Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

DaVinci Resolve Fusion - Draw a line in 3D space

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

HAMCORE

  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2024 6:44 pm
  • Real Name: Mathew Tanguay

DaVinci Resolve Fusion - Draw a line in 3D space

PostTue Feb 04, 2025 4:12 pm

Hi there!

I am trying to find a way to draw a line from one point to another in the 3D point cloud (or just have a line drawn in 3D space in general). In the image below I am drawing a line from the golf tee to a target location in the distance. I already have the text on the 3D plane just fine, I just need to know how to add a line between the two that remains tracked.

Image

Also please let me know if you think the 3D camera tracker is a bit overkill for some tracked golf overlays... I am very used to the After Effect camera tracker and used to build these shots through that.
Offline
User avatar

KrunoSmithy

  • Posts: 3637
  • Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2023 11:01 pm
  • Real Name: Kruno Stifter

Re: DaVinci Resolve Fusion - Draw a line in 3D space

PostTue Feb 04, 2025 4:38 pm

If you are making an overlay for where ball is traveling, you might try point/intellitracker tracker + a polygon spline or B-spline. Might be easier. Especially if you need to have it bent etc.

If you want a straight line in 3D probably you can just make a cylinder with small diameter and high value for height.

Something like this maybe.

sshot-712.jpg
sshot-712.jpg (171.95 KiB) Viewed 930 times


Code: Select all
{
   Tools = ordered() {
      Camera3D1 = Camera3D {
         Inputs = {
            ["Transform3DOp.Translate.X"] = Input { Value = 0.7431983, },
            ["Transform3DOp.Translate.Y"] = Input { Value = 0.058, },
            ["Transform3DOp.Translate.Z"] = Input { Value = 3.2667918, },
            ["Transform3DOp.Rotate.Y"] = Input { Value = 6.6, },
            ["Transform3DOp.UseTarget"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            AoV = Input { Value = 19.2642683071402, },
            ["Stereo.Mode"] = Input { Value = FuID { "OffAxis" }, },
            FilmBack = Input { Value = 1, },
            FilmGate = Input { Value = FuID { "BMD_URSA_4K_16x9" }, },
            ApertureW = Input { Value = 0.831496062992126, },
            ApertureH = Input { Value = 0.467716535433071, },
            ControlVis = Input { Value = 1, },
            PlaneOfFocusVis = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["SurfacePlaneInputs.ObjectID.ObjectID"] = Input { Value = 2, },
            ["MtlStdInputs.MaterialID"] = Input { Value = 2, }
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 577.333, -18.697 } },
      },
      DirectionalLight1 = LightDirectional {
         Inputs = {
            ["Transform3DOp.Rotate.X"] = Input { Value = -107, },
            ["Transform3DOp.Rotate.Y"] = Input { Value = -52.2, },
            ["ShadowLightInputs3D.ShadowsEnabled"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["ShadowLightInputs3D.ShadowMapSize"] = Input { Value = 2048, }
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 432.667, -19.303 } },
      },
      Renderer3D1 = Renderer3D {
         CustomData = {
            ToolVersion = 2,
         },
         Inputs = {
            ["RendererSoftware.ShadowsEnabled"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["RendererSoftware.Channels.Nest"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["RendererSoftware.LightingEnabled"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            GlobalOut = Input { Value = 500, },
            Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
            Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
            SceneInput = Input {
               SourceOp = "Merge3D2",
               Source = "Output",
            },
            RendererType = Input { Value = FuID { "RendererOpenGL" }, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.Channels.Nest"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Channels.RGBA.HighQuality.Enable"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Presets.Color.Supersampling.HighQuality.Rate"] = Input { Value = 3, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Presets.Color.Multisampling.LowQuality.SampleCount"] = Input { Value = 2, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Presets.Color.Multisampling.HighQuality.SampleCount"] = Input { Value = 3, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Presets.Aux.Supersampling.HighQuality.Rate"] = Input { Value = 3, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Presets.Aux.Multisampling.LowQuality.SampleCount"] = Input { Value = 2, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Presets.Aux.Multisampling.HighQuality.SampleCount"] = Input { Value = 3, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.AccumulationEffects"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.AccumQuality"] = Input { Value = 32, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.LightingEnabled"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.MaximumTextureDepth"] = Input { Value = 3, }
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 726.667, 36.4545 } },
         SubInputsData = {
            RendererOpenGL = {
               Version = 1
            }
         }
      },
      Merge3D1 = Merge3D {
         Inputs = {
            SceneInput1 = Input {
               SourceOp = "Shape3D1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
            SceneInput2 = Input {
               SourceOp = "DirectionalLight1",
               Source = "Output",
            }
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 432.667, 36.4545 } },
      },
      Merge3D2 = Merge3D {
         Inputs = {
            SceneInput1 = Input {
               SourceOp = "Merge3D1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
            SceneInput2 = Input {
               SourceOp = "Camera3D1",
               Source = "Output",
            }
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 577.333, 36.4545 } },
      },
      Shape3D1 = Shape3D {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            ["Transform3DOp.Rotate.X"] = Input { Value = -90, },
            Shape = Input { Value = FuID { "SurfaceCylinderInputs" }, },
            ["MtlStdInputs.Diffuse.Color.Red"] = Input { Value = 0.333333333333333, },
            ["MtlStdInputs.Diffuse.Color.Green"] = Input { Value = 0.666666666666667, },
            ["MtlStdInputs.Diffuse.Color.Blue"] = Input { Value = 0, },
            ["MtlStdInputs.MaterialID"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["SurfacePlaneInputs.ObjectID.ObjectID"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["SurfaceCylinderInputs.Radius"] = Input { Value = 0.01, },
            ["SurfaceCylinderInputs.Height"] = Input { Value = 4.09, },
            ["SurfaceCylinderInputs.SubdivisionLevelBase"] = Input { Value = 60, },
            ["SurfaceCylinderInputs.ObjectID.ObjectID"] = Input { Value = 2, }
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 259.333, 36.4545 } },
      }
   }
}


