Can't get DaVinci Resolve 15 to load on Windows 10

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

AndyWain

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 8:19 pm
  • Real Name: Andy Wain

Can't get DaVinci Resolve 15 to load on Windows 10

PostTue Oct 09, 2018 8:32 pm

Hi all,

I've downloaded the free version of DaVinci Resolve and installed it as normal. The first time I loaded the software I was given the option to look at a tour, which I did. There were then two settings options that I had to choose, I forget what they were now but it was nothing out of the ordinary.

Resolve didn't load up. When I try to load the software it appears in Task Manager with 145.5MB allocated RAM, but then it doesn't do anything else. I'm at a loss as to what to do now. Earlier versions of Resolve have worked fine, although I have done a fresh install of Windows since then.

My system specs are as follows:

MSI Z270 PC Mate motherboard
i7-7700K CPU
EVGA Superclocked Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU
32GB DDR4 RAM

Any help or suggestions gratefully received!
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7197
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't get DaVinci Resolve 15 to load on Windows 10

PostTue Oct 09, 2018 10:32 pm

In a File Explorer window, go to:

C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve

and run CaptureLogs

Then open Windows System Information and do a File - Save (Not a File Export), which will generate a .NFO file.

Place both those files on a file sharing site and provide links to the files here.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

AndyWain

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 8:19 pm
  • Real Name: Andy Wain

Re: Can't get DaVinci Resolve 15 to load on Windows 10

PostTue Oct 09, 2018 11:12 pm

Thanks for your quick reply Dwaine!

Here's the download link:

https://mega.nz/#F!KhZBnIRA!yFCVQuf4cO1SolfYyxp4ZQ
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7197
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't get DaVinci Resolve 15 to load on Windows 10

PostWed Oct 10, 2018 4:53 pm

Try my suggestion at the end of this thread:

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=60262
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

esemczak

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:01 pm
  • Real Name: Emilian Semczak

Re: Can't get DaVinci Resolve 15 to load on Windows 10

PostWed Oct 10, 2018 11:02 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Try my suggestion at the end of this thread:

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=60262


Thank you. For the future reference, it also solved my (and apparently common) problem on Dell XPS 15 9570. I simply moved the "igdrclneo64.dll" file away from C:\WINDOWS\system32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ki127034.inf_amd64_67158b9e3d4a0df5 folder and now I can enjoy working with DaVinci again.

To quickly locate the said file, you can run a search command in PowerShell terminal (run it as Administrator):

Code: Select all
Get-ChildItem -Path C:\WINDOWS\system32\DriverStore\FileRepository -Filter igdrclneo64.dll -Recurse -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue -Force
Offline

AndyWain

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 8:19 pm
  • Real Name: Andy Wain

Re: Can't get DaVinci Resolve 15 to load on Windows 10

PostThu Oct 11, 2018 1:10 am

Thank you so much Dwaine, that's sorted it!

I've also been unable to run any version of Premiere Pro newer than CS6 with this Windows install, and now that is working as well. I had suspected that it was something to do with CUDA (CS6 will only run a software renderer), but I had no idea what to do about it.

Thanks for vindicating my suspicions, and even more thanks for fixing the problem.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: SylvestCorp and 118 guests