windows, installing Resolve first and then installing my other programs and test to see which is causing the conflict. I would prefer not to do this.

I'm interested in knowing how many other people still can't load Resolve, and I would like to know whether Blackmagic is actively looking into the problem.
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 595
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostThu Sep 20, 2018 10:11 am

Lowell,

Thanks for the machine specs. We will need your diagnostic logs to see if we can even do something about it. See: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=71894
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6963
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostThu Sep 20, 2018 2:27 pm

Jeremy Garrood wrote:I'm sorry if this is a double post but my previous one is taking forever to be approved or misplaced or whatever, but the message seems not to be getting through...

NO ...please take note; new version 15.1.25.0 (build 025) is NOT working for everyone!!

Updating to Build 025 over 15.0 is STILL stalling at Control Panel during launch.

I tried a few times turning off all AV etc. Maybe it's because I am running the very latest drivers from AMD - 18.9.1 ?

I'm not the only one with the problem, see Lowell Sherris above.

Going back to the last system image backup with 15.0 again.



Can you share diagnostic logs?
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Boris Kovalev

  • Posts: 104
  • Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:20 pm

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostFri Sep 21, 2018 1:35 am

Same here.
On linux, davinci v15 refuses to run due to lack of SSE4 extensions on my CPU (this is my guess, more details on linux install topic)
On windows i got v15.0.1 working fine on same hardware and v15.1 just crashes on boot.
I'll attach my log from windows 10 for you to see.
Already tried reinstalling, also switching GPU mode to CUDA/auto - no luck so far
Thanks!

p/s got "Secure connection faild" error when uploading log or "The file is too big, maximum allowed size is 1 MiB." message when without dmp file.
You can download the same file here

pp/s do you have any repository with previous versions? That could be really nice, as i delete old builds of resolve from time to time.
Last edited by Boris Kovalev on Fri Sep 21, 2018 3:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5582
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostFri Sep 21, 2018 2:48 am

Your .NFO file is corrupt. Can you verify you can open it? If not, save it again. If it does open for you, perhaps post it on the file sharing site and provide a new link.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Boris Kovalev

  • Posts: 104
  • Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:20 pm

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostFri Sep 21, 2018 3:12 am

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Your .NFO file is corrupt. Can you verify you can open it? If not, save it again. If it does open for you, perhaps post it on the file sharing site and provide a new link.

Reuploaded
Attachments
phenomX6.zip
(87.59 KiB) Downloaded 46 times
Offline

deemde

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 10:27 am
  • Real Name: Damian D. Martinez Dreyer

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostFri Sep 21, 2018 10:44 am

Thank you for releasing regular updates!
Sadly I am still affexted by this bug.
I went from 14 to 15.1.0.025 with a clean install, and have not been able to start Resolve since.
Please see the attached logs and .NFO files. I hope they will be of help.

Thank you
Damian
Attachments
DaVinci-Resolve-logs-_121529,80.zip
logs
(19.23 KiB) Downloaded 41 times
system.zip
NFO
(76.58 KiB) Downloaded 42 times
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5582
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostFri Sep 21, 2018 10:20 pm

It doesn't look like you ever had 15.0.1 running on this system. It goes from 15.0 to 15.1.

It's odd that there are no Windows error logs from the 15.1 crashes. The last error in the error log is from 9-19, a Chrome error. Just to be sure, you saved the NFO file on 9-20 after the 15.1 crashing?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Lowell Sherris

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 11:59 am

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostFri Sep 21, 2018 10:53 pm

I have the same issue in that my Windows system functions well with Studio version 15.0.1, but will not load Studio version 15.1.25. My log files can be downloaded at the following links:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/gugxhvfdhgzj7 ... 1.zip?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/nv3mbh66q0rmi ... c.nfo?dl=0
Offline

deemde

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 10:27 am
  • Real Name: Damian D. Martinez Dreyer

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostSat Sep 22, 2018 10:56 am

I do encounter the same issues with 15.1.025 after a clean install. 14 has been working fine on this machine. Please see the provided files:

NFO: https://www dropbox.com/s/do495qh8n1nresb/system.zip?dl=0
Logs: https://www dropbox.com/s/t9q80k0m4k5xknq/DaVinci-Resolve-logs-_121529%2C80.zip?dl=0

Best regards
Damian
Offline

adamjrichman

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:03 am
  • Real Name: Adam J. Richman

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostSun Sep 23, 2018 4:10 am

Build 25 failing to load for me as well... as a Studio customer, this is very disappointing...