You could also probably leverage 3D locator, for the location which can be used from your 3D track, but to drive something in 2D, like a spline.
Offline

HAMCORE

  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2024 6:44 pm
  • Real Name: Mathew Tanguay

Re: DaVinci Resolve Fusion - Draw a line in 3D space

PostTue Feb 04, 2025 5:15 pm

KrunoSmithy wrote:If you are making an overlay for where ball is traveling, you might try point/intellitracker tracker + a polygon spline or B-spline. Might be easier. Especially if you need to have it bent etc.

If you want a straight line in 3D probably you can just make a cylinder with small diameter and high value for height.

Something like this maybe.

sshot-712.jpg


Code: Select all
{
   Tools = ordered() {
      Camera3D1 = Camera3D {
         Inputs = {
            ["Transform3DOp.Translate.X"] = Input { Value = 0.7431983, },
            ["Transform3DOp.Translate.Y"] = Input { Value = 0.058, },
            ["Transform3DOp.Translate.Z"] = Input { Value = 3.2667918, },
            ["Transform3DOp.Rotate.Y"] = Input { Value = 6.6, },
            ["Transform3DOp.UseTarget"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            AoV = Input { Value = 19.2642683071402, },
            ["Stereo.Mode"] = Input { Value = FuID { "OffAxis" }, },
            FilmBack = Input { Value = 1, },
            FilmGate = Input { Value = FuID { "BMD_URSA_4K_16x9" }, },
            ApertureW = Input { Value = 0.831496062992126, },
            ApertureH = Input { Value = 0.467716535433071, },
            ControlVis = Input { Value = 1, },
            PlaneOfFocusVis = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["SurfacePlaneInputs.ObjectID.ObjectID"] = Input { Value = 2, },
            ["MtlStdInputs.MaterialID"] = Input { Value = 2, }
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 577.333, -18.697 } },
      },
      DirectionalLight1 = LightDirectional {
         Inputs = {
            ["Transform3DOp.Rotate.X"] = Input { Value = -107, },
            ["Transform3DOp.Rotate.Y"] = Input { Value = -52.2, },
            ["ShadowLightInputs3D.ShadowsEnabled"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["ShadowLightInputs3D.ShadowMapSize"] = Input { Value = 2048, }
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 432.667, -19.303 } },
      },
      Renderer3D1 = Renderer3D {
         CustomData = {
            ToolVersion = 2,
         },
         Inputs = {
            ["RendererSoftware.ShadowsEnabled"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["RendererSoftware.Channels.Nest"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["RendererSoftware.LightingEnabled"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            GlobalOut = Input { Value = 500, },
            Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
            Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
            SceneInput = Input {
               SourceOp = "Merge3D2",
               Source = "Output",
            },
            RendererType = Input { Value = FuID { "RendererOpenGL" }, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.Channels.Nest"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Channels.RGBA.HighQuality.Enable"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Presets.Color.Supersampling.HighQuality.Rate"] = Input { Value = 3, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Presets.Color.Multisampling.LowQuality.SampleCount"] = Input { Value = 2, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Presets.Color.Multisampling.HighQuality.SampleCount"] = Input { Value = 3, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Presets.Aux.Supersampling.HighQuality.Rate"] = Input { Value = 3, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Presets.Aux.Multisampling.LowQuality.SampleCount"] = Input { Value = 2, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Presets.Aux.Multisampling.HighQuality.SampleCount"] = Input { Value = 3, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.AccumulationEffects"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.AccumQuality"] = Input { Value = 32, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.LightingEnabled"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["RendererOpenGL.MaximumTextureDepth"] = Input { Value = 3, }
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 726.667, 36.4545 } },
         SubInputsData = {
            RendererOpenGL = {
               Version = 1
            }
         }
      },
      Merge3D1 = Merge3D {
         Inputs = {
            SceneInput1 = Input {
               SourceOp = "Shape3D1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
            SceneInput2 = Input {
               SourceOp = "DirectionalLight1",
               Source = "Output",
            }
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 432.667, 36.4545 } },
      },
      Merge3D2 = Merge3D {
         Inputs = {
            SceneInput1 = Input {
               SourceOp = "Merge3D1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
            SceneInput2 = Input {
               SourceOp = "Camera3D1",
               Source = "Output",
            }
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 577.333, 36.4545 } },
      },
      Shape3D1 = Shape3D {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            ["Transform3DOp.Rotate.X"] = Input { Value = -90, },
            Shape = Input { Value = FuID { "SurfaceCylinderInputs" }, },
            ["MtlStdInputs.Diffuse.Color.Red"] = Input { Value = 0.333333333333333, },
            ["MtlStdInputs.Diffuse.Color.Green"] = Input { Value = 0.666666666666667, },
            ["MtlStdInputs.Diffuse.Color.Blue"] = Input { Value = 0, },
            ["MtlStdInputs.MaterialID"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["SurfacePlaneInputs.ObjectID.ObjectID"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["SurfaceCylinderInputs.Radius"] = Input { Value = 0.01, },
            ["SurfaceCylinderInputs.Height"] = Input { Value = 4.09, },
            ["SurfaceCylinderInputs.SubdivisionLevelBase"] = Input { Value = 60, },
            ["SurfaceCylinderInputs.ObjectID.ObjectID"] = Input { Value = 2, }
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 259.333, 36.4545 } },
      }
   }
}


