any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linux

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Hakim Craddock

  • Posts: 143
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:23 pm

any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linux

PostFri Feb 01, 2019 12:21 am

Not sure if anyone else is experiencing issues with Resolve on linux not being able to record audio with a mic under fairlight. Just trying to see if anyone else has it working. My mic works fine in other software but nothing in resolve.

Thank you.
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 1533
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostFri Feb 01, 2019 5:55 am

Are you using an input device with an ALSA driver?
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6160
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostFri Feb 01, 2019 5:59 am

How is your mic connected? Is it a USB mic?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

jwamshop

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 3:23 pm
  • Real Name: Janne Kronbäck

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostSat Feb 02, 2019 12:26 am

I'm trying to do the same thing right now.
I have an USB-mic (Blue Snowball) connected, which I can record from in Audacity.
In the mixer-settings in fairlight. I have two 'Audio Inputs'
1: ALSA (Audio 1-L, Audio 1-R)
2: ALSA (Audio 2-L, Audio 2-R)

Track Input:
Audio 1-L (1: ALSA)
Audio 1-R (1: ALSA)
Audio 2-L (2: ALSA)
Audio 2-R (2: ALSA)

Nothing happens when connecting any of these. (I've pressed the 'R' in the mixer for both channels) and tried to record.
Offline

Hakim Craddock

  • Posts: 143
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:23 pm

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostSat Feb 02, 2019 11:36 am

Dwaine Maggart wrote:How is your mic connected? Is it a USB mic?


Yes it's a USB mic blue snowball.
Offline

Hakim Craddock

  • Posts: 143
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:23 pm

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostSat Feb 02, 2019 11:37 am

Reynaud Venter wrote:Are you using an input device with an ALSA driver?

There is no option to choose which driver to use in the sound settings. But my mic works fine in other apps.
Offline

Hakim Craddock

  • Posts: 143
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:23 pm

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostSat Feb 02, 2019 11:39 am

jwamshop wrote:I'm trying to do the same thing right now.
I have an USB-mic (Blue Snowball) connected, which I can record from in Audacity.
In the mixer-settings in fairlight. I have two 'Audio Inputs'
1: ALSA (Audio 1-L, Audio 1-R)
2: ALSA (Audio 2-L, Audio 2-R)

Track Input:
Audio 1-L (1: ALSA)
Audio 1-R (1: ALSA)
Audio 2-L (2: ALSA)
Audio 2-R (2: ALSA)

Nothing happens when connecting any of these. (I've pressed the 'R' in the mixer for both channels) and tried to record.


I have the same exact setup. No luck!
Offline

Hakim Craddock

  • Posts: 143
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:23 pm

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostSun Feb 03, 2019 2:13 pm

maybee if there is a way to select which driver the mic uses. But i dont see any way to do it. Hopefully BM will fix this issue in the next update. Manjaro is pretty sweet.
Offline

maikonaraujo

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:19 pm
  • Real Name: Maikon Araujo

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostWed Feb 13, 2019 2:47 pm

I can confirm the same issue. Can't record audio on linux.
Offline

deezid

  • Posts: 275
  • Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:38 am
  • Real Name: Dennis Schmitz

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostThu Feb 14, 2019 1:18 am

Really hoping this audio input bug or limitation can be fixed soon.
One of the few issues left. Was even able to install Davinci Resolve Studio on a new Manjaro installation via the graphical installer like you would do on Windows or MacOs - nice! And it works just fine, of course I installed cuda before.
Download my 55M Advanced Luts for the Pocket 4K and 6K here:
www.55media.net/55m-p4k-color
Offline

Hakim Craddock

  • Posts: 143
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:23 pm

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostTue Mar 19, 2019 3:56 pm

Still not working!
Offline

Mark_Rodriquez

  • Posts: 160
  • Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:56 am

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostTue Mar 19, 2019 5:30 pm

Hakim Craddock wrote:Still not working!


I apologize if this isn't helpful, but on Windows you have to go into the microphone settings and change it from 44KHz to 48KHz (or something like that). I know I saw a video on youtube on this somewhere.

