Page 1 of 2

Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 1:00 am
by Lindy1
Hi,
I am running DVR 16.1 public beta 2 (16.1.08.025).

When I attempt to render a Fusion bumper & main title I created, the DVR render fails & sends an error message that reads: "The Fusion composition on the current frame or clip could not be processed successfully."

I have tried to get a successful render by make the Fusion composition smaller & several other tests. No joy.

Does anyone have any suggestions on what is wrong and how I fix it?

Thanks in advance!

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 2:48 am
by mediah
I'm having the exact same problem. I have no idea what to do here.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 2:55 am
by mediah
I found this online. I'm going to try this guy's workaround right now.


Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 5:14 pm
by Lindy1
Jake Earp's, How to fix "Render Job Failed" Error, work-a-round did not solve my Fusion composition could not be processed error.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 5:46 pm
by sposnjak
I have the same problem. I get render problem on every fusion object in the timeline. The first is 2 line corporate title. It renders to 4 s then it fails.

Just for fun I created new project added title (2 line corporate), did not change anything and pressed Quick Export - program crashed...

The project worked in beta 1...

And I also tried the workaround but did not have any success...

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2019 11:27 pm
by Wildthing
Same issue here on Beta 2 & 3. Unfortunately now the project won't load into 16.0, and my deadline is coming up.
Argh!

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2019 5:03 pm
by djfaktor
the same problem, I have only found faults, I can never finish any project. (16.1.0b.033 version) i have a dongle

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2019 9:42 am
by Shrinivas Ramani
Hi

Thanks for the reports. Could we request links to an exported project file (from the project manager) that shows this issue, a log archive and a more comprehensive description of your hardware please - including graphics card type (laptop/integrated/eGPU etc), graphics card VRAM, drivers and other software you may be running alongside Resolve? This will allow us to get as close as possible to replicating the context of the issue.

Can you also share if you have rendered simpler Fusion comps before? and if the issue is specific to a certain comp/family of comps?

Thanks
Shrinivas

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2019 2:19 pm
by TomMason
I had the same issue over the weekend. The problem was in a Text+ clip in the edit tab with only 3 words, and no other effects. I replaced it with a plain Text box and then it exported ok.
DR 16.1b3

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 10:10 pm
by AdamGoldfine
I have been having intermittent issues with render fails for the last few days, since updating to 16.1. Typically the failure would occur within the first 15 to 20 seconds of the render and at a different point every time. This was on BRAW material containing no Fusion clips. The error message would always say that DR didn't have permission to write to the drive and to go to preferences to designate the drive. Trying the render again would usually work.

Yesterday, I added some titles to a project containing a Fusion clip I had successfully rendered previously. The render failed every time at the exact same point, just before the end of the Fusion clip. I tried Jake Earp's solution, it didn't work. I could render part of the Fusion clip with no problem, but trying to render the entire clip resulted in failure at the same point every time.

I determined it was seven frames from the end of the clip, trimmed them off, and the entire piece rendered with no problems.

Any clues as to why this might be happening are appreciated.

I'm using DR Studio 16.1.0.055

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 11:30 pm
by NielsProvos
Same problem here. 16.1 does not render fusion clips. At least not those, I brought in from Resolve 15. They show fine on the timeline but cannot be processed during render :-(

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2019 11:42 pm
by gradymoore
+1 - I am running into this issue when trying to render a fusion comp with handles

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2019 4:42 pm
by mazz23
Same issue here. Used to render fine on 16.0, same projects now fail reporting issue with fusion clip, and exits at seemingly random places during render.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2019 6:11 pm
by citylights
I resolved the issue by turning off Temporal Noise Reduction (Frames=0). I can do everything else without problems.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2019 2:59 pm
by David Marr
Hi,
Right now I'm running DR Studio 16.1.1. and had the problem that DR couldn't render a Fusion Clip.
I found a solution that worked for my project but is a bit brute.

Go to Preference<User<Ui and uncheck the "Stop renders when a frame or clip cannot be processed".

After doing this DR was able to render the project. Also all effects etc. were visible and no frame was dropped. Nontheless if somebody knows it better or why this is a bad Idea, please feel free to lecture me.

