GPU memory is full message

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Jacky Rieger

  • Posts: 137
  • Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2016 5:52 pm
  • Location: France

GPU memory is full message

PostTue Apr 09, 2019 4:07 pm

Hello

HP machine OMEN870-102nf
Win 10
Card GTX 950 2GO
RAM 16 GO
I tried the new Resolve 16 Beta and I get this beautiful error message: Your GPU memory is full
or "gpu failed to perform image processing bacauseof an error (code 79)" using the Fusion tag
What is wrong, machine or Resolve 16 beta?
thank you
Jacky Rieger

64Go RAM - Win 10 Family 1909
CPU i7 8700 - 3,4GHz
GeForce RTX 2080 8Go - PC: OMEN HP 880-571nf
Offline

newcyp

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 9:57 pm
  • Real Name: Yepu Cui

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostTue Apr 09, 2019 4:22 pm

I think it's a problem of Resolve 16. I did a simple color correction (2 nodes) in Resolve 16 with 4K DCI timeline, it drains 7.8GB GPU memory and soon gives me GPU memory warning. But in Resolve 15, it uses around 4-5GB memories. I'm using I7 6700K with GTX1070 8GB. I think BMD will fix this issue on non-beta version because not everybody has a RTX2080Ti.
Offline
User avatar

Jacky Rieger

  • Posts: 137
  • Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2016 5:52 pm
  • Location: France

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostTue Apr 09, 2019 4:40 pm

Well, thank you I go back to Resolve 15 for now
Jacky Rieger

64Go RAM - Win 10 Family 1909
CPU i7 8700 - 3,4GHz
GeForce RTX 2080 8Go - PC: OMEN HP 880-571nf
Offline

LukaszS

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 7:17 am
  • Real Name: Łukasz Sawicki

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostWed Apr 10, 2019 7:26 am

Same error about GPU. If this will be helpful for anyone it happens during using Optical flow on a clip. GPU memory is full message isn't that much of a problem but it also creates glitch frames in the clip. Sometimes it creates frame duplicates from previous frames so ot looks like clip is going backwards or duplicates a frame from previous clip or just creates "no signal" like old tv kind of glitch.

But the reason I am coming back to 15 is actually because it also appears during rendering even if playback doesn't show the glitch or GPU memory is full message.

GTX 1070ti
intel I5
16 GB RAM

Hope it will help
Offline
User avatar

Jacky Rieger

  • Posts: 137
  • Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2016 5:52 pm
  • Location: France

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostWed Apr 10, 2019 7:31 pm

thanks
Jacky Rieger

64Go RAM - Win 10 Family 1909
CPU i7 8700 - 3,4GHz
GeForce RTX 2080 8Go - PC: OMEN HP 880-571nf
Offline

VioletWolf

  • Posts: 180
  • Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2019 5:23 am
  • Location: Canada
  • Real Name: Rick Welin

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostWed Apr 10, 2019 8:09 pm

The OP has 2 gig video memory and Ver16 requires minimum 4 gig. Even with 4g you'd be very limited.

NOTE: Others with powerful cards have mentioned issues with mem full have found updating to the latest NVidia driver will solve.
Resolve 16.1.2.026 | Windows 10 x64 (Latest Updates) | AMD Ryzen 7 2700x | 32GB RAM | MSI NVIDIA RTX 2070 8 Gig
Refugee from Adobe Premiere / After Effects
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 2176
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostWed Apr 10, 2019 10:43 pm

Also make sure you have the latest driver for your GPU. Problems I had with vers 16 went away when I updated. Current Nvidia driver is 419.67.
Resolve 17.0b2 build 9
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, GTX1060/6GB (457.30 Studio), Win10 Home, Faderport, 2 Screens
Pro Tools 2018.4
Dell Workstation, 2 X 4 core Xeon , 16GB ECC RAM, GTX650, Win7 Ultimate, Digi 002R, Mackie HUI, 3 Screens
Offline

rom101

  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 4:29 pm
  • Location: Parkland, Florida USA
  • Real Name: Rohan Williams

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostThu Apr 11, 2019 1:31 am

I had the same error and among other things all day today I finally did a clean windows reset and all the errors went away. And it's smooth now on version 16.
MSI GS63VR - Nvidia GTX1060 - All Sata SSD - Davinci 15.3.1
Offline

Jeff Brass

  • Posts: 402
  • Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:46 am

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostThu Apr 11, 2019 8:52 am

I had it today, GTX 1080 8Gb VRam, win10, latest NVidia driver 419.67, simple grading.

closed the warning dialogue and was able to continue as normal.
Win10 Pro x64 | i7 5930k|64GB RAM |GTX 1080 8gb | Mini Monitor | DR Studio 16.2
Offline

