Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Use fast noise to drive a transform?

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Dazzer

  • Posts: 228
  • Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 8:31 am
  • Real Name: Daz Harris

Use fast noise to drive a transform?

PostWed May 25, 2022 8:08 pm

Hi folks,

This is probably gonna sound weird, but .........

Is it possible to somehow modify a transform X & Y with the output of the fastnoise node?

I'm asking because i want to have an object shake subtly, but occasionally to have a more violent shake, and i have the feeling this might be possible by layering a few fastnoise nodes, then somehow using that output to drive the transform.

If not, what would be the best way to approach this?

Thanks!
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 3500
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Use fast noise to drive a transform?

PostWed May 25, 2022 8:24 pm

The fast noise itself would have to be animated in some form as well, I guess.
You'd have to find a way to convert your image data in value data.
You could use a probe modifier for that, but like I said the FN itself would need to be animated as well.

What would be the benefit to you in using this approach compared to using a shake or perturb modifier?
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

Dazzer

  • Posts: 228
  • Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 8:31 am
  • Real Name: Daz Harris

Re: Use fast noise to drive a transform?

PostWed May 25, 2022 8:43 pm

Thanks Sander,

I just had the idea that you could more finely tune it with a fastnoise.

The peturb modifier works well, but i don't know how to add some extra randomization to it, so that, for example, it shakes subtly, but every 5 to 10 seconds or so it has a more violent (but equally fast) shake.

Any ideas?
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 3500
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Use fast noise to drive a transform?

PostWed May 25, 2022 9:00 pm

If I want more randomness, I put shakes on all the other parameters as well.
I don't use the perturb modifier much, I usually go for a shake.
Then I'll put shakes on the min/max x/y values as well and for example put a shake on the smoothness as well. This will give very unpredictable results.

And of course if you want it to be a little more controlled, you can always animate the smoothness and min/max values manually as well.

Code: Select all
{
   Tools = ordered() {
      Rectangle1 = RectangleMask {
         Inputs = {
            Filter = Input { Value = FuID { "Fast Gaussian" }, },
            MaskWidth = Input { Value = 1920, },
            MaskHeight = Input { Value = 1080, },
            PixelAspect = Input { Value = { 1, 1 }, },
            ClippingMode = Input { Value = FuID { "None" }, },
            Width = Input { Value = 0.005, },
            Height = Input { Value = 0.15, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 275, -16.5 } },
      },
      Rectangle1_1 = RectangleMask {
         Inputs = {
            Filter = Input { Value = FuID { "Fast Gaussian" }, },
            MaskWidth = Input { Value = 1920, },
            MaskHeight = Input { Value = 1080, },
            PixelAspect = Input { Value = { 1, 1 }, },
            ClippingMode = Input { Value = FuID { "None" }, },
            Width = Input { Value = 0.0843644544431946, },
            Height = Input { Value = 0.01, },
            EffectMask = Input {
               SourceOp = "Rectangle1",
               Source = "Mask",
            }
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 275, 16.5 } },
      },
      Background1 = Background {
         Inputs = {
            Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
            Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
            TopLeftRed = Input { Value = 1, },
            EffectMask = Input {
               SourceOp = "Rectangle1_1",
               Source = "Mask",
            }
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 275, 49.5 } },
      },
      Transform1 = Transform {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            Center = Input {
               SourceOp = "Shake1",
               Source = "Position",
            },
            Input = Input {
               SourceOp = "Background1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 495, 49.5 } },
      },
      Shake1 = Shake {
         Faster = true,
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            XMinimum = Input {
               SourceOp = "Shake2",
               Source = "X",
            },
            XMaximum = Input {
               SourceOp = "Shake3",
               Source = "X",
            },
         },
      },
      Shake2 = Shake {
         Faster = true,
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            XMinimum = Input { Value = 0.48, },
            XMaximum = Input { Value = 0.52, },
         },
      },
      Shake3 = Shake {
         Faster = true,
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            RandomSeed = Input { Value = 3732, },
            Smoothness = Input {
               SourceOp = "Shake4",
               Source = "X",
            },
            XMinimum = Input { Value = 0.2, },
            XMaximum = Input { Value = 0.7, },
         },
      },
      Shake4 = Shake {
         Faster = true,
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            Smoothness = Input { Value = 20, },
            XMinimum = Input { Value = 2, },
            XMaximum = Input { Value = 20, },
         },
      }
   }
}
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

Dazzer

  • Posts: 228
  • Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 8:31 am
  • Real Name: Daz Harris

Re: Use fast noise to drive a transform?

PostThu May 26, 2022 6:32 am

Thanks Sander, I'm gonna take a look at that!
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 2478
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: Use fast noise to drive a transform?

PostThu May 26, 2022 3:57 pm

There might still be a reason to want to drive transforms with an image input—if you wanted to quickly link shake to an explosion or something without keyframing it, for instance. As Sander mentions, the Probe Modifier is what you'd want to reach for. In that particular instance, I'd probably connect a Perturb's strength to the Probe and preprocess the input so only the bright fire part of the explosion goes above 0 to activate the modifier.

In the context of a FastNoise connected to a Point control, you'd probably want to adjust the Brightness to -0.5 to get movement in both directions and use separate noises for x and y to decouple them.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.sidefx.com

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: eyeEmotion, Google [Bot] and 42 guests