You could also probably leverage 3D locator, for the location which can be used from your 3D track, but to drive something in 2D, like a spline.


Thanks for the insight! I'll try both the tracker and the 3D locator to see if I can make it look good. Can the 3D locator be used to link the points? Like lets say I want to link the spline/polygon points I made to the 3D tracked points, is that possible?
Offline

HAMCORE

  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2024 6:44 pm
  • Real Name: Mathew Tanguay

Re: DaVinci Resolve Fusion - Draw a line in 3D space

PostTue Feb 04, 2025 5:51 pm

I was able to connect the Locator 3D nodes to the points of a PolyLine, however since the point is rendered off frame for a bit, the point moves way off of the screen and links to another point.

Image

Moving forward down the timeline, it just decides to use another random point

Image

For the record, I used the "Connect To" menu to connect to these Locator 3D nodes as seen in the image below

Image

I'm guessing since it's off of the 2D space it just stops using the point and bugs out?
Offline
User avatar

KrunoSmithy

  • Posts: 3637
  • Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2023 11:01 pm
  • Real Name: Kruno Stifter

Re: DaVinci Resolve Fusion - Draw a line in 3D space

PostTue Feb 04, 2025 6:49 pm

HAMCORE wrote:Thanks for the insight! I'll try both the tracker and the 3D locator to see if I can make it look good. Can the 3D locator be used to link the points? Like lets say I want to link the spline/polygon points I made to the 3D tracked points, is that possible?


Yes, you should be able to do that. You can publish individual points of the polygon spline and modify them or you can directly publish them to a path or tracker and have one point follow something and the other point stay in place. You can also add a locator 3D and connect to it something from the 2D space. Like a point on a path.

To solve the problem you had of spline going off screen you could maybe use another camera, since one is there for the tracking and another one can be used for rendering the image. I would have to test the specific workflow, but I think it could be used.

You could also draw a path, and just animate the line so you only need two points which can be either used with tracker if camera is not steady or you could use locator 3D to get specific point cloud locations.

I am not sure what is the animation supposed to look like in the end. Is is just straight line or does it need to follow ball trajectory like a parabola?
Offline

HAMCORE

  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2024 6:44 pm
  • Real Name: Mathew Tanguay

Re: DaVinci Resolve Fusion - Draw a line in 3D space

PostTue Feb 04, 2025 7:04 pm

KrunoSmithy wrote:
HAMCORE wrote:Thanks for the insight! I'll try both the tracker and the 3D locator to see if I can make it look good. Can the 3D locator be used to link the points? Like lets say I want to link the spline/polygon points I made to the 3D tracked points, is that possible?


