Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

single channel image

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Will Young

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 11:42 pm

single channel image

PostThu Oct 21, 2021 11:17 am

Is it possible to do either or both -

1) export a single channel / greyscale image from Fusion?

2) pass a single channel image type between nodes (as far as I can see it's always a 4 channel type)


Cheers
Offline
User avatar

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 2724
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: single channel image

PostThu Oct 21, 2021 1:09 pm

You can with EXR, PNG, and RAW. Not sure about other formats.

Bitmap can convert an RGBA image to A. There are some 3rd party fuses that do the same thing in less steps.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

Will Young

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 11:42 pm

Re: single channel image

PostThu Oct 21, 2021 4:25 pm

Hi Chad

I have a bitmap (using the R channel) connected to a saver set to export png. The resulting png is still 4 channel. Where do I ask it to be single channel?
Offline
User avatar

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 2724
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: single channel image

PostThu Oct 21, 2021 4:43 pm

Try EXR.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

Will Young

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 11:42 pm

Re: single channel image

PostWed Nov 03, 2021 5:01 pm

EXR worked. Have you been able to use PNG? I'm trying to remove additional pipeline steps and need PNG ultimately

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 14 guests