Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Bug with controls in Inspector

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

chewiii

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2021 6:56 pm
  • Real Name: Antoine Beauchamp Lepage

Bug with controls in Inspector

PostFri Oct 08, 2021 4:22 pm

Hi everyone!

So the issue is that sometimes DR doesn't allow me to set the controls as I want in the Inspector in Fusion. I'm not sure how to explain in a few words so I linked a video that shows the issue.

I'm working on a laptop XPS 15 2020, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-9750H CPU @ 2.60GHz 2.59 GHz, 16 GO

And I'm using the latest version of DR; 17.3.2 Build 8.

Here's the link for the video:

https://www.loom.com/share/d2eceae325cb ... 2ccb3e87a7

As you can see in the video, I'm trying to blend the green outline appearing horizontally over the box to 0, but it won't let me. Instead, it fix its own frame for the blend 0, and I don't understand why... it does the same thing when I try to change the angle of the s.rectangle (white horizontal line); it won't let me put it to 90 degrees and it will act as for the blend function...

I close and reopened DR. I found that there was a new version, downloaded it. Nothing. It's not the first time that the issue appears and usually, I just workaround using the set frame that DR gives me, but it will be nice to be able to do what I want instead of what the program imposes.

THANK YOU for your help!
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 1774
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: Bug with controls in Inspector

PostFri Oct 08, 2021 4:27 pm

Woah that's weird. Definitely looks like a bug at first glance.

I'd suggest sharing the composition so BMD and others can look at it in case there's anything to diagnose there. File -> Export -> Fusion Composition, save the .comp file, ZIP it, and upload it here. No media is included, only the Fusion nodes.
Resolve Studio 17.4.2 and Fusion Studio 17.4.2 on macOS 11.6.1

Hackintosh:: X299, Intel i9-10980XE, 128GB DDR4, AMD 6900XT 16GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 & 3 x 1920x1200
Disk: 2TB NVMe + 4TB RAID0 NVMe; NAS: 36TB RAID6
BMD Speed Editor
Offline

chewiii

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2021 6:56 pm
  • Real Name: Antoine Beauchamp Lepage

Re: Bug with controls in Inspector

PostFri Oct 08, 2021 4:42 pm

HERE IT IS

Inspector bug_controls.zip
(4.94 KiB) Downloaded 24 times


I hope I saved it properly :?
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 1774
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: Bug with controls in Inspector

PostFri Oct 08, 2021 4:55 pm

Yeah you did. I tried importing it in both Fusion Studio and Resolve Studio and could not re-create any problem.

You could try making a new Fusion Composition on Edit and opening that in Fusion, then importing your composition (the one you just uploaded) - see if it the problem still exists. Maybe exporting it has removed whatever weird issue was breaking it for you.

I don't know for sure, but I'm wondering if the Keyframe Stretcher node is breaking something. I've never seen anything like the issue you showed in the video, it's really weird. The Keyframe Stretcher is designed to adjust keyframes automatically, so maybe that's causing some issue there.

If it were me I'd try testing without the Keyframe Stretcher, then adding it back in at the end. There's also the new Anim Curves modifier that can be applied directly to individual parameters, instead of using the Keyframe Stretcher which applies globally.

Beyond that I'm not sure. Hopefully someone from BMD will investigate.
Resolve Studio 17.4.2 and Fusion Studio 17.4.2 on macOS 11.6.1

Hackintosh:: X299, Intel i9-10980XE, 128GB DDR4, AMD 6900XT 16GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 & 3 x 1920x1200
Disk: 2TB NVMe + 4TB RAID0 NVMe; NAS: 36TB RAID6
BMD Speed Editor
Offline

chewiii

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2021 6:56 pm
  • Real Name: Antoine Beauchamp Lepage

Re: Bug with controls in Inspector

PostFri Oct 08, 2021 5:53 pm

Well... now I feel a bit dumb...

But first, THANK YOU! for your quick replies and the enlightenment!

You're right with the keyframe stretcher... the worst part is that I remember fixing that problem by removing that node. Also, I was stretching the keyframe from 60 to 90, so it makes sense that the changes between the frames were somehow affected.

I deleted the node, and now I can set the control as I wish... thanks for the reminder :D

The Anim Curve modifier scared me at first glance, but I'll look more into it soon ;)
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 1774
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: Bug with controls in Inspector

PostFri Oct 08, 2021 6:50 pm

OK great, glad it's working now.

I still think there's a bug there, though. Firstly, when I loaded your exact comp, I didn't see those weird changes happening in the Inspector. That implies it's sometimes happening, sometimes not.

