Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Ground Plane Moves

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

CaptainNoAction

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2022 3:31 am
  • Real Name: Matt Lewis

Ground Plane Moves

PostWed Sep 21, 2022 12:49 am

So I have simple walking video, I camera tracked it, everything seems fine but the ground plane moves with the video. So, when I place an asset like a ground explosion, the ground explosion moves as well. It doesn't stick. I am following a video and believe I am following it exactly but alas, problems. Any thoughts as too why? Thanks.
Win 10 Home
Ryzen 9 5900X
nVidia GeForce RTX 3080Ti
64GB RAM
Corsair 1000HX PSU
Broken DR Studio
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 2791
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Ground Plane Moves

PostWed Sep 21, 2022 5:46 am

Can you show us what you have so far?
The node setup, the render, anything?
There are so many variables when doing 3d comping that we need a bit more info to help you better.
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 1927
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Ground Plane Moves

PostWed Sep 21, 2022 8:18 am

CaptainNoAction wrote:So I have simple walking video,.... but the ground plane moves with the video.

Then you don't have a rock solid track, which is the first requirement to whatever you do next... Sander is right, it's hard to tell without seeing anything but that is obvious enough : track other elements to really have a real good solve. Like...if the road doesn't move, the ground plane shouldn't either... ;)
*MacMini M1 16 Go - Ext nvme SSD
*Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 1SSD for system, 2 SSDs raid0 for footage and caches
*Resolve Studio everywhere, Fusion Studio too
*https://www.buymeacoffee.com/samalaplaya
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 2791
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Ground Plane Moves

PostWed Sep 21, 2022 8:45 am

There is also a good chance that what the solver decided was the ground plane wasn't really.
So did you do a manual alignment of the ground plane before exporting?
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 2498
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: Ground Plane Moves

PostWed Sep 21, 2022 9:10 am

If solve itself is reasonable (camera moves in expected direction, solved features stick etc) then sliding is always due to object not being placed in proper location in scene.
I do stuff.
Offline

CaptainNoAction

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2022 3:31 am
  • Real Name: Matt Lewis

Re: Ground Plane Moves

PostWed Sep 21, 2022 9:02 pm

Thank you all. I did not move anything before the export. I did not mess with any settings. Once exported I moved only the ground plane. Here is the reference video on you tube that I was following. I pretty much followed it to the letter.

Media is from a Go Pro 10 4k to 1080p on DRS. The video was run through GoPro Quick and changed to ProRes420.

Last edited by CaptainNoAction on Wed Sep 21, 2022 9:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Win 10 Home
Ryzen 9 5900X
nVidia GeForce RTX 3080Ti
64GB RAM
Corsair 1000HX PSU
Broken DR Studio
Offline

CaptainNoAction

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2022 3:31 am
  • Real Name: Matt Lewis

Re: Ground Plane Moves

PostWed Sep 21, 2022 9:07 pm

I am trying to post a 1.4MB jpeg but was told it was too big and needs to be smaller than 1.2 MiB. So give me a few...
Win 10 Home
Ryzen 9 5900X
nVidia GeForce RTX 3080Ti
64GB RAM
Corsair 1000HX PSU
Broken DR Studio
Offline

CaptainNoAction

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2022 3:31 am
  • Real Name: Matt Lewis

Re: Ground Plane Moves

PostWed Sep 21, 2022 9:12 pm

Sam Steti wrote:
CaptainNoAction wrote:So I have simple walking video,.... but the ground plane moves with the video.

Then you don't have a rock solid track, which is the first requirement to whatever you do next... Sander is right, it's hard to tell without seeing anything but that is obvious enough : track other elements to really have a real good solve. Like...if the road doesn't move, the ground plane shouldn't either... ;)



In the video I am walking down my street and moving to the side so not down the middle.


Sander de Regt wrote:There is also a good chance that what the solver decided was the ground plane wasn't really.
So did you do a manual alignment of the ground plane before exporting?


No, didn't move anything.

Hendrik Proosa wrote:If solve itself is reasonable (camera moves in expected direction, solved features stick etc) then sliding is always due to object not being placed in proper location in scene.


I will move the image plane 3D around and see if it does anything.
Last edited by CaptainNoAction on Wed Sep 21, 2022 9:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Win 10 Home
Ryzen 9 5900X
nVidia GeForce RTX 3080Ti
64GB RAM
Corsair 1000HX PSU
Broken DR Studio
Offline

CaptainNoAction

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2022 3:31 am
  • Real Name: Matt Lewis

Re: Ground Plane Moves

PostWed Sep 21, 2022 9:31 pm

Quick video uploaded



Pictures of my project, fusion page camera track and ground plane placement

https://www.dropbox.com/s/713mn0d6c7acz ... M.png?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/4174rxuzwk246 ... M.png?dl=0
Win 10 Home
Ryzen 9 5900X
nVidia GeForce RTX 3080Ti
64GB RAM
Corsair 1000HX PSU
Broken DR Studio
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 2300
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: Ground Plane Moves

PostWed Sep 21, 2022 10:54 pm

Looks to me like the explosion is much further away from the camera than it should be. Did you align it to any of the locators generated by the camera tracker? I'd guess you have some associated with the shadow of the tree right behind. Try putting it right on top of one of those and see if it sticks there. If so, you should be able to just translate it forward and over to put it where you want it, assuming you're aligned correctly to the XZ plane.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.sidefx.com
Offline

