Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Nathan Morgan

  • Posts: 453
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 3:02 pm

Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostThu Jul 11, 2019 10:34 pm

I have been trying to use OFX caching in the edit page but it doesn't seem to be working for me in 16b6. Is anyone else having a similar problem?

The option will have a check beside it and blue bar up top but playback is still jerky.

If I put the same effect in the color page and cache the color it plays back like butter.
PC: Resolve 16.2.1.017, Windows 10, GTX 1080Ti
(All bug reports etc. are PC unless specified.)
Mac: Macbook Pro 15", Resolve 16.2.0.055, 10.14.6
Terrablock 24D Shared Storage on 10G network
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1959
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostFri Jul 12, 2019 7:10 am

Yeah, same for me on Mac.
Resolve 16.2
Mac OSX 10.14.6, Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM, Radeon RX 580 8GB
FSI LM1770 Calibrated Monitor, MIDIGrade 2.0, Zoom R16 Audio Interface.
Avid, FCPX, Premiere.
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2973
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostFri Jul 12, 2019 4:54 pm

Hello,

Try for the cache:
right click and activate the output cache :?:
render_cache_output.jpg
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Win10-1809 | Resolve Studio V16.1 | Fusion Studio V16.1 | Decklink 4K Extreme 6G | RTX 2080Ti 431.86 NSD driver! |
Offline

Nathan Morgan

  • Posts: 453
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 3:02 pm

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostFri Jul 12, 2019 5:20 pm

I am talking about the selection beneath the one you have highlighted. It does not seem to be functioning properly for me and seems to be confirmed as not functioning, by Peter also in this thread.
PC: Resolve 16.2.1.017, Windows 10, GTX 1080Ti
(All bug reports etc. are PC unless specified.)
Mac: Macbook Pro 15", Resolve 16.2.0.055, 10.14.6
Terrablock 24D Shared Storage on 10G network
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2973
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostFri Jul 12, 2019 5:24 pm

Nathan Morgan wrote:I am talking about the selection beneath the one you have highlighted. It does not seem to be functioning properly for me and seems to be confirmed as not functioning, by Peter also in this thread.


OK. Let's wait for some enlightenment by others... :?:
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Win10-1809 | Resolve Studio V16.1 | Fusion Studio V16.1 | Decklink 4K Extreme 6G | RTX 2080Ti 431.86 NSD driver! |
Offline

Nathan Morgan

  • Posts: 453
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 3:02 pm

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostFri Jul 26, 2019 5:05 am

OFX cache looks to still be broken in 16b7
PC: Resolve 16.2.1.017, Windows 10, GTX 1080Ti
(All bug reports etc. are PC unless specified.)
Mac: Macbook Pro 15", Resolve 16.2.0.055, 10.14.6
Terrablock 24D Shared Storage on 10G network
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 970
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostFri Jul 26, 2019 7:21 am

Hi Nathan

We've made some improvements for beta 7 in this specific area. Could I check if clearing and re-enabling caches fixes this behavior?

Could you post a link to a log archive and a drp export for a project that shows this issue?

Thanks
Shrinivas
Offline

Nathan Morgan

  • Posts: 453
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 3:02 pm

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostFri Jul 26, 2019 6:46 pm

So glad that this is on your radar!! I am seeing an improvement in 16b7 in that the red "render line" does show up but the clip will never render. As a test I set the first clip in my seq to color page render, you can see from the screenshot attached that it skips over the OFX render and just renders the color cache clip.

Also if I set the OFX render cache on an adjustment layer no red "render line" shows at all.

I have attached the requested docs please let me know if I can send you over anything else or if it looks like I am doing something wrong!

Screen Shot 2019-07-26 at 11.14.42 AM.png
Screen Shot 2019-07-26 at 11.14.42 AM.png (259.61 KiB) Viewed 35902 times


DaVinci-Resolve-logs-20190726-111759.zip
(420.6 KiB) Downloaded 2192 times


Cache Test.zip
(390.87 KiB) Downloaded 1063 times
PC: Resolve 16.2.1.017, Windows 10, GTX 1080Ti
(All bug reports etc. are PC unless specified.)
Mac: Macbook Pro 15", Resolve 16.2.0.055, 10.14.6
Terrablock 24D Shared Storage on 10G network
Offline

Kenzo

  • Posts: 207
  • Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 6:04 pm
  • Real Name: Eryk Rogozinski

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostFri Jul 26, 2019 7:46 pm

This is because the adjustment clips are not cacheble. I don't know why. :?
You can use old trick and add on track above, empty text.
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1959
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostSun Jul 28, 2019 2:10 am