I hope I helped somebody.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2019 7:31 pm
by AdamGoldfine
16.1.1 seems to have resolved (no pun intended) the problem. It was one of the stated bug fixes in the release notes. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2019 8:22 pm
by citylights
I am using the Studio Version, 16.1., Mac App Store.
I finally found the setting that needs to be enabled for full functionality.

System Preferences -> Security & Privacy -> Privacy Tab -> Accessibility

Then grant full rights to DaVinci Resolve Studio, which are not automatically enabled.
After that - no more problems.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2019 5:53 am
by George Leon
I have the same problem intermittently, now again in 16.1.1.

Recently, the problem seemed to be caused by having an unused/unconnected node in the composition. At least deleting it made the render succeed.

Now though I have this issue again and there is no unconnected node. Instead the User->UI preference mentioned above fixed the issue.

So still not (completely) fixed in the current release.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2019 6:59 pm
by dirray
I'm having the same issue on DR 16.1.1 which I just installed. What I see in the fusion tab on the clip that doesn't render correctly is that the canvas size seems to be smaller than the other clips surrounding it. Can't explain what is going on.

Doing the UI work-around seems to work, but haven't checked the result yet.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2019 5:58 pm
by Sean van Berlo
I'm still having this with incredibly simple Fusion text effects on Resolve 16.1.1. Pretty crazy.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 3:24 pm
by David Marr
[quote="Sean van Berlo"]I'm still having this with incredibly simple Fusion text effects on Resolve 16.1.1. Pretty crazy.[/

This may not specifically help you but maybe its another workaround. Still interesting for everybody passing by:
I (again) had problems with offline Media although Resolve could show me its location in the Media Finder and I was able to see the Footage in my Fusion Comp.
What helped was to select the Clip in the Edit Tab and add a Keyframe on a random Point and then remove it. After that my Clip was magically online and everything worked normal again.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2019 5:48 am
by kylevoltz
Same issue on 16.1.1.005. Fixed with the "Stop renders when a frame or clip cannot be processed" workaround.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2019 2:55 pm
by stevenkeen
Hi gang

I've been struggling with this issue as well. I found that even though Resolve says it's a Fusion Comp that won't render, it can be pretty much any media type present in the time line. I solved my issue by systematically deleting all media one by one at the specific point until Resolve was able to render. I isolated it to a .psd file, that I simply deleted and then put back in. Problem solved. Of course this is merely a workaround - this issue is clearly a big deal and BM should be all over it.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2019 10:19 pm
by emteepee
I have this problem too - often on very simple Fusion clips, which show on the timeline as "Media Offline".

The deliver/render problem was overcome using the "Stop renders when a frame or clip cannot be processed" workaround as mentioned in the thread, and it renders through the "Media Offline" without any problems.

But the error still appears in the timeline, and I can no longer edit that clip.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:14 pm
by synchu
After some furious head scratching over h265 encoded media offline footage and fusion composition could not be processed, etc. , I found the solution on YouTube, by a Russian Resolve user.

Preferences - System - Decode and disabled hardware acceleration for h264/5 decoding setting.
Restarted Resolve. Everything works.

Whilst this doesn’t make me jumping out of joy, it saved the day here.

Niki

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 9:51 am
by George Leon
I'm a programmer, and one of my pet pieves (with all kinds of software) is generic opaque error messages that don't tell you what the problem is.

Yes, as a programmer it takes time to put error-specific messages (ie. what exactly went wrong, even if it's just a few words) into an error dialog. But a) users have a much better idea how to fix or workaround the issue, and b) the devs get much more specific error reports. It's time worth spending.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2019 2:44 pm
by mastix
I get this error all the time I try the Mocha Pro plugin. It does not matter if used inside Fusion or as an OFX effect in the color tab.
I run windows 10 tried 16.1.1 and 16.1.2 H264 or DNxHR different qualities etc. No solution yet. It crashes every time. Once I disable the fx mocha pro nodes I can render without problems. Trying to find a workaround as Mocha Pro is really a life saver removing things. Davinci Resolve removal is so primitive that I really need Mocha Pro to work inside Davinci or Fusion........

Win 10
DR 16.1.2
64Gb RAM
i7 8700
SDD drives

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 12:14 am
by luudjanssen
Hi everyone!

So I've stumbled upon this issue as well, and I might have a temporary solution for some.

I noticed that the Fusion frames were rendering in the timeline correctly, however upon final export it fails. That's where you can use one of resolve's features to finish you render.

The feature is called "Use render cached images" and it's under the "Advanced Settings" of your "Render Settings". What this does is it uses the already cached images in your timeline to finish the render.

That means that prior to rendering, you need to cache the whole clip that causes your render failures. To be able to cache Fusion compositions in your timeline you need to make sure you have a couple of settings set correctly:
  • Under "Project Settings" check "Automatically cache composites in User Mode", "Automatically cache transitions in User Mode" and "Automatically cache Fusion Effects in User Mode"
  • In your timeline, on the specific clip that causes problems, set "Render Cache Fusion Output" to "On" and check "Render Cache Color Output"
Next make sure all frames are cached in your timeline. This means that the bar on top of the timeline turned from red to blue for all frames of the clips that cause problems.

Annotation 2020-01-07 010521.png
What your timeline should look like
Annotation 2020-01-07 010521.png (86 KiB) Viewed 12879 times

Now, if you render, the renderer should use the cached images and therefore skip the Fusion compositing part, resulting in a finished render.

However, I don't know what this does to image quality. I've looked at the result and it looks fine by me, and because I'm working on a small client, it wouldn't be that big of a deal. But there's a reason renderers don't use cached images by default.

Also, BlackMagic, this no reason for you not fix the issue. Please, make this a priority. I recently switched from Premiere to Resolve and I've been loving the performance and interface. However, Fusion seems to be lacking in performance and stability compared to After Affects, which was a real bummer.

To finish off, I've included some logging I found while debugging the issue. These all seem to be from the time I started rendering. I didn't help me, because it's a very generic error, but it might give your developers an indication as to where the problem is located.

Code: Select all
[0x000073a0] | SyManager            | ERROR | 2020-01-07 00:36:51,450 | There is no current clip, SetCurrentFrame failed.
[0x00001470] | GPUManager           | ERROR | 2020-01-07 00:36:52,629 | Exception caught while running GPU algorithms: .
[0x00001470] | GPUManager           | INFO  | 2020-01-07 00:36:52,629 | Flushing GPU memory...
[0x00001470] | GPUManager           | ERROR | 2020-01-07 00:36:52,965 | Exception caught while running GPU algorithms: .
[0x00001470] | GPUManager           | INFO  | 2020-01-07 00:36:52,968 | Flushing GPU memory...
[0x00005d78] | UI                   | WARN  | 2020-01-07 00:36:53,018 | Unable to submit frame to GPU scopes, legacy OpenGL uploads not supported (Color Page).
[0x00001470] | GPUManager           | ERROR | 2020-01-07 00:36:53,537 | Exception caught while running GPU algorithms: .
[0x00001470] | GPUManager           | INFO  | 2020-01-07 00:36:53,537 | Flushing GPU memory...
[0x00001470] | GPUManager           | ERROR | 2020-01-07 00:36:53,918 | Exception caught while running GPU algorithms: .
[0x00001470] | GPUManager           | INFO  | 2020-01-07 00:36:53,921 | Flushing GPU memory...
[0x00005d78] | UI                   | WARN  | 2020-01-07 00:36:53,956 | Unable to submit frame to GPU scopes, legacy OpenGL uploads not supported (Color Page).
[0x00001470] | GPUManager           | ERROR | 2020-01-07 00:36:54,364 | Exception caught while running GPU algorithms: .
[0x00001470] | GPUManager           | INFO  | 2020-01-07 00:36:54,364 | Flushing GPU memory...
[0x00001470] | GPUManager           | ERROR | 2020-01-07 00:36:54,775 | Exception caught while running GPU algorithms: .
[0x00005d78] | UI                   | WARN  | 2020-01-07 00:36:54,798 | Unable to submit frame to GPU scopes, legacy OpenGL uploads not supported (Color Page).
[0x00005980] | GsManager            | INFO  | 2020-01-07 00:36:55,047 | Recording cancelled after 3 frames.
[0x00001470] | GPUManager           | INFO  | 2020-01-07 00:36:55,146 | Flushing GPU memory...

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 1:57 pm
by wolfgang-ch
I had the same issue and my solution was to successfully export the clip, by replacing the only 1 used Adjustment Clip with a new Adjustment Clip with the same settings.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2020 6:37 pm
by Reginald56
I'm running into this problem now. I've checked every box I could find to enable render, but export still keeps halting on my most involved Fusion composition. I sure hope I won't need to farm this simple stuff out.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2020 9:48 am
by Matija
16.1.2. version - potential Fix

My composition was a mix of a raw clips and some clips with a few simple fusion edits.

The fix was ... Render the video out. See on what clip the Render crashes, delete it from the timeline and media pool, import that clip again and reintroduce it into the timeline.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2020 3:40 pm
by activist
Try this:

Go to Davincy Resolve -> Preferences -> User tab and remove check in 'Stop renders when a frame or clip cannot be processed'

Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2020 5:30 pm
by iddos-l
activist wrote:Try this:

Go to Davincy Resolve -> Preferences -> User tab and remove check in 'Stop renders when a frame or clip cannot be processed'


But disabling this could lead to bad render without notifying the user would it not?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2020 11:52 pm
by Reginald56
Matija wrote:16.1.2. version - potential Fix

The fix was ... Render the video out. See on what clip the Render crashes, delete it from the timeline and media pool, import that clip again and reintroduce it into the timeline.


That's not a fix. A fix would be something BM does so we don't have to putz around with workarounds just to get the software to do what it's designed to do.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2020 9:51 am
by activist
iddos-l wrote:But disabling this could lead to bad render without notifying the user would it not?

Like I wrote in another thread: I will live happily with a single corrupt frame at position 31:42 (my problem) in the end result, instead of having Resolve determine that the hours of rendering were just useless ;)

It *could* of course be an entire clip that was bad, but I expect/imagine that Resolve would have complained about that while you were editing if that was the case.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2020 12:04 pm
by iddos-l
Well it’s different if your output goes through QC and you end up rendering again, not to mention the cost.
Beside, I don’t think any frame should be corrupt at master stage.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2020 1:26 pm
by Jack Stall
Latest DR is a piece of crap so to speak. No hard feelings its still a wonderful software but I guess the developers should focus way more on stability and stop adding hundreds of new stuff with every release...

Anyway - the text+ in fusion was causing me render issues as well...

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2020 10:44 am
by Matija
Check out the fusion tab.

One of the clips that was crashing had a strange thing, nodes went into -13 frames.

There is a problem with Fusion, it either cuts certain nodes short (example it goes 43 frames when it should be 105) or invents a - number. That - number causes crashes (as soon as I rearranged the nodes to start from 0 it rendered out fine).

Now it is annoying as hell having to rearrange everything every time you restart the program.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2020 5:56 pm
by silvermandj
I'm also having this problem and I need to post from my project today for client review. Please help!!

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2020 11:19 am
by Michael Tiemann
I'm now having a problem with DR 16.1.2. Using a RED 8K source file, I can create a trivial Fusion composition (Media In -> Media Out) and a trivial color correction (TNR Frames=1, Luma=Chroma=9, Motion Faster, Range Small). Resolve crashes when trying to render. I found two successful workarounds:

citylights wrote:I resolved the issue by turning off Temporal Noise Reduction (Frames=0). I can do everything else without problems.


OK, but...

David Marr wrote:Hi,
Right now I'm running DR Studio 16.1.1. and had the problem that DR couldn't render a Fusion Clip.
I found a solution that worked for my project but is a bit brute.

Go to Preference<User<Ui and uncheck the "Stop renders when a frame or clip cannot be processed".

After doing this DR was able to render the project. Also all effects etc. were visible and no frame was dropped. Nontheless if somebody knows it better or why this is a bad Idea, please feel free to lecture me.

I hope I helped somebody.


I'm trying the render right now, and it seems to be going swimmingly with no errors. How strange!

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2020 9:21 pm
by DrBoffa
Is there any update on this issue?

I am getting this on literally every single timeline I try to render in my current project, which is remarkably frustrating. My Fusion composition consists of nothing more than a stock Fusion title with a shadow effect added to it.

Every so often I stumble on a workaround, but nothing actually fixes the issue (and the moment I make a new timeline or do another render it happens again).

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 7:36 pm
by jmadeja
this is a major issue for me. I cannot export a project. I'm trying to find every fusion issue and rebuild the fusion effects. now those clips are rendering while new ones are failing. this is terrible.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2020 4:31 pm
by IsraEliteMedia
I had two Text+ graphics stacked on my timeline. Both were very simple and DR crashed on every render. Frustrating.

Erik

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2020 6:56 am
by Wavefront
Just had this happen for the first time. Problem was solved using @synchu's solution : disable hardware acceleration for H264 decoding. Restart.

This could prove tricky to debug, here's why:

- At no point did I use the Fusion page.
- I layered a couple of AVC-HD clips on the timeline with different transfer methods (Multiply, Overlay etc).
- Added another layer with some temporary archival footage in H264 format, again using some transfer method and reduced opacity.
- Added a few Text+ clips above everything.
- There were around ten edit points of such layers, edited in succession, around 2-3 seconds in length each.
- This was rendering such fine for weeks, no issue whatsoever.

Then:

- Had to reduce the sequence length, but didn't want to handle everything in the main timeline.
- Created a compound clip out of the title sequence.
- Duplicated the clip for safety. Couldn't rename it (as per another bug).
- Shortened the compound clip in its own timeline.
- Shortened the master timeline to adapt to the new compound clip content.
- Bug appeared. Render failed several times. Solved as described above.

But then:

- After render was finished, re-enabled hardware decode and restarted.
- Rendered the same timeline with no issues.

Might have something to do with render cache? I'm on 16.2.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2020 9:14 am
by IsraEliteMedia
For me the fix was doing what was suggested earlier in the thread.


Go to Davincy Resolve -> Preferences -> User tab and remove check in 'Stop renders when a frame or clip cannot be processed'

After carefully reviewing the edit, I could not find any problems with the final render. I am leaving this setting unchecked going forward.

Erik

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2020 12:51 pm
by weblaunch
I am also having this issue on v16.2

A fix by now would have been nice... :-/

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2020 5:33 am
by lehuan5062
The first version of my fusion composition was rendered fine. I had this problem after I grouped the nodes.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2020 11:42 pm
by rintelen
I have the same problem today 16 April 2020. Have they resolved it? I don't want a work around. I want great reliable software. Okay they give it to me free, but does the bought version have this problem as well I wonder? If it does, then I'll walk to adobe. I like DV Resolve but bugs do my head in. There's only one option for them: solve it.

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2020 2:43 pm
by joysthokkins
activist wrote:Try this:

Go to Davincy Resolve -> Preferences -> User tab and remove check in 'Stop renders when a frame or clip cannot be processed'



Thank you!

Re: Fusion composition could not be processed

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2020 5:05 pm
by rudiklein
I'm running 16.2.1.017 and I'm having this issue for the first time. I'll use the workaround in preferences, but I would like to know why this happens.

Now it appears I am the lucky guy who was able to catch 4 buglettes in one small project.
1) Fusion composition could not be processed
2) a single red frame in my title clip (it appears to be a red semi opaque red overlay)
3) a single empty frame in my title clip
4) the notorious media offline frame in the middle of a clip.

Additional information
1): this could be circumvented by changing the preferences
2): it appears in 4 consecutive title clips. The clips are copied of the first title clip. However, the red frame appears at different frame positions in the titles and some of them appeared later (after some renderings). Also, when you cut out the red frame, it will reappear on the adjacent frame. I guess this means it is not in the clip, but on a certain spot on the timeline.
3): this seems to be related to 2). If I have a empty frame, it sometimes evolves into a red frame.
4): this is a known problem, reported many times before.

Workaround
1) as mentioned above.
2) & 3):Copy/paste your complete timeline (all clips) into a new timeline.
4): just delete the faulty offline frame from the clip.

Do I win a prize by catching these issues in one very small low tech project?

Rudi