I don't know if most Linux distros have that issue or not. Hopefully it is an easy fix.
Windows 10, 64 Bit
i7-6770
24GB DDR4 Memory
RTX 2060 SUPER 8GB VRAM
Offline

amdavid

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2019 9:27 am
  • Real Name: Anton David

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostFri Mar 22, 2019 1:47 pm

Hi,
I have the same issue.
My onboard soundcard works, I can record audio using other applications but not using Fairlight.
My system is CentOS 7.
Resolve 15.3

I can assign ALSA (I have 1 & 2) plugin to any track, click the "R" on track hit the record button but there is no audio. I am right in saying I should see some form of input level on the mixer, but nothing there.

Thanks
Anton

See the screenshot below. Also, I attached the Audacity screen grab to show the audacity just works.
Attachments
Audacity.jpg
Just to show Audacity works
Audacity.jpg (192.91 KiB) Viewed 5174 times
fairlight-no-audio.jpg
Linux-No-Mic-audio
fairlight-no-audio.jpg (225.17 KiB) Viewed 5174 times
Last edited by amdavid on Sun Mar 24, 2019 2:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

jwamshop

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 3:23 pm
  • Real Name: Janne Kronbäck

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostFri Mar 22, 2019 5:27 pm

It would be very helpful if a dev could shed some light over what exactly is supposed to work - if anything.
Offline

amdavid

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2019 9:27 am
  • Real Name: Anton David

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostSun Mar 24, 2019 2:19 pm

Hi,
I tried the audio recording on CentOS and other Debian based releases such as Ubuntu & Mint with no success.

Thanks
Anton
Offline

amdavid

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2019 9:27 am
  • Real Name: Anton David

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostSat Apr 06, 2019 8:31 pm

Anyone have any idea?
Offline

Mark_Rodriquez

  • Posts: 160
  • Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:56 am

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostSat Apr 06, 2019 9:39 pm

Although this fix is for Win 10, maybe there is a possibility it will work with some of the various Linux distros out there???

Windows 10, 64 Bit
i7-6770
24GB DDR4 Memory
RTX 2060 SUPER 8GB VRAM
Offline

amdavid

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2019 9:27 am
  • Real Name: Anton David

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostTue Apr 09, 2019 1:19 pm

I tried it on Davinci Resolve 16, same results - no recording :(
Offline

deezid

  • Posts: 275
  • Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:38 am
  • Real Name: Dennis Schmitz

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostTue Apr 09, 2019 1:33 pm

amdavid wrote:I tried it on Davinci Resolve 16, same results - no recording :(


This is kinda incredible...
Download my 55M Advanced Luts for the Pocket 4K and 6K here:
www.55media.net/55m-p4k-color
Offline

TimSquires

  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 4:25 pm

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostTue Apr 09, 2019 3:40 pm

I am unable to record audio from my Rode AI-1 (plus Rode Lav) using 16 on my Mac. However this is the first audio experiment I have done so I don't know if it would work under 15. It records fine using Garageband.
The input is set to 48k and the Rode appears as an input in the mixer window but I get no bars in the meters and nothing is recorded.
Quite prepared to accept this is all me and my stupidity... but help gratefully received!
Tim Squires
UK
Offline

jwamshop

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 3:23 pm
  • Real Name: Janne Kronbäck

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostSat Apr 13, 2019 9:26 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:How is your mic connected? Is it a USB mic?


It would be very nice if we could get any feedback on this.
Mine is a USB mic (Snowball). But I have also tried all other analog inputs without success.
Offline

Hakim Craddock

  • Posts: 143
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:23 pm

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostSun Apr 14, 2019 2:32 pm

jwamshop wrote:
Dwaine Maggart wrote:How is your mic connected? Is it a USB mic?


It would be very nice if we could get any feedback on this.
Mine is a USB mic (Snowball). But I have also tried all other analog inputs without success.


