Corrupt BRAW files

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

solog80

  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:24 am
  • Real Name: Solomon Ato

Corrupt BRAW files

PostThu Oct 18, 2018 6:03 am

Hello, we filmed some clips on the mini pro in BRAW but unfortunatly some turned out to be corrupted i would say. What do you think could be the problem with these clips.
All they show is black in the player and cant be imported in resolve

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1ld1dQ ... w48WJx7sxN
MBP2017, MacOS 10.15.5, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3,
Radeon Pro 560 4096 MB, Resolve Studio 16.2.3

Imac 5K 2017, MacOS 10.15.5, 3.8 GHz Intel Core i5, 40 GB 2400 MHz DDR4, Radeon Pro 580 8192 MB, Resolve Studio 16.2.3
Offline

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 1014
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostThu Oct 18, 2018 7:09 am

Try disabling GPU decoding of braw files in Resolve system preferences. There is another thread about the same problem:
https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=80595
I do stuff.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 8554
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostThu Oct 18, 2018 3:07 pm

The file doesn't even show up for me in Media Storage using Studio 15.1.2 on Windows 10 Pro (1803).

Other BRAW files show up fine.
Offline
User avatar

Johannes Jonsson

  • Posts: 144
  • Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 2:35 pm
  • Location: Iceland

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostThu Oct 18, 2018 3:26 pm

Jim Simon wrote:The file doesn't even show up for me in Media Storage using Studio 15.1.2 on Windows 10 Pro (1803).

Other BRAW files show up fine.


I am having the same problem on my desktop but those same files are working fine on my Laptop, both are windows 10 64bit.
Dwain is taking a look at it.

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=80595
Johannes
Offline
User avatar

solog80

  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:24 am
  • Real Name: Solomon Ato

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostThu Oct 18, 2018 5:02 pm

Hi I tried that already and it still doesn't work. These files dont even play in the Raw player
MBP2017, MacOS 10.15.5, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3,
Radeon Pro 560 4096 MB, Resolve Studio 16.2.3

Imac 5K 2017, MacOS 10.15.5, 3.8 GHz Intel Core i5, 40 GB 2400 MHz DDR4, Radeon Pro 580 8192 MB, Resolve Studio 16.2.3
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2973
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostThu Oct 18, 2018 5:04 pm

Jim Simon wrote:The file doesn't even show up for me in Media Storage using Studio 15.1.2 on Windows 10 Pro (1803).

Other BRAW files show up fine.


Same Jim. Sorry...
Upload issue? Can you republish your clip again? :)
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Win10-1809 | Resolve Studio V16.1 | Fusion Studio V16.1 | Decklink 4K Extreme 6G | RTX 2080Ti 431.86 NSD driver! |
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2973
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostThu Oct 18, 2018 5:21 pm

solog80 wrote:Hello, we filmed some clips on the mini pro in BRAW but unfortunatly some turned out to be corrupted i would say. What do you think could be the problem with these clips.
All they show is black in the player and cant be imported in resolve

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1ld1dQ ... w48WJx7sxN


@solog80

Testing our clip and my Davinci Resolve LOG SAY :


Code: Select all
[0x00002f10] | IO                   | ERROR | 2018-10-18 19:15:51,219 | Braw HRESULT = 0x80004005
[0x00002f10] | IO                   | ERROR | 2018-10-18 19:15:51,219 | Failed to open video file <K:\_Shots_Shots\BMD_RAW\test\A001_09261721_C133.braw> for decoding, error: <Codec is not opened yet.>
[0x00002f10] | IO                   | ERROR | 2018-10-18 19:15:51,219 | Failed to read video track information from file <A001_09261721_C133.braw> in K:\_Shots_Shots\BMD_RAW\test, track 0: codec DUMMY is not supported


Sure... your clip is corrupted... :( :oops:

Upload again? :)
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Win10-1809 | Resolve Studio V16.1 | Fusion Studio V16.1 | Decklink 4K Extreme 6G | RTX 2080Ti 431.86 NSD driver! |
Offline
User avatar

solog80

  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:24 am
  • Real Name: Solomon Ato

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostThu Oct 18, 2018 5:49 pm

Hi Jean,
Thanks for the test. I dont know how this happened. I suspect it was a copying error from the cfast card to the PC.
Its just a few files like that, the rest are good.