Jeff Brass

  • Posts: 402
  • Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:46 am

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostThu Apr 11, 2019 10:59 pm

okay, not quite continue as normal. As I work the GPU memory use gets higher and higher until playback suddenly almost stops. Plays a few frames then video stops for a second...then plays a few frames and stops (audio keeps plying fine)

GPU memory around 7GB used (Gb Vram gtx 1080). Close and reopen Resolve and all is fine again for a while until VRAM usage continually climbs higher and higher and it all starts again.
Win10 Pro x64 | i7 5930k|64GB RAM |GTX 1080 8gb | Mini Monitor | DR Studio 16.2
Offline
User avatar

Shredder777

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 10:21 am
  • Location: USA
  • Real Name: Sean Silas

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostFri Apr 12, 2019 12:15 am

Jeff Brass wrote:okay, not quite continue as normal. As I work the GPU memory use gets higher and higher until playback suddenly almost stops. Plays a few frames then video stops for a second...then plays a few frames and stops (audio keeps plying fine)

GPU memory around 7GB used (Gb Vram gtx 1080). Close and reopen Resolve and all is fine again for a while until VRAM usage continually climbs higher and higher and it all starts again.



I should've waited.....:( great ideas on their part but, its causing me to get backed up on work. I needed to do a score on a video I cut last night (barely because of GPU error) which is awesome feature. Once I opened the project, I get a new error " The GPU failed to perform image processing because of an error" :cry: :cry: :cry: ......................Now I either go back to 15 and cut the video again or wait...
Attachments
Screenshot (23).png
new error
Screenshot (23).png (125.46 KiB) Viewed 8559 times
Resolve 15.2.4 (NOW 16 Beta) | Windows 10 x64 (Latest Updates) | AMD Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core | 32GB | MSI NVIDIA Gforce GTX 1060 6GB
Resolve | Reason 10 | Photoshop | Affinity Designer | Lightroom
Offline

MishaEngel

  • Posts: 1413
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:18 am
  • Real Name: Misha Engel

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostFri Apr 12, 2019 12:53 am

It's Beta software.
Offline
User avatar

Shredder777

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 10:21 am
  • Location: USA
  • Real Name: Sean Silas

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostFri Apr 12, 2019 1:43 am

MishaEngel wrote:It's Beta software.



It sure is! From being overly excited and missing the word BETA, I installed it.. I did finish my projects (Paid ones) :D .. I love the new features and it was a gamble. I will just go back to 15 for now.
Resolve 15.2.4 (NOW 16 Beta) | Windows 10 x64 (Latest Updates) | AMD Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core | 32GB | MSI NVIDIA Gforce GTX 1060 6GB
Resolve | Reason 10 | Photoshop | Affinity Designer | Lightroom
Offline

88HH88

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2019 3:13 pm
  • Real Name: Harry Haller

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostFri Apr 12, 2019 3:20 pm

Had the same problem.
Last night I updated my NVidia drive. There is a new update as of yesterday. 425.31.
16 now runs like a charm.
Offline
User avatar

Shredder777

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 10:21 am
  • Location: USA
  • Real Name: Sean Silas

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostFri Apr 12, 2019 10:42 pm

88HH88 wrote:Had the same problem.
Last night I updated my NVidia drive. There is a new update as of yesterday. 425.31.
16 now runs like a charm.


cool, I will check it out!! #crossfingers 8-)
Resolve 15.2.4 (NOW 16 Beta) | Windows 10 x64 (Latest Updates) | AMD Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core | 32GB | MSI NVIDIA Gforce GTX 1060 6GB
Resolve | Reason 10 | Photoshop | Affinity Designer | Lightroom
Offline

Hakim Craddock

  • Posts: 144
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:23 pm

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostFri Apr 12, 2019 11:46 pm

Shredder777 wrote:
MishaEngel wrote:It's Beta software.



It sure is! From being overly excited and missing the word BETA, I installed it.. I did finish my projects (Paid ones) :D .. I love the new features and it was a gamble. I will just go back to 15 for now.


Just go into your programs folder and rename resolve and you can have both version installed on the same PC. :D
Offline

dec11ad

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2019 12:02 am
  • Real Name: Adam Waldner

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostSat Apr 13, 2019 4:53 am

Shredder777 wrote:
MishaEngel wrote:It's Beta software.



It sure is! From being overly excited and missing the word BETA, I installed it.. I did finish my projects (Paid ones) :D .. I love the new features and it was a gamble. I will just go back to 15 for now.


did same, missed the beta part :/ i think they should make betas a bit harder to get....
Offline
User avatar

Shredder777

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 10:21 am
  • Location: USA
  • Real Name: Sean Silas

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostSat Apr 13, 2019 7:24 am

Hakim Craddock wrote:
Shredder777 wrote:
MishaEngel wrote:It's Beta software.