Bumping this as input (pun not intended) on this would be nice.
Offline

Thomas Lombard

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 6:24 pm
  • Location: Moulins, FRANCE

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostWed Apr 17, 2019 7:33 pm

I confirm to
Cannot record mic under Linux (ubuntu) Studio Version 15.3 and Beta16.
I tried many solution, like force pulse / alsa / jack / Etc...

I'm pretty sad, I just bought Declink mini monitor for proceding ADR to project :?

Hope a fix or solution
Thomas LOMBARD
Multi PC WorkStation - GNU/Linux OS
Freenas server - PostgreSQL Collaboration
http://www.yujo.fr - French Vidéo Edition Agency
Offline
User avatar

rugubara

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2018 6:03 am
  • Location: Moscow, Russia
  • Real Name: Anton Gubarkov

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostSun May 05, 2019 9:17 am

I confirm that I failed to connect any input to DR 15.3.1 for ADR on linux.

Generally speaking, using ALSA as and API for professional audio purposes in linux in 2018-2019 is questionable. All professional DAWs use JACK. All modern desktop environments use Pulseaudio. In either case the soundcard is exclusively taken by either jack or pulse.

DR fails to enumerate and choose any ALSA devices/plugins/aliases, whatever I put into asound.conf. It works only with ALSA default device.

I manage to patch DR directly to JACK by using ALSA jack plugin. When DR starts, I can see 2 new outputs in jack and can patch them wherever I want. But I can't see 2 new inputs that I'd expect from the following config in asound.conf
Image

It seems that DR doesn't open the inputs.

The output in the terminal suggests that DR knows about both pulse and jack:

Code: Select all
anton@PF16W6Y2 ~ $ /opt/resolve/bin/resolve
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= c005, Mode= 13, Level=  1, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= c006, Mode= 13, Level=  1, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= c007, Mode= 13, Level=  1, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= 2282, Mode=  0, Level=  0, CmdKey= 8, Option= 0
PnlMsgActionStringAdapter Already in Table: Code= 615e, Mode=  0, Level=  0, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
15.3.1 (#003) Linux/Clang
Main thread starts: 2E0A2A40
[0x7fcf2e0a2a40] | Undefined            | INFO  | 2019-05-05 12:03:18,109 | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[0x7fcf2e0a2a40] | Undefined            | INFO  | 2019-05-05 12:03:18,109 | Loaded log config from /opt/resolve/configs/log-conf.xml
[0x7fcf2e0a2a40] | Undefined            | INFO  | 2019-05-05 12:03:18,109 | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
JACK Audio Connection Kit
PulseAudio Sound Server


I'd hope very much that BMD would fix this nasty problem or at least provides a clear guide to configure an existing ALSA interface.
Offline

Hakim Craddock

  • Posts: 143
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:23 pm

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostMon May 06, 2019 4:48 am

rugubara wrote:I confirm that I failed to connect any input to DR 15.3.1 for ADR on linux.

Generally speaking, using ALSA as and API for professional audio purposes in linux in 2018-2019 is questionable. All professional DAWs use JACK. All modern desktop environments use Pulseaudio. In either case the soundcard is exclusively taken by either jack or pulse.

DR fails to enumerate and choose any ALSA devices/plugins/aliases, whatever I put into asound.conf. It works only with ALSA default device.

I manage to patch DR directly to JACK by using ALSA jack plugin. When DR starts, I can see 2 new outputs in jack and can patch them wherever I want. But I can't see 2 new inputs that I'd expect from the following config in asound.conf
Image

It seems that DR doesn't open the inputs.

The output in the terminal suggests that DR knows about both pulse and jack:

Code: Select all
anton@PF16W6Y2 ~ $ /opt/resolve/bin/resolve
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= c005, Mode= 13, Level=  1, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= c006, Mode= 13, Level=  1, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= c007, Mode= 13, Level=  1, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= 2282, Mode=  0, Level=  0, CmdKey= 8, Option= 0
PnlMsgActionStringAdapter Already in Table: Code= 615e, Mode=  0, Level=  0, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
15.3.1 (#003) Linux/Clang
Main thread starts: 2E0A2A40
[0x7fcf2e0a2a40] | Undefined            | INFO  | 2019-05-05 12:03:18,109 | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[0x7fcf2e0a2a40] | Undefined            | INFO  | 2019-05-05 12:03:18,109 | Loaded log config from /opt/resolve/configs/log-conf.xml
[0x7fcf2e0a2a40] | Undefined            | INFO  | 2019-05-05 12:03:18,109 | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
JACK Audio Connection Kit
PulseAudio Sound Server


I'd hope very much that BMD would fix this nasty problem or at least provides a clear guide to configure an existing ALSA interface.