So can these be recovered or repaired
MBP2017, MacOS 10.15.5, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3,
Radeon Pro 560 4096 MB, Resolve Studio 16.2.3

Imac 5K 2017, MacOS 10.15.5, 3.8 GHz Intel Core i5, 40 GB 2400 MHz DDR4, Radeon Pro 580 8192 MB, Resolve Studio 16.2.3
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2973
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostThu Oct 18, 2018 5:56 pm

solog80 wrote:Hi Jean,
Thanks for the test. I dont know how this happened. I suspect it was a copying error from the cfast card to the PC.
Its just a few files like that, the rest are good.

So can these be recovered or repaired


:oops: :oops:

No, I do not think so because the Braw in binary recording. If it's corrupted => it's lost ... Sorry
In general it is necessary to control before removing from the support the clips ...
Hoping someone has a better solution ... :?:
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Win10-1809 | Resolve Studio V16.1 | Fusion Studio V16.1 | Decklink 4K Extreme 6G | RTX 2080Ti 431.86 NSD driver! |
Offline
User avatar

solog80

  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:24 am
  • Real Name: Solomon Ato

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostThu Oct 18, 2018 6:35 pm

Thanks again
MBP2017, MacOS 10.15.5, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3,
Radeon Pro 560 4096 MB, Resolve Studio 16.2.3

Imac 5K 2017, MacOS 10.15.5, 3.8 GHz Intel Core i5, 40 GB 2400 MHz DDR4, Radeon Pro 580 8192 MB, Resolve Studio 16.2.3
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 8554
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostThu Oct 18, 2018 10:30 pm

solog80 wrote:I suspect it was a copying error


I use the following with MD5 checksum for all media copying

http://www.codesector.com/teracopy
Offline
User avatar

GregGreenhaw

  • Posts: 149
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:46 pm

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostSat Dec 08, 2018 8:01 am

I'm getting the same results on all files on my cfast. Is there a debug app we can use to recover this media?

0x70000c914000] | IO | ERROR | 2018-12-08 02:57:25,623 | Failed to open video file </Volumes/A002/A002_12031718_C004.braw> for decoding, error: <Codec is not opened yet.>
[0x70000c914000] | IO | ERROR | 2018-12-08 02:57:25,623 | Failed to read video track information from file <A002_12031718_C004.braw> in /Volumes/A002, track 0: codec DUMMY is not supported
[0x70000c891000] | IO | ERROR | 2018-12-08 02:57:25,973 | Braw HRESULT = 0x80000008
[0x70000c891000] | IO | ERROR | 2018-12-08 02:57:25,973 | Failed to open video file </Volumes/A002/A002_12031714_C003.braw> for decoding, error: <Codec is not opened yet.>
[0x70000c891000] | IO | ERROR | 2018-12-08 02:57:25,973 | Failed to read video track information from file <A002_12031714_C003.braw> in /Volumes/A002, track 0: codec DUMMY is not supported
[0x70000b7ae000] | IO | ERROR | 2018-12-08 02:57:26,087 | Braw HRESULT = 0x80000008
[0x70000b7ae000] | IO | ERROR | 2018-12-08 02:57:26,087 | Failed to open video file </Volumes/A002/A002_12031445_C001.braw> for decoding, error: <Codec is not opened yet.>
[0x70000b7ae000] | IO | ERROR | 2018-12-08 02:57:26,087 | Failed to read video track information from file <A002_12031445_C001.braw> in /Volumes/A002, track 0: codec DUMMY is not supported
[0x70000d1c7000] | IO | ERROR | 2018-12-08 02:57:26,787 | Braw HRESULT = 0x80000008
Offline

vasile

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 8:20 am
  • Real Name: Vasile Todinca

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostSun Apr 14, 2019 8:31 am

Hello guys.