It sure is! From being overly excited and missing the word BETA, I installed it.. I did finish my projects (Paid ones) :D .. I love the new features and it was a gamble. I will just go back to 15 for now.


Just go into your programs folder and rename resolve and you can have both version installed on the same PC. :D


nice!!! I will have to try that.. I downloaded the latest Nvidia driver (425.31) and everything was working just right until I went to fusion. Then the GPU error came up. lol,, At least I know I have the options. Thank you Hakim, :D
Resolve 15.2.4 (NOW 16 Beta) | Windows 10 x64 (Latest Updates) | AMD Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core | 32GB | MSI NVIDIA Gforce GTX 1060 6GB
Resolve | Reason 10 | Photoshop | Affinity Designer | Lightroom
Offline

Jeff Brass

  • Posts: 402
  • Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:46 am

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostTue Apr 16, 2019 11:45 pm

fresh windows install, nvidia driver 425.31, still getting GPU full errors. First time I've had them in all my years on resolve.

The VRAM usage steadily goes up, sits around 7.5 GB and doesn't drop. Even if resolve isn't doing anything, the usage stays pegged right up there. Only way to clear it is to close and reopen DR

any tips greatly appreciated :) hopefully its something that will get sorted in the next version or two
Win10 Pro x64 | i7 5930k|64GB RAM |GTX 1080 8gb | Mini Monitor | DR Studio 16.2
Offline

GeorgeDrake

  • Posts: 229
  • Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 2:39 pm

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostWed Apr 17, 2019 12:26 am

I have tried to reproduce this error. Just threw optical flow / speed warp on a fusion clip that has the delta keyer and I have went past 6.5 usage of GPU memory. It did use 100% of the GPU to attempt to play that in real time. it failed. lol
Windows 10 | Resolve 16.2.2 | Titan RTX 24GB | 128 gigs DDR4-3000 | i9-9920X
Offline

GeorgeDrake

  • Posts: 229
  • Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 2:39 pm

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostWed Apr 17, 2019 12:30 am

Added a few nodes and temporal noise reduction to same clip. Got above 8GB of usage... I am sure I will not max out my card but I was just trying to see if it is higher than normal.
Windows 10 | Resolve 16.2.2 | Titan RTX 24GB | 128 gigs DDR4-3000 | i9-9920X
Offline

MishaEngel

  • Posts: 1413
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:18 am
  • Real Name: Misha Engel

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostWed Apr 17, 2019 1:52 pm

Jeff Brass wrote:fresh windows install, nvidia driver 425.31, still getting GPU full errors. First time I've had them in all my years on resolve.

The VRAM usage steadily goes up, sits around 7.5 GB and doesn't drop. Even if resolve isn't doing anything, the usage stays pegged right up there. Only way to clear it is to close and reopen DR

any tips greatly appreciated :) hopefully its something that will get sorted in the next version or two


That's the wrong driver:

You need this one:


NVIDIA Creator Ready Driver

Version: 419.67
Release Date: 2019.3.20
Operating System: Windows 10 64-bit
Language: English (US)
File Size: 551.73 MB

https://www.nvidia.com/Download/driverResults.aspx/145178/en-us
Offline

Jeff Brass

  • Posts: 402
  • Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:46 am

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostSun Apr 21, 2019 7:26 am

MishaEngel wrote:
Jeff Brass wrote:fresh windows install, nvidia driver 425.31, still getting GPU full errors. First time I've had them in all my years on resolve.

The VRAM usage steadily goes up, sits around 7.5 GB and doesn't drop. Even if resolve isn't doing anything, the usage stays pegged right up there. Only way to clear it is to close and reopen DR

any tips greatly appreciated :) hopefully its something that will get sorted in the next version or two


That's the wrong driver:

You need this one:


NVIDIA Creator Ready Driver

Version: 419.67
Release Date: 2019.3.20
Operating System: Windows 10 64-bit
Language: English (US)
File Size: 551.73 MB

https://www.nvidia.com/Download/driverResults.aspx/145178/en-us


thanks. Unfortunately I get the same error with both the 419.67 driver and the 425.31 driver. (sorry, I should have written that in the first place)

My understanding was the 419.67 creator driver would be better then the game orientated version, but someone else had success with 425.31 (game) and as it was newer I figured I'd try that.

so...something else is going on.

And oddly, each of the renders I have tried, even with the render speed slowed right down, will throw up the GPU full error BUT have carried on with the render and not a single dropped frame or glitch.
Win10 Pro x64 | i7 5930k|64GB RAM |GTX 1080 8gb | Mini Monitor | DR Studio 16.2
Offline

MishaEngel

  • Posts: 1413
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:18 am
  • Real Name: Misha Engel

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostSun Apr 21, 2019 12:06 pm

First un-install your current drivers with this https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/display-driver-uninstaller-download.html

Then install the new drivers (the content ones).
Offline

Jeff Brass

  • Posts: 402
  • Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:46 am

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostSun Apr 21, 2019 7:53 pm

MishaEngel wrote:First un-install your current drivers with this https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/display-driver-uninstaller-download.html

Then install the new drivers (the content ones).