When you patch DR directly using Jack were you able to get ADR to work? Also where can i get the ALSA jack plugin?
Offline

Hakim Craddock

  • Posts: 143
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:23 pm

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostMon May 06, 2019 2:26 pm

Still broken on DR16b2.. :oops:
Offline

amdavid

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2019 9:27 am
  • Real Name: Anton David

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostSat Jun 08, 2019 9:45 am

Hakim Craddock wrote:Still broken on DR16b2.. :oops:

Still it is not working on resolve 16.0.0B.32 (Beta 16.4). Tried on CentOs, Debian (Mint & Ubuntu) and Arch.
Offline

Adam Brown

  • Posts: 47
  • Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 2:29 pm

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostWed Jul 03, 2019 7:59 am

Has anyone managed to find a workaround for this on Linux? Also is it just USB microphones, or does the limitation apply to all microphones?
Offline

Sam Moorfield

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 1:02 am

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostFri Sep 20, 2019 4:29 am

I gave up trying to record with a bluetooth mic and connected a logitech usb mic. It works system-wide but not detected inside Resolve.
Offline

amdavid

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2019 9:27 am
  • Real Name: Anton David

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostSat Sep 28, 2019 3:07 pm

This is not a USB mic limitation, all mics have the same problem even with the very latest Beta release :(
Offline

Adam Brown

  • Posts: 47
  • Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 2:29 pm

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostSat Sep 28, 2019 4:03 pm

amdavid wrote:This is not a USB mic limitation, all mics have the same problem even with the very latest Beta release :(


Thats a real shame. I can't understand why it is so difficult for blackmagic to get this working? Anyone know what is holding this back?
Offline

jwamshop

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 3:23 pm
  • Real Name: Janne Kronbäck

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostSun Sep 29, 2019 10:07 am

Adam Brown wrote:
amdavid wrote:This is not a USB mic limitation, all mics have the same problem even with the very latest Beta release :(


Thats a real shame. I can't understand why it is so difficult for blackmagic to get this working? Anyone know what is holding this back?


Difficult or not is irrelevant at this point. My biggest gripe is that they have not made any comments about this. Not on these threads or with their own description about what is and isn't supported on Linux. I've seen a single comment which was either "Which distribution" or "is it an USB-mic" - as if that would make a difference. So now I'd be glad to see a demonstration (any demonstration) that a mic is indeed supported, and we can proceed from there.
Offline

linuxfreak

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2018 3:08 pm
  • Real Name: Harald Klein

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostMon Oct 07, 2019 11:21 am

Doesn't work for me either. Testing with Resolve 16 Studio version, on Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8, with a Zoom F4 recoder put into Stereo Audio interface mode (USB).

The system audio preferences are set properly, and do show a good input level for the MIC:

Screenshot from 2019-10-07 13-08-46.png
Screenshot from 2019-10-07 13-08-46.png (34.45 KiB) Viewed 3362 times


The Resolve preferences don't allow to tweak any input settings:

Screenshot from 2019-10-07 13-10-01.png
Screenshot from 2019-10-07 13-10-01.png (60.97 KiB) Viewed 3362 times


The ALSA inputs in the Patch Input/Output dialog are patched to the respective track input:

Screenshot from 2019-10-07 13-11-23.png
Screenshot from 2019-10-07 13-11-23.png (22.31 KiB) Viewed 3362 times


But no signal is being recorded when I set the track to "R", and hit the record button. Also I don't see any levels indicated on the meters.