Nathan Morgan wrote:OFX cache looks to still be broken in 16b7


Works ok for me on Beta 7.
The "Render Color Cache Output" option in the right click menu on the timeline clip needs to be activated or it won't cache.
Resolve 16.2
Mac OSX 10.14.6, Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM, Radeon RX 580 8GB
FSI LM1770 Calibrated Monitor, MIDIGrade 2.0, Zoom R16 Audio Interface.
Avid, FCPX, Premiere.
Offline
User avatar

Paul Draper

  • Posts: 153
  • Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 8:33 pm

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostSun Jul 28, 2019 9:17 pm

Similar here (Studio 16b7): hopeless for Neat Video v5. The only solution has been to render it out, then import.

Really wish there were a 'bounce in place' /'render in place' option; caching is of zero use & have reported this before. The only way to somehow 'force render' that cache on the edit timeline is to repeatedly play the section, over and over as the red timeline indicator only then slowly turns very small pieces to blue. This takes forever and so the export solution is the least aggravating.
MacPro 7,1, 16 core, 2TB, 192GB, Vega II 32GB. UA Apollo x8, DeckLink MiniMon 4k. 8TB RAID 4 OWC Thunderbay 6, 2TB RAID 0 Sonnet M.2 4x4. Dell U3415W & BenQ SW2700PT. Nuendo, FCPX, Resolve Studio 16.2.
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 704
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostMon Jul 29, 2019 11:02 am

Paul Draper wrote:Similar here (Studio 16b7): hopeless for Neat Video v5. The only solution has been to render it out, then import.

Really wish there were a 'bounce in place' /'render in place' option; caching is of zero use & have reported this before. The only way to somehow 'force render' that cache on the edit timeline is to repeatedly play the section, over and over as the red timeline indicator only then slowly turns very small pieces to blue. This takes forever and so the export solution is the least aggravating.


Agreed that a ‘render in place’ is missing and would be quite useful... maybe Resolve 17?

I do find that there are times when the user caching doesn’t fully allow for seamless playback...
Resolve Studio 16.2.2 | Fusion Studio 16.2.1 | Win 10 Pro (1909) | i9-7940x, P4000 (441.66, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) i7-6600, M1000M (2GB VRAM), 32GB RAM, SSD OS, M.2 scratch, T3 external
Offline

Kenzo

  • Posts: 207
  • Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 6:04 pm
  • Real Name: Eryk Rogozinski

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostMon Jul 29, 2019 12:05 pm

Option Render Cache OFX filter don't work at all.
If you want render clip with ofx filter, switch Render Cache to User and use Render Cache Color Output.
Problem is with Adjustment Layers because they don't have possibility to use Render Cache Color Output. So if you put ofx (or Fusion composition) on Adjustment Layer, put on above track empty Text - it's working.

Resolve caching system should be definitelly improved because we have now "Davinci Workaround Resolve". :)
Offline

Nathan Morgan

  • Posts: 453
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 3:02 pm

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostSat Aug 03, 2019 6:57 pm

What I am finding is that even if I turn on render cache color output & Render cache color output. While the clip show as cache it is only caching the color output and not the timeline cache.

I have been testing this just with a regular clip and the water color effect. If I turn both on the clip shows as rendered but still can't playback real time. If I turn off the OFX the clip will recache and playback fine.

It seems we are getting closer but still not working in 16b7.

I wish there was a way that we could open the cache files to see what is actually being cached that would provide some insight into this whole process! Does anyone know if there is any way to open a dvcc file?
PC: Resolve 16.2.1.017, Windows 10, GTX 1080Ti
(All bug reports etc. are PC unless specified.)
Mac: Macbook Pro 15", Resolve 16.2.0.055, 10.14.6
Terrablock 24D Shared Storage on 10G network
Offline

Nathan Morgan

  • Posts: 453
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 3:02 pm

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostFri Aug 09, 2019 4:56 am

OFX Cache still looks to be broken in 16.0
PC: Resolve 16.2.1.017, Windows 10, GTX 1080Ti
(All bug reports etc. are PC unless specified.)
Mac: Macbook Pro 15", Resolve 16.2.0.055, 10.14.6
Terrablock 24D Shared Storage on 10G network
Offline