I'm having the same problem right now. Some files can be opened and some can't. I tried Premiere Pro with Braw Studio plug-in, DaVinci Resolve 16, Media Encoder so far, but nothing. I even tried a braw viewer for windows and some play well but some (the ones that cannot be opened with the programs I listed above) won't. Also tried all the above on a mac, but the same result. I recorded them on Ursa mini pro 4.6, in DCI 4k, 5:1 braw on blackmagic ssd recorder with samsung evo 860 and samsung pro 850 (both of them being official suported by blackmagic).

Did you guys manage to solve this issue so far? Are there any chances to use these files?
Offline

beaurosario

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2019 8:48 pm
  • Real Name: Beau Rosario

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostSun Jun 30, 2019 8:28 pm

Is there ANY hope for this???

I just went to South Sudan primarily to film an interview. Out of the hundreds of clips I captured over the two-week trip, only two files were corrupt- and they happened to be BOTH the Cam A and Cam B of the main interview.

I have no idea what I'm going to do if I can't get at least one of these recovered. Anyone have any suggestions? Blackmagic?
Offline

krychu

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2019 10:23 am
  • Real Name: Mariusz Krysiak

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostSat Sep 14, 2019 8:22 pm

Hi! Just only that i make a copy with 2 external drives as a backup - save files for me.

On one of backup drives 1% of files is corrupted. On second - also - but the summary is 0 corrupted.

Now i will be using copy with cheksum or smth. Or cheking if they are playing after copy.
Offline

JaredIsham

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 7:47 pm

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostWed Oct 23, 2019 10:46 pm

I just shot a quick interview and I'm getting the same error - It won't play in Premiere or Resolve with the latest RAW player 1.5 installed. I get the error "Failed to create BlackmagicRAW codec" when I try to open in the Blackmagic Raw Player - Resolve doesn't even see that the files are there and Premiere fails to import them.

I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling the player multiple times but no such luck.

And the files play fine in my BMPCC 4K so I doubt that they are corrupt files.
Offline

JaredIsham

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 7:47 pm

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostFri Oct 25, 2019 5:31 am

I just did a fresh install of Windows 10 on my computer and still it does not work. The files work fine on my laptop but not on my desktop. I had a project I created on my laptop and the files imported into premiere fine and I got them to play with the RAW player.

On my desktop I have had no such luck with anything BRAW.

I installed the latest updates today on the fresh install of Windows with no luck - The RAW Player still gives me the "Failed to create BlackmagicRAW codec" error and the Blackmagic RAW Speed Test app won't even open.

Resolve seems to open fine it really comes down to the BRAW files.

My system:
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.20 GHz
32GB RAM
Windows 10 Home 64bit
NVidia GeForce GTX 1070
Offline

vrajadhama

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2019 10:26 pm
  • Real Name: denver mccarthy

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostSun Nov 17, 2019 10:32 pm

Hi,
I have some corrupted braw files on a hard drive. Funny thing was- they were working fine for a few days- then they stopped working. And the resolve project wont open. So no worries I thought- still have the original files from the camera drive. Lo and behold- they are also corrupted when I load the, into resolve.

Can someone solve this mystery? Much appreciated
Offline
User avatar

DerPaule13

  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2019 8:28 am
  • Real Name: Paul Kuno

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostMon Nov 25, 2019 12:42 pm

Still no answer from Blackmagicdesign? :shock:
Is there any way to recover corrupted BRAW-files?
DR 16.2.1.017 - Windows 10 Home 64 bit - Intel i7-6850K - 64 GB RAM - Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 TI | Studio driver 432.00 - 8-bay Synology NAS 1819+ (48 TB) - Network & Internet connection via 10GbE LAN - Avira Anitvirus
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 8554
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostMon Nov 25, 2019 3:37 pm

I wonder if you guys are running into the nVidia driver bug.