ALSA details:

Code: Select all
!!ALSA Version
!!------------

Driver version:     k4.18.0-80.11.2.el8_0.x86_64
Library version:    1.1.6
Utilities version:  1.1.6


!!Loaded ALSA modules
!!-------------------

snd_usb_audio
snd_hda_intel
snd_usb_audio



!!Sound Servers on this system
!!----------------------------

Pulseaudio:
      Installed - Yes (/usr/bin/pulseaudio)
      Running - Yes


!!Soundcards recognised by ALSA
!!-----------------------------

 0 [PMA60          ]: USB-Audio - PMA-60
                      D&M Holdings Inc. PMA-60 at usb-0000:00:14.0-5, high speed
 1 [HDMI           ]: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI HDMI
                      HDA ATI HDMI at 0xdfe60000 irq 141
 2 [Usb            ]: USB-Audio - H and F Series Stereo Track Usb
                      ZOOM Corporation H and F Series Stereo Track Usb at usb-0000:00:14.0-1, full sp


!!PCI Soundcards installed in the system
!!--------------------------------------

01:00.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Ellesmere HDMI Audio [Radeon RX 470/480 / 570/580/590]
05:00.0 Multimedia video controller: Blackmagic Design DeckLink Mini Monitor

!!Aplay/Arecord output
!!--------------------

APLAY

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PMA60 [PMA-60], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 10: HDMI 4 [HDMI 4]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 11: HDMI 5 [HDMI 5]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: Usb [H and F Series Stereo Track Usb], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

ARECORD

**** List of CAPTURE Hardware Devices ****
card 2: Usb [H and F Series Stereo Track Usb], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

!!-------Mixer controls for card 2 [Usb]

Card hw:2 'Usb'/'ZOOM Corporation H and F Series Stereo Track Usb at usb-0000:00:14.0-1, full sp'
  Mixer name   : 'USB Mixer'
  Components   : 'USB1686:0045'
  Controls      : 5
  Simple ctrls  : 1
Simple mixer control 'Mic',0
  Capabilities: cvolume cswitch cswitch-joined
  Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Capture 0 - 32767
  Front Left: Capture 32767 [100%] [0.00dB] [on]
  Front Right: Capture 32767 [100%] [0.00dB] [on]



So while this doesn't work on the supported RHEL, I did give it a try in Fedora 29 to rule out any distro specifics, but it doesn't work there either (also tried the internal microphone of the Lenovo laptop to rule out any issues with the Zoom F4 recorder).
Offline

tmdag1

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 11:41 pm
  • Real Name: Albert Szostkiewicz

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostSat Oct 19, 2019 8:04 am

This is still an issue. It's a shame that no developer is paying any interest while we do pay for the software. I guess company is not treating those forums seriously :(

I did tried forcing my microphone as a default input/output device in alsa config files (/etc/asound.conf, ~.asoundrc) but that did not help.

Code: Select all
defaults.pcm.card 0
defaults.ctl.card 0
pcm.!default {
    type hw
    card 0
}

ctl.!default {
    type hw
    card 0
}


We can also provide specific formats in alsa:
Code: Select all
Recognized sample formats are: S8 U8 S16_LE S16_BE U16_LE U16_BE S24_LE S24_BE U24_LE U24_BE S32_LE S32_BE U32_LE U32_BE FLOAT_LE FLOAT_BE FLOAT64_LE FLOAT64_BE IEC958_SUBFRAME_LE IEC958_SUBFRAME_BE MU_LAW A_LAW IMA_ADPCM MPEG GSM S20_LE S20_BE U20_LE U20_BE SPECIAL S24_3LE S24_3BE U24_3LE U24_3BE S20_3LE S20_3BE U20_3LE U20_3BE S18_3LE S18_3BE U18_3LE U18_3BE G723_24 G723_24_1B G723_40 G723_40_1B DSD_U8 DSD_U16_LE DSD_U32_LE DSD_U16_BE DSD_U32_BE
Some of these may not be available on selected hardware


I will try to force some of them and see whenever it changes anything for Davinci. But so far, No luck.
I've tried USB Rode Podcaster on RHEL

