Resolve 16 bugginess: is it me? my machine? or the software?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Chris P

Resolve 16 bugginess: is it me? my machine? or the software?

PostFri Jul 12, 2019 11:34 pm

This is not intended as a gripe session. I do hope this doesn't unleash a torrent of complaining. It's just a couple questions I'm curious about to help me decide if this software is really for me or if funds need to go to a new machine.

Background: I've been working with Resolve now for about 6 weeks, so I am no expert. (Perhaps I should ask this question in 6 months...) I'm using 16.0B.040 on a 2013 imac with 16gb ram. I realize I am pushing it by using such an old machine with its processors and graphics card.

I find Resolve 16 very buggy. I imagine that a lot of these bugs existed in 15. Many of the bugs are small things, but they become very annoying over time. Like how cmd-4 doesn't always make the timeline panel active. Or how the keyboard command for next/previous edit can feel random at times and skip edits or not move at all. Or how I'll use a keyboard command to append a clip to the end of the timeline and instead of the currently selected clip the clip I had selected a moment ago will be appended. I rename a clip and the cursor disappears. Keyboard commands work intermittently: hello "next marker/previous marker"! Commands work in one window but not another. I can grab the gain line in the timeline only after clicking a couple times on the clip. Etc. Etc Etc. They all add up to a fair distraction while trying to create and they do slow me down.

How much of this stuff is due to running an ancient machine that is not really listed as compatible with Resolve 16? Or how much of this might be just endemic to the current release? Is this a characteristic of Resolve 15? If this is just par for the course, I'm tempted to look elsewhere for editing (though I love Resolve for colour.)