Secondly, it makes no sense for the Keyframe Stretcher to actually stop you putting in whatever value you want in the Inspector. You should be able to place whatever keyframes you want, and then it adjusts it only during playback/rendering. Otherwise you'd be constantly chasing your tail trying to enter values while the Keyframe Stretcher is changing them.
Resolve Studio 17.4.2 and Fusion Studio 17.4.2 on macOS 11.6.1

Hackintosh:: X299, Intel i9-10980XE, 128GB DDR4, AMD 6900XT 16GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 & 3 x 1920x1200
Disk: 2TB NVMe + 4TB RAID0 NVMe; NAS: 36TB RAID6
BMD Speed Editor
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 1774
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: Bug with controls in Inspector

PostSat Oct 16, 2021 9:07 am

Just to add that I have now experienced this bug myself, when playing around with stock Fusion Titles such as Call Out.

As previously described, there's a very annoying bug with KeyframeStretcher that causes it to 'fight' you for control over parameters in the Inspector.

This happens even when you're adjusting keyframes outside the Stretch Start - Stretch End range.

Demo: On Edit I have added a Call Out from Effects Library, and then try to adjust its parameters:
Image
Resolve Studio 17.4.2 and Fusion Studio 17.4.2 on macOS 11.6.1

Hackintosh:: X299, Intel i9-10980XE, 128GB DDR4, AMD 6900XT 16GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 & 3 x 1920x1200
Disk: 2TB NVMe + 4TB RAID0 NVMe; NAS: 36TB RAID6
BMD Speed Editor
Offline

birdseye

  • Posts: 113
  • Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2020 2:36 pm
  • Real Name: Iain Fisher

Re: Bug with controls in Inspector

PostSat Oct 16, 2021 5:50 pm

I have not used the Keyframe Stretcher before but assumed that it needed at least 4 keyframes to function properly. I notice the first comp has only 2 keyframes in some of the nodes that are upstream of the keyframe stretcher. Could that cause a problem?
I see a lot of flickering in viewers on playback on this simple test, with Merge1 in one viewer, Keyframe Stretcher in the other and Rectangle selected , is that possibly related to the inspector control problem. This computer is ancient so that might be the problem. It outputs the file without the flicker.

Code: Select all
{
   Tools = ordered() {
      Background1 = Background {
         Inputs = {
            GlobalOut = Input { Value = 600, },
            Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
            Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
            TopLeftRed = Input { Value = 1, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 64, 20.0909 } },
      },
      Background2 = Background {
         Inputs = {
            GlobalOut = Input { Value = 600, },
            Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
            Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
            TopLeftBlue = Input { Value = 1, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 58.6667, 77.6667 } },
      },
      Merge1 = Merge {
         Inputs = {
            EffectMask = Input {
               SourceOp = "Rectangle1",
               Source = "Mask",
            },
            Background = Input {
               SourceOp = "Background2",
               Source = "Output",
            },
            Foreground = Input {
               SourceOp = "Background1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
            PerformDepthMerge = Input { Value = 0, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 210.667, 76.4545 } },
      },
      KeyframeStretcher1 = KeyStretcher {
         Inputs = {
            Keyframes = Input {
               SourceOp = "Merge1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
            SourceStart = Input { Value = 100, },
            SourceEnd = Input { Value = 500, },
            StretchStart = Input { Value = 200, },
            StretchEnd = Input { Value = 400, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 372.604, 76.4545 } },
      },
      Saver1 = Saver {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            ProcessWhenBlendIs00 = Input { Value = 0, },
            Clip = Input {
               Value = Clip {
                  Filename = "D:\\test.mov",
                  FormatID = "QuickTimeMovies",
                  Length = 0,
                  Multiframe = true,
                  Saving = true,
                  TrimIn = 0,
                  ExtendFirst = 0,
                  ExtendLast = 0,
                  Loop = 1,
                  AspectMode = 0,
                  Depth = 0,
                  TimeCode = 0,
                  GlobalStart = -2000000000,
                  GlobalEnd = 0
               },
            },
            OutputFormat = Input { Value = FuID { "QuickTimeMovies" }, },
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
            Input = Input {
               SourceOp = "KeyframeStretcher1",
               Source = "Result",
            },
            ["QuickTimeMovies.Compression"] = Input { Value = FuID { "H.264_avc1" }, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 500, 76.4545 } },
      },
      Rectangle1 = RectangleMask {
         Inputs = {
            Filter = Input { Value = FuID { "Fast Gaussian" }, },
            MaskWidth = Input { Value = 1920, },
            MaskHeight = Input { Value = 1080, },
            PixelAspect = Input { Value = { 1, 1 }, },
            ClippingMode = Input { Value = FuID { "None" }, },
            Center = Input {
               SourceOp = "Path1",
               Source = "Position",
            },
            Width = Input { Value = 0.149732620320856, },
            Height = Input { Value = 0.267220902612827, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 210.667, 113.424 } },
      },
      Path1 = PolyPath {
         DrawMode = "InsertAndModify",
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            Displacement = Input {
               SourceOp = "Path1Displacement",
               Source = "Value",
            },
            PolyLine = Input {
               Value = Polyline {
                  Points = {
                     { Linear = true, LockY = true, X = -0.4, Y = 0, RX = 0.266666666666667, RY = 0 },
                     { Linear = true, LockY = true, X = 0.4, Y = 0, LX = -0.266666666666667, LY = 0, RX = 0, RY = 0.116666666666667 },
                     { Linear = true, LockY = true, X = 0.4, Y = 0.35, LX = 0, LY = -0.116666666666667, RX = -0.133333333333333, RY = -0.233333333333333 },
                     { Linear = true, LockY = true, X = 0, Y = -0.35, LX = 0.133333333333333, LY = 0.233333333333333, RX = 0.133333333333333, RY = 0 },
                     { Linear = true, LockY = true, X = 0.4, Y = -0.35, LX = -0.133333333333333, LY = 0, RX = -0.133333333333333, RY = 0.233333333333333 },
                     { Linear = true, LockY = true, X = 0, Y = 0.35, LX = 0.133333333333333, LY = -0.233333333333333, RX = -0.133333333333333, RY = -0.233333333333333 },
                     { Linear = true, LockY = true, X = -0.4, Y = -0.35, LX = 0.133333333333333, LY = 0.233333333333333, RX = 0, RY = 0.116666666666667 },
                     { Linear = true, LockY = true, X = -0.4, Y = 0, LX = 0, LY = -0.116666666666667 }
                  }
               },
            },
         },
      },
      Path1Displacement = BezierSpline {
         SplineColor = { Red = 255, Green = 0, Blue = 255 },
         KeyFrames = {
            [0] = { 0, RH = { 33.3333333333333, 0.061747300534472 }, Flags = { Linear = true, LockedY = true } },
            [100] = { 0.185241901603416, LH = { 66.6666666666667, 0.123494601068944 }, RH = { 133.333333333333, 0.212256345587248 }, Flags = { Linear = true, LockedY = true } },
            [200] = { 0.266285233554911, LH = { 166.666666666667, 0.239270789571079 }, RH = { 216.666666666667, 0.328513065076232 }, Flags = { Linear = true, LockedY = true } },
            [250] = { 0.452968728118873, LH = { 233.333333333333, 0.390740896597552 }, RH = { 283.333333333333, 0.483842378386109 }, Flags = { Linear = true, LockedY = true } },
            [350] = { 0.545589678920581, LH = { 316.666666666667, 0.514716028653345 }, RH = { 366.666666666667, 0.607817510441902 }, Flags = { Linear = true, LockedY = true } },
            [400] = { 0.732273173484543, LH = { 383.333333333333, 0.670045341963222 }, RH = { 433.333333333333, 0.794501005005864 }, Flags = { Linear = true, LockedY = true } },
            [500] = { 0.918956668048506, LH = { 466.666666666667, 0.856728836527185 }, RH = { 533.333333333333, 0.945971112032337 }, Flags = { Linear = true, LockedY = true } },
            [600] = { 1, LH = { 566.666666666667, 0.972985556016169 }, Flags = { Linear = true, LockedY = true } }
         }
      }
   },
   ActiveTool = "Saver1"
}
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 1774
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: Bug with controls in Inspector