First line of this log snipped sounds interesting:
Code: Select all
Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
JACK Audio Connection Kit
PulseAudio Sound Server
Rode Podcaster, USB AudioDefault Audio Device
Rode Podcaster, USB AudioFront speakers
Rode Podcaster, USB Audio2.1 Surround output to Front and Subwoofer speakers
Rode Podcaster, USB Audio4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
Rode Podcaster, USB Audio4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
Rode Podcaster, USB Audio5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
Rode Podcaster, USB Audio5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
Rode Podcaster, USB Audio7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
Rode Podcaster, USB AudioIEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
Rode PodcasterUSB Stream Output



> aplay --list-pcms
Code: Select all
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
pulse
    PulseAudio Sound Server
sysdefault:CARD=Podcaster
    Rode Podcaster, USB Audio
    Default Audio Device
Offline

jwamshop

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 3:23 pm
  • Real Name: Janne Kronbäck

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostThu Oct 24, 2019 8:01 pm

Was this with 16.1?
Offline

amdavid

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2019 9:27 am
  • Real Name: Anton David

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostSat Oct 26, 2019 8:42 pm

jwamshop wrote:Was this with 16.1?


Yes, still this is not working with even 16.1. Really a shame.
Offline

tmdag1

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 11:41 pm
  • Real Name: Albert Szostkiewicz

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostThu Jan 30, 2020 4:12 am

FYI, I’ve asked support. Response I’ve got was:

“We do not have any updates at this time.”

So I don’t believe they are even working on this issue at all.
Offline

linuxfreak

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2018 3:08 pm
  • Real Name: Harald Klein

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostFri Jan 31, 2020 5:55 pm

@Blackmagic support: as Studio user I'd kindly ask if recording via blackmagic hardware would work on linux?
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6160
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostFri Jan 31, 2020 9:59 pm

If you are asking about ADR support on Linux, that does not currently work.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

linuxfreak

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2018 3:08 pm
  • Real Name: Harald Klein

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostSat Feb 01, 2020 6:43 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:If you are asking about ADR support on Linux, that does not currently work.

Hi Dwaine,

I wouldn't want to replace dialogues but record tracks in fairlight (using it as DAW in pure audio projects). I was wondering if recording to an audio track would work (in the fairlight tab) when using blackmagic hardware (intensity) on linux.

br Hari
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6160
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostMon Feb 03, 2020 7:48 pm

Recording tracks on the Fairlight page does not currently work.

But VTR Capture does. So you could use the Media page Capture area, and the Capture Now button to record video and audio from a BMD I/O device.

You can't capture audio only.

If you capture to DPX, a separate audio wav file will be created.

Or you can capture to one of the supported QuickTime formats and have a video file with embedded audio.

For Capture to work, you'd need to make sure video is feeding the BMD I/O device. You can't feed it just audio only. And the Capture settings would need to be set to whatever video format you are feeding it.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

tmdag1

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 11:41 pm
  • Real Name: Albert Szostkiewicz

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostThu Feb 06, 2020 8:56 am

Is support for recording audio (without BMD hardware) in plans at all ? do you have any ETA ?

If such functionality is advertised as part of your product I would at least expect some more info.

Don't get me wrong, love all the work you gus are putting into the software but again I feel like this issue is a taboo topic that no one from support wants to talk about :)
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6160
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostThu Feb 06, 2020 7:13 pm

I've just spoken about it.

I can't comment on future features or support.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

jwamshop

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 3:23 pm
  • Real Name: Janne Kronbäck

Re: any1 confirm that audio recording w/ a mic works on linu

PostSat Feb 22, 2020 10:25 am

Finally an answer to the question! It looks like people have asked this for a couple of years, receiving only silence or strange answers. Now I no longer need to waste more time on trying desperate attempts to get it working.

This limitation is not apparent from the manuals, the texts describing the functionality pre-purchase nor in Davinci Resolve itself (it LOOKS like it is working, having selectable inputs etc). It seems as if this lack of full implementation is an oversight rather than "planned".

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Absref70, Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], LeoHry, Singularity, Tero Ahlfors and 96 guests