Timecode Window hiding behind other UI windows

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Azem_Kola

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 3:14 pm
  • Real Name: Azem Kola

Timecode Window hiding behind other UI windows

PostMon Mar 11, 2019 3:05 pm

Hi

I am having issues with floating Timecode Window. I am using dual screen and on the left screen I have the Display/Record screens and the Bins. When the Timecode Window is floating on the left screen the Timecode Window hides behind it it I click on any part of the UI. It doesn't happen on the right screen which I use for Timeline only.

Is this bug or am I missing something?
I would prefer that the Timecode Window takes priority to other UI windows.

Thanks
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Milde

  • Posts: 184
  • Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 11:27 am
  • Location: Augsburg, Germany

Re: Timecode Window hiding behind other UI windows

PostSat Jun 15, 2019 3:54 pm

This seems to apply to all floating windows in dual screen mode. I discovered this "feature" on Fairlight page, when I opened up an equalizer or the floating viewer.
When clicking the UI behind it, on primary display the floating window stays on top and on secondary display the floating window gets behind the UI (z-order problem?).
The only way I found to get the hidden windows back is to switch to single screen mode, move the now visible window and switch back to dual screen.

Any other ways to get the floating windows back on top?

Tech: Win 10 64 pro, Ryzen 5 1600x, GTX980ti, 32 GB, Intensity Pro, DVR Studio 16b4-33
Tech:
Win 10 pro, Ryzen 5 1600x, 32 GB
GTX 980 ti (430.64), Intensity Pro, DVR Studio
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Milde

  • Posts: 184
  • Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 11:27 am
  • Location: Augsburg, Germany

Re: Timecode Window hiding behind other UI windows

PostWed Jul 03, 2019 4:45 pm

Doesn't seem to be solved in 16b5...
Tech:
Win 10 pro, Ryzen 5 1600x, 32 GB
GTX 980 ti (430.64), Intensity Pro, DVR Studio
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Milde

  • Posts: 184
  • Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 11:27 am
  • Location: Augsburg, Germany

Re: Timecode Window hiding behind other UI windows

PostThu Jul 11, 2019 4:29 pm

...and neither in 16b6
Tech:
Win 10 pro, Ryzen 5 1600x, 32 GB
GTX 980 ti (430.64), Intensity Pro, DVR Studio
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 5677
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Timecode Window hiding behind other UI windows

PostFri Jul 12, 2019 5:53 am

The workaround we use is to use the Giant Timecode Window in Scopebox and leave that up all the time. It doesn't solve the window-dominance issue in Resolve, but it does let me work in a way where I can always see the timecode number of the shot up at the moment.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Milde

  • Posts: 184
  • Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 11:27 am
  • Location: Augsburg, Germany

Re: Timecode Window hiding behind other UI windows

PostFri Jul 12, 2019 6:13 am

Thanks Marc, valid answer, but it is not only the timecode window.
It happened too me several times that I opened for example the equalizer, or another tools window of some audio on the wrong display, and whenever you click (often by accident) outside this window in the main screen, the tools window is just gone and you can't recover it, or even reopen it.
It is a floating view on display 1, staying on top all the time, whereas on display 2 it is just gone, and it doesn't show up in the taskbar.
Yes, workaround would be to move temporary floating views like tools always to display 1, but it is still annoying.
Tech:
Win 10 pro, Ryzen 5 1600x, 32 GB
GTX 980 ti (430.64), Intensity Pro, DVR Studio

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CouscousMerguez, dirk-pel, Google Feedfetcher, LensLight, Puddinhead and 57 guests