What Happens if I delete the CacheClip Folder?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

daleaceron

What Happens if I delete the CacheClip Folder?

PostSun Aug 11, 2019 2:43 am

I'm new at DR and have quickly found that my storage space is practically doubling!

I went searching in my File Explorer and noticed that the majority of the files are in a folder called: CacheClip.

1) What are these files?
2) Are they necessary?
3) What would happen if I delete the entire folder?

I clicked on Delete Optimize Media and Delete Render Cache (All) from the Playback Menu but that didn't seem to help.

Currently I still have Projects that I need to edit and Deliver so I am afraid that if I delete everything, I will lose access to my Projects.

Thanks in advance!
Intel(R) Core (TM) i7-8850H CPU @ 2.60GHz 2.59 GHz
Installed Memory: 32.0 GB (31.7 GB usable)

Jim Simon

Re: What Happens if I delete the CacheClip Folder?

PostSun Aug 11, 2019 3:24 am

To the best of my knowledge, those are all files which can be rebuilt by Resolve. They're not critical.
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.

Dan Sherman

PostSun Aug 11, 2019 3:50 am

If memory serves that's where optimized media, timeline thumbnails, and render cache is stored. If you delete it, Resolve will just regenerate it.
AMD 7950X | AMD 7900XTX (23.20.24) | DDR5-6000 CL30-40-40-96 2x32 GB | Multiple PCIe 4.0 X4 NVME | ASUS x670e HERO | Win 11 Pro 23H2 | Resolve Studio 18.6.5 B7

John Paines

PostSun Aug 11, 2019 12:27 pm

Assuming you have no working caches (you say you deleted everything from the timeline?), the typical cacheclip folder has large numbers of empty folders within empty folders, orphaned caches and audio support files.

The audio stuff appears to regenerate -- you may see a brief pause when an audio waveform rebuilds, for example.