I'd share a link but somehow I am not allowed to post links (wtf?)...

dropbox [DOT COM] /s/0u12lgbknzkjsll/resolve_build25_logs.zip?dl=0
Offline

Boris Kovalev

  • Posts: 104
  • Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:20 pm

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostSun Sep 23, 2018 4:39 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:It doesn't look like you ever had 15.0.1 running on this system. It goes from 15.0 to 15.1.

It's odd that there are no Windows error logs from the 15.1 crashes. The last error in the error log is from 9-19, a Chrome error. Just to be sure, you saved the NFO file on 9-20 after the 15.1 crashing?


I redownloaded resolve now (9/17 build), reinstalled and got crash to desktop just after "starting up" message. Then i run the script to dump logs, and regenerated info file.
dump file and logs
NFO file
Offline

robbierivera

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 3:08 pm
  • Real Name: Robbie Rivera

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostMon Sep 24, 2018 3:15 pm

I have the same thing happening as Boris (Also on Phenom X6 CPU), but with AMD GPU. I guess it doesn't matter, because Boris has Nvidia. Last line of logs doesn't have any errors, says
Code: Select all
Initializing GPU board 0 with context thread 0
Offline

Rick van den Berg

  • Posts: 534
  • Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostTue Sep 25, 2018 6:40 am

got a Phenom X6 CPU (1055t) too, at my home computer. with a gtx1080ti. gonna upgrade the cpu/mobo/memory soon though. hope that will solve it then.
Offline

mister_cg

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 5:51 pm
  • Real Name: Christian Gassner

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostTue Sep 25, 2018 6:23 pm

I realize the same problem with AMD Phenom X6 CPU when upgrading from 15.0.0088 to 15.1.0025.
Also clean installation of 15.1.0025 did not help.

Attached the two log's (C4 = OK, C5 = NOK).
C4_log = 15.0.0088 (no issues)
C5_log = 15.1.0025 (does not launch)
Attachments
LogArchive.zip
Logfiles
(6.61 KiB) Downloaded 30 times
MySystem:
SW: Davinci Resolve Studio v15.0.0088 (because v15.2.2.007 is crashing!)
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1100T
GPU: Radeon RX580 8GB (OpenCL 25.20.15011.1004)
RAM: 16GB
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit installed on SSD
Offline

ThomasRS

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2018 8:24 pm
  • Real Name: Thomas Sobanski

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostTue Sep 25, 2018 10:56 pm

Any updates on the resolution of this issue?

I have gotten no further responses regarding my initial help ticket.

This is delaying, if not cancelling, my intended upgrade to Studio 15.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5582
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostWed Sep 26, 2018 3:59 am

Please provide a complete Resolve diagnostics log file and a Windows System Info .NFO file.

In a File Explorer window, go to:

C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve

and run CaptureLogs

Then open Windows System Information and do a File - Save (Not a File Export), which will generate a .NFO file.

Place both those files on a file sharing site and provide links to the files here.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

mikemu

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 12:27 am
  • Real Name: Mike Mu

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostThu Sep 27, 2018 12:30 am

Also stalling for me.
Samsung Notebook 9 Pro 2017

Log uploaded. Thanks!
Attachments
DaVinci-Resolve-logs-20180926_172403.zip
Stalling on launch
(343.39 KiB) Downloaded 28 times
Offline

adamjrichman

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:03 am
  • Real Name: Adam J. Richman

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostThu Sep 27, 2018 5:52 am

Disregard last post! Went to support page and 15.1.1 solved the issue on my machine! Yay!! Thanks, team! :D (also damn.. you guys are just so much harder better faster stronger than the folks at the big A, ha)
Offline

Lowell Sherris

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 11:59 am

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostThu Sep 27, 2018 9:15 am

I am happy to report that version 15.1.1 Studio has solved my problem and Resolve now loads normally. Thank you Blackmagic engineers. :D
Offline

Boris Kovalev

  • Posts: 104
  • Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:20 pm

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostThu Sep 27, 2018 2:39 pm

Same error on my setup :?
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5582
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostFri Sep 28, 2018 12:43 am

@Boris, please send a new Resolve log and NFO after installing 15.1.1.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Boris Kovalev

  • Posts: 104
  • Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:20 pm

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostFri Sep 28, 2018 1:48 am

Dwaine Maggart wrote:@Boris, please send a new Resolve log and NFO after installing 15.1.1.

Sure, here it is:
logs
nfo file
I reinstalled 15.0.1 - works fine
Then i went to 15.1.1 - same error
After that i generated logs and nfo files again.

Thanks!
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5582
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostFri Sep 28, 2018 6:16 am

Interestingly, Sheldon has the exact same CPU and apparently similar ASUS mobo as you, and has similar launch issues with 15.1.

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=79253&p=442673#p442673

I've asked him to try 15.0.1, and see if it runs for him like it runs for you.

If it does, then it sort of points to an issue with the AMD Phenom 2 CPU and 15.1+.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Boris Kovalev

  • Posts: 104
  • Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:20 pm

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostFri Sep 28, 2018 2:17 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Interestingly, Sheldon has the exact same CPU and apparently similar ASUS mobo as you, and has similar launch issues with 15.1.

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=79253&p=442673#p442673

I've asked him to try 15.0.1, and see if it runs for him like it runs for you.

If it does, then it sort of points to an issue with the AMD Phenom 2 CPU and 15.1+.


Great! My guess is that as Fusion needs SSE4 to run and Resolve integrates it, CPUs without SSE4 extensions may fail. At least i have a more or less clear error message related to the lack of extensions on new Resolve builds on linux. Let's see what Sheldon says anyway. I can also try to move my HDD to Intel CPU during this weekend to see if it works.
Offline

Boris Kovalev

  • Posts: 104
  • Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:20 pm

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostSun Sep 30, 2018 8:45 am

Davinci 15.1.1 just worked on Core i7 3770k CPU.
I booted my drive on another machine (NFO file is here).
No other change was made as another NVIDIA card was used, so not even driver update involved.
Offline

FantasticRhino

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 9:11 pm
  • Real Name: Sheldon Clarke

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostMon Oct 01, 2018 1:47 pm

Hi Boris, I just posted a reply to my other thread on the weekend, confirming that the crashing issue is due to no support for the latest instruction sets on my Athlon X6...
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=79253&p=442673#p442989

I also have a slower Zotac mini PC with a more recent AMD APU (4 core with radeon integrated graphics) which supports SSE4.2 etc that runs Davinci just fine, but is a bit too sluggish to use effectively. It's looking more and more like it's time for an upgrade. :) Maybe one of those Threadrippers...
AMD Phenom 1090T - 6 core CPU
ASUS M4A87TD EVO motherboard
8GB RAM
Samsung EVO 512GB SSD
Geforce GTX 1050Ti
Offline

Rick van den Berg

  • Posts: 534
  • Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostMon Oct 01, 2018 2:38 pm

can someone confirm a working resolve on a ryzen 2600/2700(x)?
Offline

jrb101

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 10:16 am
  • Real Name: Jon Baker

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostMon Oct 01, 2018 3:03 pm

Rick van den Berg wrote:can someone confirm a working resolve on a ryzen 2600/2700(x)?


Not a 2600/2700, but 15.1 is working nicely on my Ryzen 3 2200G, so I would expect it to be fine on the higher processors.
Jon Baker
Current System: AMD Ryzen 2200G, AMD Radeon RX570 (4GB), 16GB 3000MHz RAM, Win 10, Resolve (Free) 16 BETA 4
It's low spec, but I only tend to work in 1080p30 or proxy/optimised workflows for 4K!
Offline

Boris Kovalev

  • Posts: 104
  • Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:20 pm

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostMon Oct 01, 2018 4:52 pm

FantasticRhino wrote:Hi Boris, I just posted a reply to my other thread on the weekend, confirming that the crashing issue is due to no support for the latest instruction sets on my Athlon X6...
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=79253&p=442673#p442989

I also have a slower Zotac mini PC with a more recent AMD APU (4 core with radeon integrated graphics) which supports SSE4.2 etc that runs Davinci just fine, but is a bit too sluggish to use effectively. It's looking more and more like it's time for an upgrade. :) Maybe one of those Threadrippers...


That is an issue on linux for some time now, but i guess windows version is more critical, so there is a chance non-SSE4 processors will get a fix.
My 1090t is still good enough for basic 4k work, so i'll wait to see what happens rather than buying a new mobo/cpu/memory.
All we could do is done, so keep your fingers crossed now ;)
Offline

mister_cg

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 5:51 pm
  • Real Name: Christian Gassner

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostWed Oct 03, 2018 9:52 am

I have updated now to v15.1.1005 as suggested but unfortunately Davinci Resolve is still not booting up.
Last working version was v15.0.0088.
Attached the logs as requested. The Windows System Information is in the zip file.

As the forum does not allow me to post URLs i will send the information via PM to Dwaine.
MySystem:
SW: Davinci Resolve Studio v15.0.0088 (because v15.2.2.007 is crashing!)
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1100T
GPU: Radeon RX580 8GB (OpenCL 25.20.15011.1004)
RAM: 16GB
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit installed on SSD
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5582
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Update, 15.1 stall at control panel during launch

PostThu Oct 04, 2018 12:12 am

I would say you are suffering from the same AMD Phenom II CPU issue other users are experiencing with 15.1.1.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Next

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JMingo, joeeckardt, Timothy Clark and 80 guests