Nathan Morgan

  • Posts: 453
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 3:02 pm

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostSat Sep 14, 2019 7:19 am

From what I can tell this is still broken in 16.1b3
PC: Resolve 16.2.1.017, Windows 10, GTX 1080Ti
(All bug reports etc. are PC unless specified.)
Mac: Macbook Pro 15", Resolve 16.2.0.055, 10.14.6
Terrablock 24D Shared Storage on 10G network
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 704
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostSat Sep 14, 2019 10:42 am

I’m seeing this as well. I would expect that if you put OFX effects on clips in the Edit page, you should be able to render them to cache without jumping through hoops. Wonder why BMD hasn’t chimed in on this one lately?
Resolve Studio 16.2.2 | Fusion Studio 16.2.1 | Win 10 Pro (1909) | i9-7940x, P4000 (441.66, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) i7-6600, M1000M (2GB VRAM), 32GB RAM, SSD OS, M.2 scratch, T3 external
Offline

Nathan Morgan

  • Posts: 453
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 3:02 pm

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostSun Oct 20, 2019 4:05 am

Looks like this is still broken in 16.1 non beta release.
PC: Resolve 16.2.1.017, Windows 10, GTX 1080Ti
(All bug reports etc. are PC unless specified.)
Mac: Macbook Pro 15", Resolve 16.2.0.055, 10.14.6
Terrablock 24D Shared Storage on 10G network
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2973
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostSun Oct 20, 2019 10:31 am

Here cache work OK with V16.1 but 2 conditions :
Does OFX cache work in the edit page.jpg
Does OFX cache work in the edit page.jpg (536.42 KiB) Viewed 35296 times
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Win10-1809 | Resolve Studio V16.1 | Fusion Studio V16.1 | Decklink 4K Extreme 6G | RTX 2080Ti 431.86 NSD driver! |
Offline

Nathan Morgan

  • Posts: 453
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 3:02 pm

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostSun Oct 20, 2019 2:06 pm

Jean Claude wrote:Here cache work OK with V16.1 but 2 conditions :
Does OFX cache work in the edit page.jpg
Looking back at this thread you didn't understand this thread back in July. I am inclined to believe that your knowledge and the programs functionality are both unchanged

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
PC: Resolve 16.2.1.017, Windows 10, GTX 1080Ti
(All bug reports etc. are PC unless specified.)
Mac: Macbook Pro 15", Resolve 16.2.0.055, 10.14.6
Terrablock 24D Shared Storage on 10G network
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2973
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostSun Oct 20, 2019 2:18 pm

Nathan Morgan wrote:
Jean Claude wrote:Here cache work OK with V16.1 but 2 conditions :
Does OFX cache work in the edit page.jpg
Looking back at this thread you didn't understand this thread back in July. I am inclined to believe that your knowledge and the programs functionality are both unchanged

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk


To read your post
Nathan Morgan wrote:20 Oct 2019, 04:05
Looks like this is still broken in 16.1 non beta release.


Obviously I am inclined to believe that your Davinci Resolve knowledge is unchanged :cry:
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Win10-1809 | Resolve Studio V16.1 | Fusion Studio V16.1 | Decklink 4K Extreme 6G | RTX 2080Ti 431.86 NSD driver! |
Offline

Nathan Morgan

  • Posts: 453
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 3:02 pm

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostSun Oct 20, 2019 2:42 pm

I am glad we are on agreement! Hope fully the developers we make this a priority and fix for the next release!

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
PC: Resolve 16.2.1.017, Windows 10, GTX 1080Ti
(All bug reports etc. are PC unless specified.)
Mac: Macbook Pro 15", Resolve 16.2.0.055, 10.14.6
Terrablock 24D Shared Storage on 10G network
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2973
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostSun Oct 20, 2019 2:47 pm

Sorry: I think you did not understand what I meant. (English is not my native language)
But as what I posted today Sun Oct 20, 2019 10:31 am does not seem to match what you expect: you just have to wait for something from the developers?
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Win10-1809 | Resolve Studio V16.1 | Fusion Studio V16.1 | Decklink 4K Extreme 6G | RTX 2080Ti 431.86 NSD driver! |
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1959
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostMon Oct 21, 2019 1:17 am

Update: Cache User Mode exhibits the stuttering playback after the render 'blue bar' is done, but Smart Mode does NOT exhibit the stuttering playback after the render 'blue bar' is done, I would expect identical playback results.
Resolve 16.2
Mac OSX 10.14.6, Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM, Radeon RX 580 8GB
FSI LM1770 Calibrated Monitor, MIDIGrade 2.0, Zoom R16 Audio Interface.
Avid, FCPX, Premiere.
Offline

Nathan Morgan

  • Posts: 453
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 3:02 pm

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostMon Oct 21, 2019 3:52 am

Peter Cave wrote:Update: Cache User Mode exhibits the stuttering playback after the render 'blue bar' is done, but Smart Mode does NOT exhibit the stuttering playback after the render 'blue bar' is done, I would expect identical playback results.