Yes, you should be able to do that. You can publish individual points of the polygon spline and modify them or you can directly publish them to a path or tracker and have one point follow something and the other point stay in place. You can also add a locator 3D and connect to it something from the 2D space. Like a point on a path.

To solve the problem you had of spline going off screen you could maybe use another camera, since one is there for the tracking and another one can be used for rendering the image. I would have to test the specific workflow, but I think it could be used.

You could also draw a path, and just animate the line so you only need two points which can be either used with tracker if camera is not steady or you could use locator 3D to get specific point cloud locations.

I am not sure what is the animation supposed to look like in the end. Is is just straight line or does it need to follow ball trajectory like a parabola?


I don't think I understand how I would use the camera separate from the one that is rendering it.

What I am currently doing is making the PolyLine and publishing those points, then using the Locator 3D nodes to move the points. That's where I get that issue I explained above. I was going to use a PolyLine since I can use it to draw over time easily. Also, I would like to do a parabola but I don't know how I would make it look decent in 3D space. I'm really stuck here honestly and it just flying off screen is unfortunate cause I feel so close haha
Offline
User avatar

KrunoSmithy

  • Posts: 3637
  • Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2023 11:01 pm
  • Real Name: Kruno Stifter

Re: DaVinci Resolve Fusion - Draw a line in 3D space

PostTue Feb 04, 2025 7:23 pm

HAMCORE wrote:I don't think I understand how I would use the camera separate from the one that is rendering it.


Well, you can have multiple cameras in the scene, depending on what you need.

If you have ever used camera for projections of images onto 3D geometry and another camera for viewing or flying trough the projected scene.

Or if you used 3D camera for stabilization, which can be really good. Where you do 3D tracking, than you solve and export the scene, you than duplicate the camera and delete all keyframes for the camera movement expect first and last keyframe, which retain start and end position but make smooth linear line between them, giving smooth movement. And than you use that camera to render out, giving you nice smooth footage.

You can also have multiple cameras and multiple rendered for multiple passe to composite later. I would have to play with this situation you are in right now, but I think it could work, where second camera would keep the line in frame, since point cloud can be separate from the camera. But I would have to experiment to see how it would actually work in this example.

HAMCORE wrote:What I am currently doing is making the PolyLine and publishing those points, then using the Locator 3D nodes to move the points. That's where I get that issue I explained above. I was going to use a PolyLine since I can use it to draw over time easily. Also, I would like to do a parabola but I don't know how I would make it look decent in 3D space. I'm really stuck here honestly and it just flying off screen is unfortunate cause I feel so close haha


I'll see if I can find some golf footage and give it a try.
Offline
User avatar

KrunoSmithy

  • Posts: 3637
  • Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2023 11:01 pm
  • Real Name: Kruno Stifter

Re: DaVinci Resolve Fusion - Draw a line in 3D space

PostTue Feb 04, 2025 8:55 pm

I played around with some golf footage I found, but its a bit hard to work with in 3D since its such a long distance between tracked points in 3D, so I ended up using two IntelliTrackers and B-Spline. Unfortunately, in fusion splines don't have tapering of the end to sell the distant point, but there are ways to fake. Either way for a simple effect, you could maybe track point one, near the ball, track point two somewhere in the distance, they don't need to be exact points, because you can't see the distant one, and first one is a problem to track directly, since the golfer is hitting the ball, so it will disrupt the tracker.

You can therefore, track something close by. And adjust the position later.

You can make a B-Spline or Polygon spline, and make a approximate trajectory of the ball, since its so small you probably can't see it, but if you can see it, you can use it as reference.

You than select first and last point on the spline, and publish them. Than you connect each point to appropriate tracker, and than animate lenght and position if you like. I did mine by eye so its not perfect, but the concept worked. It ended up something like this.

Golf video

https://www.mediafire.com/file/3t64hhys ... 1.mov/file

golf_1920_1080_30fps_000001.mov_snapshot_00.01_[2025-02-04_21.43.35].jpg
golf_1920_1080_30fps_000001.mov_snapshot_00.01_[2025-02-04_21.43.35].jpg (413.63 KiB) Viewed 824 times


golf_1920_1080_30fps_000001.mov_snapshot_00.01_[2025-02-04_21.43.40].jpg
golf_1920_1080_30fps_000001.mov_snapshot_00.01_[2025-02-04_21.43.40].jpg (413.75 KiB) Viewed 824 times


golf_1920_1080_30fps_000001.mov_snapshot_00.02_[2025-02-04_21.43.45].jpg
golf_1920_1080_30fps_000001.mov_snapshot_00.02_[2025-02-04_21.43.45].jpg (404.52 KiB) Viewed 824 times
Offline

bentheanimator

  • Posts: 729
  • Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 10:38 pm
  • Location: Minneapolis, MN
  • Real Name: Ben Hall