Thanks. I've done a fresh windows10 install (clean HDD) with both drivers, no difference.
This may or may not be a DR issue, but its not down to just the Nvidia driver I am using.

This is the first time in 5 years of using DR that I have had a GPU Full error. I've used every beta and final release that has come out in those 5 years, on different machines of different spec builds. This particular comp build has run DR14 and all of the DR15 releases, including beta, without a single GPU error.

will keep on with it as at it's worst I just have to restart DR and so far (fingers crossed) renders are all ok.

next version of the beta probably isn't too far away so here's hoping :)
Win10 Pro x64 | i7 5930k|64GB RAM |GTX 1080 8gb | Mini Monitor | DR Studio 16.2
Offline

rom101

  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 4:29 pm
  • Location: Parkland, Florida USA
  • Real Name: Rohan Williams

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostMon Apr 22, 2019 1:32 pm

I can confirm this as well. I have done the clean driver install to no benefit. Even though I get the gpu memory error, rendering continues as normal.
MSI GS63VR - Nvidia GTX1060 - All Sata SSD - Davinci 15.3.1
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2973
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostMon Apr 22, 2019 2:09 pm

Hello,

Has anyone who has had the full GPU with V16 and not with V15 can do a test with a project created in V15?

Edit tab: choose a clip that have issue,
right click and Removes attributes: full
then do a retime process: optical flow + Speed warp

It's for a test.
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Win10-1809 | Resolve Studio V16.1 | Fusion Studio V16.1 | Decklink 4K Extreme 6G | RTX 2080Ti 431.86 NSD driver! |
Offline

pnguyen720

  • Posts: 389
  • Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 9:17 pm
  • Real Name: Phong Nguyen

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostMon Apr 22, 2019 3:28 pm

I have a similar setup on my laptop with the GeForce 940M 2G and have gotten the same error in V16. Sometimes I get the same error in V15 but I assume that's because I'm working with 4K footage so I change the project settings to 1080.
Offline

jorgedagaxum

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 2:06 pm
  • Location: Turin (Italy)
  • Real Name: Giorgio Sobrito

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostMon Apr 22, 2019 5:34 pm

Hello everybody,
just another sad experience here.
"Your GPU Memory is full" message it appears to be a bug: look at the screenshot... the memory used is less than 20% (of 8GB) but I got the message as well, just at application start.
I'm using mainly Fusion (in DR16) with a 1080p clip chromakeyd
The message pops up when the app starts, usually in the Delivery page (last saving).

"Error code 79" msg follows the previous one if I try to change the timeline resolution and save before the imminent crash..
In these cases, even if I save and close the application, it is still working in background...so I have to restart the pc again.
:shock:


Davinci Resolve 16pb
Win10
RTX 2070 - 8Gb with NVidia Creator Ready Driver 419.67
i7 9700K
64GB RAM
Attachments
DR16.jpg
DR16.jpg (218.71 KiB) Viewed 7940 times
Giorgio Sobrito

Davinci Resolve 16b4
Fusion 9.02
Gigabye X399 Designare EX
CPU AMD RYZEN Threadripper 2990WX
128GB RAM
Nvidia TITAN RTX- 24Gb - NVidia Studio Driver 430.86
Offline
User avatar

TechManiacHD

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Thu May 02, 2019 9:58 pm
  • Location: Ireland
  • Real Name: Pawel Jackowski

Re: GPU memory is full message

PostFri May 03, 2019 7:52 am

I've the same problem on Nvidia RTX 2060 6GB [430.39]

I tried to add Speed Warp to short clip that has been slowed down, but every time Resolve is crashing. Just sometimes it shows message saying that VRAM is full like on the attachment below.

I know that 6GB ain't a tone, and some of you will say "just get 3x 2080Ti" and starve your children. Although I believe ther's a way to fix it with dumping excess workload to RAM. Check out PC games! Whenever you'll set games details that allocate more than available VRAM game engines are dumping all textures to RAM - sure! That way you will get stuttering and at some parts game drops FPS like crazy, but at least it works and not crashing.

EDIT: With Resolve 16 Beta 2 error regarding "GPU Memory is Full" has been resolved, at least on RTX 2060 is fine now. Speed Warp works.

EDIT 2: Now I have RTX 2070 Super and with Resolve 16.2 Studio it's even worst xD 8GB VRAM is terrible for Resolve...
Attachments
Bez nazwy.jpg
Bez nazwy.jpg (490.59 KiB) Viewed 7374 times

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], MaxMann, panos_mts, Peter Cave and 107 guests