Just to confirm you are seeing the bar go blue when selecting the "Render Cache OFX Filter" on the edit page? The behavior I am seeing is that when in User mode and you manually change it the bar goes red but never renders and when in smart mode it never enables/goes red for OFX filters.
PC: Resolve 16.2.1.017, Windows 10, GTX 1080Ti
(All bug reports etc. are PC unless specified.)
Mac: Macbook Pro 15", Resolve 16.2.0.055, 10.14.6
Terrablock 24D Shared Storage on 10G network
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1959
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostMon Oct 21, 2019 7:46 am

After a little more testing it seems that applying OFX filters in the Edit Page results in the stuttering playback but applying OFX filters in the Colour Page works as expected.
Resolve 16.2
Mac OSX 10.14.6, Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM, Radeon RX 580 8GB
FSI LM1770 Calibrated Monitor, MIDIGrade 2.0, Zoom R16 Audio Interface.
Avid, FCPX, Premiere.
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2973
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostMon Oct 21, 2019 4:18 pm

I have to try again.
If everything does not get the same result?
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Win10-1809 | Resolve Studio V16.1 | Fusion Studio V16.1 | Decklink 4K Extreme 6G | RTX 2080Ti 431.86 NSD driver! |
Offline

Timothy Clark

  • Posts: 59
  • Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2018 7:56 pm
  • Real Name: Timothy Clark

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostWed Nov 27, 2019 11:40 pm

I came here to report the same thing in 16.1.1. Checking 'Render Cache OFX filter' has no effect, and rendering color output does not also render OFX.
Just selecting render cache OFX produces a red line with no rendering, and enabling color cache simultaneously renders, but playback of OFX is not in real time.

Am I missing something?
Is it very difficult to add a 'render in and out' function similar to Premiere's render work area? That would be tremendously useful.
Last edited by Timothy Clark on Thu Nov 28, 2019 4:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 704
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostThu Nov 28, 2019 3:23 am

Timothy Clark wrote:I came here to report the same thing in 16.1.1. Checking 'Render Cache OFX filter' has no effect, and rendering color output does not also render OFX.
Just selecting render cache OFX produces a red line with no rendering, and enabling color cache simultaneously renders, but playback of OFX is not in real time.

Am I missing something?
Is it rocket science-level difficult to add a 'render in and out' function similar to Premiere's render work area? That would be tremendously useful.


Same here and I agree - render in/out would be extremely useful.
Resolve Studio 16.2.2 | Fusion Studio 16.2.1 | Win 10 Pro (1909) | i9-7940x, P4000 (441.66, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) i7-6600, M1000M (2GB VRAM), 32GB RAM, SSD OS, M.2 scratch, T3 external
Offline

Diede van Vree

  • Posts: 109
  • Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 1:00 pm
  • Location: NL

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostFri Nov 29, 2019 6:49 pm

+1

Windows 10, resolve 16.1 studio, intel i7-7800x, ram 128gb, 1080GTX.
Windows 10, Resolve Studio 16.2 , Nvidia 442.19
Intel 9960x (16C/32T), 128gb RAM, 1080 GTX 8GB
mobo: Asus 299x TUF Mark 2
Offline

tall011

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2020 4:29 pm
  • Real Name: Luke Tallarida

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostFri Jan 24, 2020 4:14 pm

I'm using version 16.1.2.026 and I'm having the same problem.

Playback > render cache > user > checked
Render cache ofx filter > stop motion > checked

Red bar appears and then never turns blue.

On the same clip, if i Render Cache Color Output, red bar appears and turns blue.

Has anybody figured this out?
Offline
User avatar

robozb

  • Posts: 302
  • Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 6:48 am
  • Location: Hungary
  • Real Name: Roboz Bela Tamas

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostFri Feb 28, 2020 1:20 pm

+1
Offline

Joshua Morin

  • Posts: 296
  • Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:39 pm

Re: Does OFX cache work in the edit page?

PostSat May 23, 2020 4:14 pm

Happens in 16.2.2 as well :(
Windows 10 Pro
Resolve 16.2.2 Studio
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750 2.20GHz, 32.0 GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070M, 8Gb

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: davidhdennis, Marc Wielage, Mark ID and 71 guests