Re: DaVinci Resolve Fusion - Draw a line in 3D space

PostWed Feb 05, 2025 5:02 am

For an alternate way:
Find the two points in your point cloud that you want your arc to finish and start from.
Create a Shape3D plane that is the same width as the point to point.
Align the Shape3D plane so that the plane is touching the two points with the bottom of the rectangle.
Now use the sPoly to create a sPoly line.
Add that to an Extude and you should have the arched 3D line you're looking for.
Then you can align the extruded shape to the point pretty well.

You'll probably have to make a heckin long line for it to give you a thin extrusion but it should be doable.
Screenshot 2025-02-04 225636.png
Screenshot 2025-02-04 225636.png (266.5 KiB) Viewed 756 times
Resolve & Fusion Studio 19.1
Windows 11
Intel 12900K @ 5.1GHz | 64GB RAM | RTX4090 | 2TB NVME System | 4TB NVME Scratch

MacOS 12.7.2
MacBook Pro 13,3 | 16GB | Radeon 460 4GB | 256GB System | 256GB Scratch
Online

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 3940
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve Fusion - Draw a line in 3D space

PostWed Feb 05, 2025 7:41 am

Even better - I think - is that the x/y coordinates from the point cloud are the same as the coordinates in the shape system, so you should be able to line them up without the need of an intermediate rectangle.
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

bentheanimator

  • Posts: 729
  • Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 10:38 pm
  • Location: Minneapolis, MN
  • Real Name: Ben Hall

Re: DaVinci Resolve Fusion - Draw a line in 3D space

PostWed Feb 05, 2025 4:38 pm

Yeah, I was just giving the "working plane" so that he had something visually to use as a ruler. It's kind of the standard way to draw stuff in 3D so I figured it might be helpful to get him started. If I understand the ask, the camera track will take care of the line falling on and off the screen so really all that's need to be done is align the polyExtrusion and then mess with the Start and Length of the original sPoly. Before V19, I think you could have done this with Particles as well but making an extruded line is much simpler.

This is also yet another reason for adding Taper to the Poly drawing tools. if you could add a taper to the end of the poly then you could keep it in 2D and just fake the perspective.
Resolve & Fusion Studio 19.1
Windows 11
Intel 12900K @ 5.1GHz | 64GB RAM | RTX4090 | 2TB NVME System | 4TB NVME Scratch

MacOS 12.7.2
MacBook Pro 13,3 | 16GB | Radeon 460 4GB | 256GB System | 256GB Scratch
Online

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 3940
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve Fusion - Draw a line in 3D space

PostWed Feb 05, 2025 4:41 pm

There is an attempt/wip set up for tapered splines over at WSL. Maybe that could work for this as well.
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

HAMCORE

  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2024 6:44 pm
  • Real Name: Mathew Tanguay

Re: DaVinci Resolve Fusion - Draw a line in 3D space

PostThu Feb 06, 2025 3:31 pm

I guess it would be good to show you all the shot I am working with. It will be one of 18 shots. My goal here is to provide an overview and a suggested shot. I would like to possibly animate a line from "start" to "TARGET"

Here is the video (please excuse Fusion rending the proxy cache)


I did something similar in After Effects but I didn't draw a line, I just animated a fake ball across the screen with position and scaling


It seems pretty difficult to utilize the 3D tracked points properly to dictate the start and end point of the line easily. I tried the Locator 3D and published two Polyline points to follow the locators, but it becomes buggy and shoots the line off screen once it is not in "rendering range".

I've also tried just doing a couple of tracked points and I couldn't figure it out at all. It's worth mentioning that I am newer to Fusion, so some things don't make 100% sense to me.

Honestly, I may forget about the line in the end if it's this much of a headache. Heck, I'd even take a straight line rather than a mimicked ball shot and I still cant get the line to look good cause tracking a point on an almost level plane seems very tough. I do kind of wish there was a 3D polygon system where I can just attach the points to the 3D point cloud and edit the spline in the 3D window, seems the most practical to me.
Online

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 3940
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve Fusion - Draw a line in 3D space

PostThu Feb 06, 2025 4:18 pm

What you want is partially possible. If you have a good 3D track, this will be pretty doable.

If you want I could take a look on how to set it up.
If you're interested, just shoot me a PM and we'll discuss.
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 72 guests