PostSat Oct 16, 2021 8:41 pm

birdseye wrote:I have not used the Keyframe Stretcher before but assumed that it needed at least 4 keyframes to function properly. I notice the first comp has only 2 keyframes in some of the nodes that are upstream of the keyframe stretcher. Could that cause a problem?
Not sure, I've not investigated that. But when I recreated it it was with the "Call Out" Fusion Title, which is a stock title created by BMD. So I'd assume that is set up correctly.

Looking at Call Out, it has four nodes which use keyframes. None of them has four keyframes, they all have two.
birdseye wrote:I see a lot of flickering in viewers on playback on this simple test, with Merge1 in one viewer, Keyframe Stretcher in the other and Rectangle selected , is that possibly related to the inspector control problem. This computer is ancient so that might be the problem. It outputs the file without the flicker.
Yeah I saw that too, and I think it definitely is related. That flickering may be the viewer equivalent of the Inspector issue - values jumping back and forth between different values.

Maybe the KeyframeStretcher should be avoided, and the new AnimCurves modifier used instead. Though that also has some nasty bugs.
Resolve Studio 17.4.2 and Fusion Studio 17.4.2 on macOS 11.6.1

Hackintosh:: X299, Intel i9-10980XE, 128GB DDR4, AMD 6900XT 16GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 & 3 x 1920x1200
Disk: 2TB NVMe + 4TB RAID0 NVMe; NAS: 36TB RAID6
BMD Speed Editor
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 1774
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Re: Bug with controls in Inspector

PostFri Oct 22, 2021 9:56 am

17.4 release notes say this has been fixed.
Resolve Studio 17.4.2 and Fusion Studio 17.4.2 on macOS 11.6.1

Hackintosh:: X299, Intel i9-10980XE, 128GB DDR4, AMD 6900XT 16GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 & 3 x 1920x1200
Disk: 2TB NVMe + 4TB RAID0 NVMe; NAS: 36TB RAID6
BMD Speed Editor

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: crtkecnkl659, jfykeaucq871 and 11 guests