Dual GPU Question

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

MartinVidic

  • Posts: 188
  • Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 3:46 pm

Dual GPU Question

PostTue Mar 12, 2019 4:31 pm

Hi. I remember DAVINCI always needed two equal GPUs to run in dual-gpu mode. Is this still the case? Didn't check on this topic in a while and I will soon get an egpu for a mac mini. So I was thinking about connecting this egpu to my main editing machine when the mac is not in use.
Offline

Dermot Shane

  • Posts: 1955
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:48 pm
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada

Re: Dual GPU Question

PostTue Mar 12, 2019 4:38 pm

frame 1 goes to GPU1,
frame 2 to GPU 2
what ever faster will stop and wait until the slower GPU finishes,
then frame 3 goes to GPU 1,
frame 4 goes to GPU 2,
on and on
a GPU on a slower connection would need testing to see if there's any real world advantage on a case by case basis
if you own the hardware already there's no harm in hooking it up and testing...
Offline
User avatar

Igor Riđanović

  • Posts: 578
  • Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 5:11 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, Calif.

Re: Dual GPU Question

PostTue Mar 12, 2019 5:37 pm

Is that how it works? How do temporally based operations like noise removal work in one frame per GPU paradigm?
www.metafide.com - DaVinci Resolve™ Apps
Offline

Dermot Shane

  • Posts: 1955
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:48 pm
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada

Re: Dual GPU Question

PostTue Mar 12, 2019 6:35 pm

Yea, Peter or Rohit mentioned that a while back
as to temporal efects... i'd be guessing:
GPU1 fills 5 fr if you select 2fr handles
GPU2 does the same but with a 1fr offset
on and on
i can see why they suggest the single most powerful GPU you can afford,
and why NR processing does not scale 1:1 with additional cards
and why around 3 GPU's it heads off into the land of diminishing returns
Offline
User avatar

MartinVidic

  • Posts: 188
  • Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 3:46 pm

Re: Dual GPU Question

PostTue Mar 12, 2019 7:12 pm

Aha. THANX. I dont have that egpu yet, but it will probably be a vega 64. And the one i have in my main editing rig is a nvidia 1080. So I have the feeling that this will not work? But I could always change our main editing rig to use vega 64 as well.

Should i just plug it in and try. No risk of creating a nuclear explosion or a black hole ? :)
Offline
User avatar

carlomacchiavello

  • Posts: 802
  • Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:04 pm
  • Location: italy

Re: Dual GPU Question

PostTue Mar 12, 2019 8:13 pm

I had a workstation with Gtx780 and 2xgtx980ti.
At the end of day I understood that is better to leave 980ti to resolve and 780 for display, all work fine and I have power to do what I want to do in 4K raw and more


Inviato dal mio iPhone utilizzando Tapatalk
Offline

Carsten Sellberg

  • Posts: 931
  • Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 9:13 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Dual GPU Question

PostTue Mar 12, 2019 8:15 pm

Hi.

My understanding is that if you use more than one GPU, they must of the same kind. Not a nVidea and an AMD.
And for your information. AMD is going to introduce a new AMD GPU later in 2019. It will be manufactured in the 7nm process node and is called AMD Navi.

Regards Carsten.
URSA Mini 4.6K

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aknittel, Jack Fairley, Michael_Andreas, vincej1657, Vykoukal and 193 guests