CaptainNoAction

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2022 3:31 am
  • Real Name: Matt Lewis

Re: Ground Plane Moves

PostThu Sep 22, 2022 1:13 am

Ok, I moved it up, and put it on top of one of the trackers. It still moves. I just watched a video that went into more depth on this and making sure the alignment is perfect. I am going to redo the project. That one you tube video that I am trying to learn from and replicate has it like a drag and drop but he must be doing what you have said and doesn't say it. The little things. Its all good. Thank you for helping.
Win 10 Home
Ryzen 9 5900X
nVidia GeForce RTX 3080Ti
64GB RAM
Corsair 1000HX PSU
Broken DR Studio
Offline

CaptainNoAction

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2022 3:31 am
  • Real Name: Matt Lewis

Re: Ground Plane Moves

PostSat Sep 24, 2022 11:16 pm

Strike this, I just figured out and finally have a hold on the explosion.

Attachments
Screen Shot 2022-09-24 at 4.13.31 PM.jpg
Screen Shot 2022-09-24 at 4.13.31 PM.jpg (981.72 KiB) Viewed 2369 times
Win 10 Home
Ryzen 9 5900X
nVidia GeForce RTX 3080Ti
64GB RAM
Corsair 1000HX PSU
Broken DR Studio
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 2791
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Ground Plane Moves

PostSun Sep 25, 2022 1:37 pm

I just had time to watch a little bit of that first tutorial and it is *really* bad. It has a terrible workflow and mediocre results at best. 32K people have been fed misinformation.
If I have the time, I'll watch the second one, but for now I'm glad for you that you managed to figure it out.
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

CaptainNoAction

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2022 3:31 am
  • Real Name: Matt Lewis

Re: Ground Plane Moves

PostWed Sep 28, 2022 3:25 am

Sander, a few questions when you have time.

1st video project- When I want to place an asset in the video, is best practice to place an 3D image plane node and then a media node in the 3D environment like a drag and drop and move it around? I did finally get it to work this way too.

However, the asset disappears just before I would walk through it. No matter what my 'hold last frame' is set too.

2nd video project- Or the way I found through the second you tube video where I select tracker points (1:05:27) and attach a 3D image plane node then my media node? The same asset in the this project sticks past when I walk past it.

What is the correct method?

My street is flat in my 1st video. The solve error was .2006. I unaligned and set the origin and orientation per the you tube video. The second video is grassy flat with a solve error of .3451 and set the origin and orientation.

Thank you for your assistance, I am sure your busy.
Win 10 Home
Ryzen 9 5900X
nVidia GeForce RTX 3080Ti
64GB RAM
Corsair 1000HX PSU
Broken DR Studio
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 1927
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Ground Plane Moves

PostWed Sep 28, 2022 6:43 am

Just to help again : the right method is this one

;)
*MacMini M1 16 Go - Ext nvme SSD
*Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 1SSD for system, 2 SSDs raid0 for footage and caches
*Resolve Studio everywhere, Fusion Studio too
*https://www.buymeacoffee.com/samalaplaya
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 2791
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Ground Plane Moves

PostWed Sep 28, 2022 9:12 am

This video you used is a very good and thorough one. Definitely check it out completely and save it for future reference, it's really quite excellent and showed me some stuff I didn't know.



The one Sam linked to is pretty decent, but it falls in the same trap as the first one you linked to: it eyeballs all the positions. It doesn't use the tracking data to actually help you. You can tell by the way he guesstimates the position of the ground plane.

Unaligning and setting the rotation from your tracks is definitely the way to go here.
I'd love to elaborate, but as you've assumed correctly: I have quite a bit of business related appointments the next couple of days, so I can't step by step you through the workflow.

You get some very decent tracks judging from your low solver errors, so you should be able to get nice results. Since you're working inside Resolve I'd look there for clues as to why your media is disappearing. The 'external' Resolve timeline and the 'internal' timeline of the Fusion page don't always play nice with each other.
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 2498
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: Ground Plane Moves

PostWed Sep 28, 2022 9:55 am

Sander de Regt wrote:You get some very decent tracks judging from your low solver errors, so you should be able to get nice results.

Always worth keeping in mind that low solve error is just a statistical measure of feature reprojection errors and does not mean solve is actually proper. Check camera fov, movement directions, layout of solved features etc to see if solve is meaningful too. It is possible to get low solve errors from totally meaningless solves like inverted perspective, elongated space etc.
I do stuff.
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 2791
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Ground Plane Moves

PostWed Sep 28, 2022 1:03 pm

Fair enough Hendrik. You make excellent points.
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

CaptainNoAction

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2022 3:31 am
  • Real Name: Matt Lewis

Re: Ground Plane Moves

PostSat Oct 01, 2022 9:10 pm

Good info from all of you, thank you. I will continue practicing and honing my skills.

Sander, Hendrick, and Sam. I appreciate the help.
Win 10 Home
Ryzen 9 5900X
nVidia GeForce RTX 3080Ti
64GB RAM
Corsair 1000HX PSU
Broken DR Studio

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests