Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

"Polyline > Create" instantiate shapes at weird position

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Qiao Wen

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2024 6:54 am
  • Real Name: Qiao Wen Loh

"Polyline > Create" instantiate shapes at weird position

PostSun Feb 11, 2024 3:22 pm

Hi, first time posting here. Feel free to correct me if I unknowingly break any convention of the forum!

I'm new to Fusion and trying to warm up by creating a simple shape morph animation (circle to square). I follow the suggestion in this thread (viewtopic.php?f=22&t=103180) to create editable ellipse with "Polylines > Create", but Resolve drop the circle randomly on screen (see screenshot below), instead of at the center of the pivot like where shapes would normally be created with regular masks. And I can't find any way to adjust it :(

Screenshot 2024-02-11 230052.png
Circle is placed on random spot instead of the center of pivot
Screenshot 2024-02-11 230052.png (264.85 KiB) Viewed 567 times


This makes things a bit difficult as I can no longer confidently position my shape on screen by adjusting center X and Y. For example, centering my shape by simply setting 'Center X and Y' to (0.5, 0.5) is no longer possible since it's already at (0.5, 0.5) with the circle's current position, as shown in the screenshot.

Is this behavior the same for everyone else and if so, how do you all manage it? Thanks in advance
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 3075
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: "Polyline > Create" instantiate shapes at weird position

PostMon Feb 12, 2024 3:27 pm

In my example below, I right-clicked in the center and chose Polyline>Create>Ellipse and it created it right in the center. I then right-clicked to the left of the center and did the same thing and that is where it created the Ellipse. How are you creating your Ellipse?
Attachments
2024-02-12.jpg
2024-02-12.jpg (298.08 KiB) Viewed 558 times
2024-02-12 (1).jpg
2024-02-12 (1).jpg (296.9 KiB) Viewed 558 times
Win 10 Home | Intel i7 - 10700f 64 GB 1 TB GB SSD 2 TB SSD
RTX-3060 12 GB | Resolve Studio 18.6.6| Fusion Studio 18.6.6

Win 10 Home | Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB | Resolve 17.4.6
Offline

Qiao Wen

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2024 6:54 am
  • Real Name: Qiao Wen Loh

Re: "Polyline > Create" instantiate shapes at weird position

PostSun Feb 18, 2024 10:53 pm

I believe I did the same steps you described (including trying to right click exactly at the center of the screen to see if that helps Resolve recognize that's where I want to drop the shape), but to no avail.

In the end, what works for me is to left-click anywhere on the screen to create one point first, then use Snap to Pixel to manually snap that point to the center of the screen, and then right click on that point.

This is an approach I learn from a tutorial titled "Object Morph Transition in Davinci Resolve Fusion" by a Youtuber named Jake Wipp (great tutorial, btw. Unfortunately as a newly registered user I can't include URLs, so anyone interested will have to do a quick title search), so it seems like I might not be the only one encountering this behavior.

Anyway, I'm happy that I have found a workaround and can move on now. Thanks for taking the time to reply!
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 3075
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: "Polyline > Create" instantiate shapes at weird position

PostSat Feb 24, 2024 5:59 pm

Glad you found a solution. Jake has some good videos, he also has a Discord sever that is very active.
Win 10 Home | Intel i7 - 10700f 64 GB 1 TB GB SSD 2 TB SSD
RTX-3060 12 GB | Resolve Studio 18.6.6| Fusion Studio 18.6.6

Win 10 Home | Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB | Resolve 17.4.6

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bentomlin and 36 guests