DaVinci Resolve and Multi-Core processor

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

twentyfourimages

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:57 pm
  • Real Name: Todd Hart

DaVinci Resolve and Multi-Core processor

PostThu Oct 04, 2018 4:02 pm

I use Adobe and recently purchased DaVinci. Adobe doesn't take full use of my hardware (AMD 2990wx 32-core processor, GeForce 1080ti, 64GB 2667 ram, nvme m.2 SSD drives) because it still skips while scrubbing timeline and some effects take forever to apply. I've heard Adobe doesn't take full advantage of these new multi-core processors.

Will DaVinci like my computer system? Or is DaVinci built to favor Intel or processors with 8 cores or less?
Offline

MishaEngel

  • Posts: 1326
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:18 am
  • Real Name: Misha Engel

Re: DaVinci Resolve and Multi-Core processor

PostThu Oct 04, 2018 6:05 pm

twentyfourimages wrote:I use Adobe and recently purchased DaVinci. Adobe doesn't take full use of my hardware (AMD 2990wx 32-core processor, GeForce 1080ti, 64GB 2667 ram, nvme m.2 SSD drives) because it still skips while scrubbing timeline and some effects take forever to apply. I've heard Adobe doesn't take full advantage of these new multi-core processors.

Will DaVinci like my computer system? Or is DaVinci built to favor Intel or processors with 8 cores or less?


Still not clear at the moment

https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=70646

and



Image

Long story short, nobody has a clear answer (BlackmagicDesign, Microsoft and AMD).
Offline

Carsten Sellberg

  • Posts: 1098
  • Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 9:13 am

Re: DaVinci Resolve and Multi-Core processor

PostThu Oct 04, 2018 6:14 pm

Hi.

In Resolve the CPU is used to run the app, disk I/O and compression and decompression of codecs.
Resolve does all its image processing in the GPU on the graphics card. More CUDA/OpenCL Cores are better.

When I think back on the reviews I read on the AMD 2990wx 32-core processor, do I remember that it is good to run many different programs at once, not to run only one single program. My personal feeling was, that there is a problem in Windows, as some few Linux programs scaled much better. But only time can tell.

Regards Carsten.
URSA Mini 4.6K
Offline

Dan Sherman

  • Posts: 1049
  • Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 11:07 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve and Multi-Core processor

PostThu Oct 04, 2018 6:18 pm

In general It's true Adobe favors fewer cores with higher clock speeds, and Resolve seems to do better at utilizing more cores.

However, when toy get int to the high core/thread count zone the answer always becomes it depends.

Some tasks simply can't be palatalized indefinitely.
X99-A II, 6850K 4.2 GHz, GTX 1070 FE (431.36), DDR4-2400 CL12-14-14 4x8 GB
Win 10 Pro 1809, Resolve Studio 16.1.0b.017
Offline

richardford

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2019 10:19 am
  • Real Name: Richard Ford

Re: DaVinci Resolve and Multi-Core processor

PostMon Apr 20, 2020 3:24 pm

Is there any newer info on this?

I have a 12 core mac with 128GB RAM. Resolve is very sluggish rendering whilst at the same time all other activity is slowed down (as if it's hogging resources) - but in Activity monitor it's only using 8% or so of the CPU and the memory use is also at less than 20% .

If I was able to tell it use more cores that at least would troubleshoot this situation.

Does anyone know if that is possible, either in the free or paid versions?
Offline

MishaEngel

  • Posts: 1326
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:18 am
  • Real Name: Misha Engel

Re: DaVinci Resolve and Multi-Core processor

PostMon Apr 20, 2020 8:49 pm

richardford wrote:Is there any newer info on this?

I have a 12 core mac with 128GB RAM. Resolve is very sluggish rendering whilst at the same time all other activity is slowed down (as if it's hogging resources) - but in Activity monitor it's only using 8% or so of the CPU and the memory use is also at less than 20% .

If I was able to tell it use more cores that at least would troubleshoot this situation.

Does anyone know if that is possible, either in the free or paid versions?


Look at your GPU load.
The paid version is so cheap, just buy it when you want to do some real work with it.
Offline

RandyOK

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2019 5:30 pm
  • Location: Oklahoma
  • Real Name: Randy Burleson

Re: DaVinci Resolve and Multi-Core processor

PostSun Jun 28, 2020 2:32 pm

So for Resolve daily editing... using Color or Fusion or Fairlight... probably no noticeable difference between a i9 9900K and a Ryzen 9 3950x?
DaVinci Resolve STUDIO 16.1.2.026
Puget Systems
Windows 10 Pro OS
i9 9940X CPU
Dual RTX 2080Ti GPUs
64GB RAM
Offline

Carsten Sellberg

  • Posts: 1098
  • Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 9:13 am

Re: DaVinci Resolve and Multi-Core processor

PostSun Jun 28, 2020 3:26 pm

Hi.

I am sorry, but I can't see what a two old post about the previous generation AMD 2990wx CPU or a two month old post about a 12 core mac have to do with, either the Intel i9 9900K or the Ryzen 9 3950x?
Suggest you create your own thread. Then we will be very happy to answer you.

Regards Carsten.
URSA Mini 4.6K

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Eric Testroete, Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, Jason Conrad, markfelt, ryanloetscher, xunile and 101 guests