Make sure to turn off GPU Decoding for BRAW in Preferences.
Offline
User avatar

ryantidrick

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2019 7:05 pm
  • Location: Golan Heights, Israel
  • Real Name: Ryan Tidrick

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostTue Dec 17, 2019 8:10 pm

I ran into this same issue. Lost a whole day worth of raw footage while traveling in Italy due to an issue when moving files to a faulty drive (hardware failure). From now on using Teracopy to verify checksums before formatting original drive. But can't go back in time so have to figure out how to recover 250+ corrupted BRAW files.

I'm about to pay nearly $1000 to recover all these files with a company called AeroQuartet. https://aeroquartet.com/

They were able to provide a preview of the corrupted files successfully repaired so I have hope it'll work. Will post results afterwards, hopefully this is a good solution that, while expensive, can save your reputation recovering priceless footage. If you only have a few clips it's a lot cheaper.

Anyone else have any reports working with them?
Offline

TanaTodd

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:57 pm
  • Real Name: Tana Todd

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostFri Jan 17, 2020 8:21 pm

Hey man, similar problem here.

My .BRAW file plays in the RAW player, but once it is dropped into the timeline of Resolve, the dreaded "Media Offline" errors pop up throughout the clip. Just as you did, I contacted AeroQuartet about it, and have yet to receive a response.

My theory: I used an SD card (SanDisk Ultra PLUS 256 GB micro V10 XCI) that didn't write fast enough to keep up with my BMPCC4K. Although, it is the first of TWO clips taken on the same card, and the latter clip turned out just fine.

BM tech support doesn't seem to have an answer, and the GPU decode/relink media hacks did not solve my issue.

My Solution: I am playing the corrupted (I guess I can call it corrupted at this point) clip in the BM RAW player, and using a screen recording app to re-record the footage as it plays. It does appear that some frames are missing, in small and medium-sized chunks. There is perceptible "lag" between many frames in the clip. It's the best I got.
Offline

Niki Drozdowski

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 8:13 am

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostWed Apr 22, 2020 5:28 pm

Hi guys,

I ran into exactly the same problem, but I found the solution (which is pretty stupid ...)

I shot a short project in BRAW. All the clips up to #81 are fine - after that: "Media Offline" in Resolve, audio is there. But everything fine in BM Raw Player.

After I found the solution, I retrospectively figured out, what set the clips from #82 on apart from the others: The light went away and I switched to 3200 ISO.

And the simple and stupid solution is:
Change the "Decode using" BRAW-settings in the color tab of Resolve to "clip" and select something else than ISO 3200 -> clip is visible again!
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 7201
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostThu Apr 23, 2020 2:11 am

Does that still happen in the current version (16.2.1)?
Resolve Studio 16.2.2 and Fusion Studio under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Mac mini 16 GB RAM plus eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580
Offline
User avatar

SantenPlu

  • Posts: 94
  • Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 3:33 pm
  • Location: Germany
  • Real Name: Santen Plur

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostMon May 11, 2020 4:51 pm

Uli Plank wrote:Does that still happen in the current version (16.2.1)?


I just have a corrupt file recorded with BMPCC 4K on a Samsung T5.
It is one file around 100 files recorded that day.
I don´t know if the file was corrupt on the Samsung T5 because the disk is in use again.
But on all backups the file is corrupt and can´t be opened either with DR or with the Windows Braw Player.
Offline

RaibZer

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 4:09 pm
  • Real Name: Jens Lundgren

Re: Corrupt BRAW files

PostThu Aug 06, 2020 6:17 pm

Niki Drozdowski wrote:Hi guys,

I ran into exactly the same problem, but I found the solution (which is pretty stupid ...)

I shot a short project in BRAW. All the clips up to #81 are fine - after that: "Media Offline" in Resolve, audio is there. But everything fine in BM Raw Player.

After I found the solution, I retrospectively figured out, what set the clips from #82 on apart from the others: The light went away and I switched to 3200 ISO.

And the simple and stupid solution is:
Change the "Decode using" BRAW-settings in the color tab of Resolve to "clip" and select something else than ISO 3200 -> clip is visible again!


Thank you so much for this! I had exact same problem and this solved my issue. Thanks a ton!

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Cary Knoop, Charlieguirlet and 97 guests